aiyoh, i talk cock, sekarli the other party gib me one weird look how?Originally posted by sgboy2004:who was... practice lah... tok c o c k lor
err, both parties not talking, so one must start the whole thing isnt it?Originally posted by sgboy2004:just b yourself lah...if everyone toks, who listens?
hmm, must learn da art of conversation..in anyway, dont think anyone interested to listen what i gotta say anyway, like i am yandao or anything..i am not even funny...Originally posted by Rhonda:Well, since you kinda know your problem is giving monotonous answer, next time don't give monotonous answers lor!Try to talk more, give more details, and show interest in the other person by asking them questions too. Don't make the other party feel pai seh for appearing more interested in you than you are in them.
Only my humble opinion, me no shrink...Originally posted by laurence82:aiyoh, i talk cock, sekarli the other party gib me one weird look how?![]()
hmm... just wondering... how do u usually talk to ur frens? ur buddies??Originally posted by laurence82:hmm, must learn da art of conversation..in anyway, dont think anyone interested to listen what i gotta say anyway, like i am yandao or anything..i am not even funny...![]()
hmmm....Originally posted by LeftBallBigger:Only my humble opinion, me no shrink...
Nothing wrong if they give you a weird look
(happened to me in 30s forum earlier tdy)
You not going to know the other persons 'frequency' until you open up
And once you do know, then you adjust accordingly
For example, if she's got nada sense of humour, than no witty remarks for they will go zooom into the waste paper basket..
Having a fixed set of conversation topics to start off helps (this works in work smalltalk with associates/clients 2) for example, try to read the news and start off a conversation with "wow, the situation in Southern Thailand is quite tense isn't it?" if she gives u a blank look than quickly shift to SG Idol or teletubbies or something.
Try to feel comfortable with yrself, you'll be fine (n OK Accepted!)
hmm buddies? frens? dont really have anyway...Originally posted by coolger03:hmm... just wondering... how do u usually talk to ur frens? ur buddies??
and, one dun have to be pretty or handsome to be a good conversationalist...
oh... even ur sec sch frens, JC/poly frens too?? hmm....Originally posted by laurence82:hmm buddies? frens? dont really have anyway...
not really on physique, i was also thinkin abt people who can be on the same frequency with me, or hold same ideas..actually not really a lot of people..
my frens in school are mostly people who go cheong, have bit of cash, different school of thoughts..
so mostly conversation just steer towards schoolwork or how is my day..
seriously..i dont even noe whats my prob is..just noe that i dont really talk much, even when situations need it..Originally posted by coolger03:oh... even ur sec sch frens, JC/poly frens too?? hmm....
is it that u never open up to them?
that's why it's difficult to be gam with them??
hmm... but u do write well leh...Originally posted by laurence82:seriously..i dont even noe whats my prob is..just noe that i dont really talk much, even when situations need it..![]()
guess so..sigh...Originally posted by coolger03:hmm... but u do write well leh...
u just need to open up a bit?
Maybe you have a 'I am pissed look'? People are not comfortable talking to people who looks aggressive.Originally posted by A Beautiful Mind:i have the same prob too.. & think its gettin worse.
The worst thk is i feel quite pissed now. Its like i feel some ppl deliberately kept quiet in my presence.
Today example:
I bump into 2 of my classmates (gals) in canteen today. Usually i jus eat alone, but since they saw me, i didnt wan to appear anti-social & sat with them .
So after sitting down, we all 3 were quiet..After a while, the 2gals started chatting with each other... BUt no one spoke a word to me
At the back of mind, i kept thinking.. If it was anyone other than me sitting there, they wld surely strike a conversation (out of courtesy at least)
It happens a lot of other times too. PPl jus keep quiet in my presence. Sometimes i tried to initate a small talk, but it will died down soon..
Anyway i am quite PISSED nw. I adopted this "Zipp my mouth" policy... if the other party is goin to keep quiet, i will jus zip my mouth entirely.
then it's time to make the 'technology' work for you lah...; use ur mobile phone to send an sms lor...Originally posted by laurence82:err, both parties not talking, so one must start the whole thing isnt it?
si tai jian..*kick tai jian butt*Originally posted by yunzhongzi:then it's time to make the 'technology' work for you lah...; use ur mobile phone to send an sms lor...
even though the distance is short, but if you think you could converse better via the short message, do try it. Better than sitting there and keeping quiet leh.. (very unlike you hor... tiko lau...)