she ah...either dun say or also repeat waht my father say.Originally posted by carpe diem jur:hahaahahar !! sorry... i find it rather funny coz ur dad really cute loh... sounds like little boy wan something but cant get it... wat bout ur mum?? she din say anything about this??
i've tried talking to him but anything other than putting myself down or agreeing whatever his recommendations are right and i am wrong isnt going to get in.Originally posted by Apollo_sg:Hi bismarck:
fr what u stated, ur dad stick to his pennies and dimes like superglue.
i would suggest u look at other positive things to share with ur dad. encourage him that what has passed has passed, he must learn to let go. holding to some memories of lost opportunities / luck/ etc will not bring back time.
say it in a nice way.. do not argue, not tat u r incapable, but b amicable abt it.
1st do not sneer on his lost. his lost will still b ur lost. ultimately if he passed away (hpefully not any soon), tat will still go to u n ur family.Originally posted by bismarck:i've tried talking to him but anything other than putting myself down or agreeing whatever his recommendations are right and i am wrong isnt going to get in.
he doesnt have any dimes to stick to.
u know something? he even remembers littlest things from my childhood where my age is a single digit all the way till now. things he didnt do and till now he still thinks his present broker job is a right move ( yah..robbing the family to make others rich, he lost abt 200-300k in total already.)
always scold me for being stubborn. hello ? who's stubborn here ?
at least ur parents don nag at u..Originally posted by bismarck:he keeps repeating himself over and over again and doesnt stop till he gets the answer he wants.
first issue. thumbdrive.
i have a old thumbdrive and the casing for it has broken fall, leaving the circuit board itself. and since he wants 1 i offered to give it to him and he says he's looking for a casing ard the hse to replace it. when he come to my room i tell him there isnt a casing for him because i searched for a while before getting a new one(since i need the extra capacity) he finally leaves after repeated answers of "no dont have"
he comes back the next day and does the same thing and i asked did he search before ? his reply " i come back everyday until no become yes"
issue 2. fish tanks.
a few mths back we noticed someone dumped used fish tanks near the road side and he suggested i go get it but my knees were hurting and it was the same over the next few days. i even suggested we go together to minimize the trips.
he refused to. by the time i was ok, tanks were gone already. from that day onwards, he keeps scolding me every 2 days abt the tanks. esp when i discussed with him abt buying a 4ft tank(those at the roadside were 2ft max) for new fishes.
yesterday when i chanced upon a cheap deal where someone was selling 2 x2ft tanks at 5bucks each and so i shared with him. he again scolded me for the same thing " last time(mths ago liao still last time) got free 1 dun want to take, 5 dollars what for?"
then i asked him why till now still repeat ? for mths already.
lost ? u really 'lost' me .Originally posted by Apollo_sg:1st do not sneer on his lost. his lost will still b ur lost. ultimately if he passed away (hpefully not any soon), tat will still go to u n ur family.
what's ur mom/ family's member take on his behavior?
i tried.Originally posted by littlestream:Wow! Your mum really "thick and thin" with your dad. Repeats what he says and pays his debt. I respect her for that.
Well, have you tried the soft approach? If you tell your dad that his behaviour is making it difficult for you, I think although out front, he may appear macho and all but inside, it will sink it. He is after all, your dad and I like to believe all parents love their children.
Good luck with your little chat with him. But like all the above posts, just treasure the present. Keep peace and just bear with "lau ren jia". In one ear, out the other.
Cheers.
Hee hee.....I think my teenage son may say the same of my husband.Originally posted by bismarck:i tried.
it sinks in alright..but he continues to act macho...
next time i get my mum to talk to u.Originally posted by littlestream:Hee hee.....I think my teenage son may say the same of my husband.![]()
My husband loves our son but he always has that macho front. I don't know if it's a dad's thing or what. So, has to rely on me (mothers) to play mediator lor.
The other way to look at stubborness is .......... persistence, which is a necessary trait to be successful, no?
For me reading your post, your dad sounds cute but obviously for you to be experiencing it, I am sure you will beg to differ. But stay positive. The most important thing is to believe your dad loves you and when you believe that, I think you can put up with all his idosyncracies. Because it will be your turn to be making up excuses to yourself about his behaviours.![]()
Originally posted by bismarck:hee hee....you are funny. Glad you still has that humour and didn't let what happened at home bother you.
next time i get my mum to talk to u.
i feel both of u can relate to each other.
[b]my mum is constantly between me and dad, me and sis, sis and dad, me and mum, mum with any of the above.[/b]
that's a sense of humour?Originally posted by littlestream:hee hee....you are funny. Glad you still has that humour and didn't let what happened at home bother you.
Aiyah, even we at the office also got this type of character or some even more outrageous type. Just bitch, bitch, bitch, then forget it lor. Right? LIfe goes on eh? Cheers.
So, what is your mum's nickname? Is she registered? But she may not enjoy it. I desperately tried to get my friends and sisters to visit the site but alas none shares my "passion". I like coming here because some of the threads are funny even cruel ones. It gives me a dose of chuckle and I do learn something from here. I like to stay young at heart so I can keep in sync with my son and also for my own well being.....in spirit and in mind.![]()
How you know ur dad lost 200-300k in total? He told you ah?Originally posted by bismarck:i've tried talking to him but anything other than putting myself down or agreeing whatever his recommendations are right and i am wrong isnt going to get in.
he doesnt have any dimes to stick to.
u know something? he even remembers littlest things from my childhood where my age is a single digit all the way till now. things he didnt do and till now he still thinks his present broker job is a right move ( yah..robbing the family to make others rich, he lost abt 200-300k in total already.)
always scold me for being stubborn. hello ? who's stubborn here ?