1- 1/3/ -2/5Originally posted by StarPuppy:I feel so weak when i am doing maths...its like simple maths question i also cannot do...or rather i think too complicated
for example: 3 sisters share a sum of money, the elder sister gets 1/3 of it, the 2nd sister gets 2/5 of it,the youngest gets $120..what is the sum of the money altogether?
The correct method should be
1- 1/3/ -2/5
=1- 5/15 - 2/15
=7/15
8/15= 120
1u=120/8
=15
15u= 15x15
=225
-------------------------------------
But my method would be
3/5=120
1u=120/3
=40
2u=40x2
=80
5u=40x5
=200
3-1=2u
2u=100
u=50
therefore 50+80+120
=250
--------------
That would be one of my examples...i keep on thinking too complcated...i feel so stressed up...if normal revision ends up like this...i dunno how i am gonna cope my Os![]()
I believe the correct solution to this is...Originally posted by StarPuppy:for example: 3 sisters share a sum of money, the elder sister gets 1/3 of it, the 2nd sister gets 2/5 of it,the youngest gets $120..what is the sum of the money altogether?
Your topics and syllabus are trying you things... UNDERSTAND what you're SUPPOSE TO BE LEARNING.. And what are OFTEN the STYLES of APPLICATIONS in 'O' levels..Originally posted by StarPuppy:I feel so weak when i am doing maths...its like simple maths question i also cannot do...or rather i think too complicated
for example: 3 sisters share a sum of money, the elder sister gets 1/3 of it, the 2nd sister gets 2/5 of it,the youngest gets $120..what is the sum of the money altogether?
1- 1/3/ -2/5
=1- 5/15 - 2/15
=7/15
8/15= 120
1u=120/8
=15
15u= 15x15
=225
But my method would be
3/5=120
1u=120/3
=40
2u=40x2
=80
5u=40x5
=200
3-1=2u
2u=100
u=50
therefore 50+80+120
=250
--------------
That would be one of my examples...i keep on thinking too complcated...i feel so stressed up...if normal revision ends up like this...i dunno how i am gonna cope my Os![]()
x2.Originally posted by rainee:the thing with maths is...the more you stressed, the more you wun get it. You need a calm mind to be able to solve the problems
And of cos, practice makes perfect
so cute sia.. useOriginally posted by smudgey:I believe the correct solution to this is...
youngest sis got = 1 - ( 1/3 + 2/5 )
= 1 - ( 5/15 + 6/15 )
= 1 - ( 11/15 )
= 4/15 which is equivalent to $120
Hence,![]()
is equivalent to total sum of money
4is equivalent to the amount youngest sis got = $120
thus 1is equivalent to ( $120 / 4) = $30
hence sum of money altogether is equivalent to 15
thus
sum of money altogether = $30*15 =$450
take your time to read and understand the question frist, take time to think about it second, before you attempt to solve it
X 2Originally posted by browniebaobao:if u cannot do maths, it doesnt mean u cannot do biz stats, accounts or watever wor.. so hor maths is not everything.. dun stress urself too much.
The correct method should bepuppy is this the model answer given by the teacher ?
1- 1/3/ -2/5
=1- 5/15 - 2/15
=7/15
8/15= 120
1u=120/8
=15
15u= 15x15
=225
hehehe thanx...Originally posted by browniebaobao:so cute sia.. use![]()
Originally posted by StarPuppy:I feel so weak when i am doing maths...its like simple maths question i also cannot do...or rather i think too complicated
1- 1/3/ -2/5
=1- 5/15 - 2/15
=7/15
8/15= 120
1u=120/8
=15
15u= 15x15
=225
But my method would be
3/5=120
1u=120/3
=40
2u=40x2
=80
5u=40x5
=200
3-1=2u
2u=100
u=50
therefore 50+80+120
=250
--------------