Yup. It's not really that scary.. It's just like using a credit card, except for more meaningful thing... So long as you know where you're heading towards in your studies and is DEVOTED to it, it's just a way of buying yourself a future ticket..Originally posted by jeramy:the loans are really not that scary lah..
you just have to devote your money to paying your loans the first few years of your work then should be alright in the long run.
lets say after you grad and start to work and earn abt 2k+ per month, then maybe pay back 1k every month for 2 years then that should settle most of it.
relax your parent also no choice it hink they are lost also lah at this time.Originally posted by sharked:f cuk la!
mom cant even be bothered lo : "next year then say..."
dad obviously hinting i cannot to afford to study U lo........
f cuking encouragin, dad... f cuking encouraging
It is because of their lack of life planning that we are in such shiite now.... shouldnt have bothered "consulting" such ppl
Appearantly all those who had replied in this post spent more time and more brains thinking about my problem than both my parents add together lor.....
in a super screwy moood now![]()
most often than not, it is this kind of "scared this scared that" mentality which is hindering much of our progress..Originally posted by sharked:maybe its not the loan thats scaring me.... its the daily financial needs DURING the period of studies. Travel n food expenses, monthly bills etc etc
i have a fear of working part time because last time i did it in poly, my results dropped drastically. Hung on to the part time job for a year and got 2 semesters of horrible results. And i simply cannot make it when it comes to giving tuition la...... forgot all my elementary stuff liao
haihhzz........ go talk to my dad see how......... hate this part.....
Originally posted by sharked:f cuk la!
It is because of their lack of life planning that we are in such shiite now.... shouldnt have bothered "consulting" such ppl
Appearantly all those who had replied in this post spent more time and more brains thinking about my problem than both my parents add together lor.....
I guess it's sometimes naturally to feel the way you do especially when family members don't show you the support and guidance that you clearly need.Originally posted by sharked:f cuk la!
Originally posted by ellisbeck:nicely put.
I guess it's sometimes naturally to feel the way you do especially when family members don't show you the support and guidance that you clearly need.
Many individuals, particularly those in our parents' generation, cope by avoidance and suppression. It's so common for me to see adults in that "era" to cope with issues with avoidance and suppression. This apparently shows that they are most probably lost too. Your mum's comments are clearly signs of avoidance and loss. Your Dad is hinting instead of not telling you outright because it is not an easy thing to tell you he thinks you cannot afford. (But that's what he [b]thinks.) And even if he tells you straight in the face, it is likely he's lost too. (I mean, wouldn't he be at a loss? Besides, his days are numbered..)
Give yourself some time to chill off at times because you deserve some quiet moments to relax and reflect. Follow your heart; and in the event that you choose to opt for the NUS route, I am still confident that you would be able to pull through eventually - as long as you have the determination and perseverance.
It is not likely that they would blacklist you even if you drop out halfway. (Though I wouldn't support the idea of dropping out) Do let the university know of your reason of needing to drop out (if that happens). One way to do that is to talk to a counsellor in NUS (at Yusof Ishak House, I think) if you move on to the university. In fact, I strongly encourage you to do that. For all you know, there would be fresh perspectives that you can take on and then be able to move on with balancing studies, work and family. Also, going through the counsellor for NUS would even provide you with options of possible help that you can receive from the university.Originally posted by sharked:thanks guys......
back to square one..... had to think up a solution before school starts...... or before feb. They said i will receive some letters in feb for me to confirm my entrance to nus...... i dunno if at feb i say yes i going, then later realise cannot make it and tell them no before sch starts, or if i drop out half way thru studying, wonder they'll blacklist me or not... as in if that'll hinder my future application into nus if i choose to study as a mature applicant....
.. guess i'll have to check tt out with nus
again thanks ppl![]()
You're no longer that young a kid... Can't always depend on your parents for everything..? Sometimes you've just got to make certain DECISIONS for yourself so long as you understand you'll be responsible for what ya do...?Originally posted by sharked:f cuk la!