When you manage to do that, I will also strike 4d 5 weeks consecutively.Originally posted by ruixiangz:hey...good idea!
i will hit the headline if i proceed to the university after graduating from ITE man...thanks for the idea
Hey,wad i say is true wad, Ite is hands on envt,thus u can work with yr hands and thus indirectly improve yr piano skill deOriginally posted by ruixiangz:hey...good idea!
i will hit the headline if i proceed to the university after graduating from ITE man...thanks for the idea
See o level score lor,whether u did well or ntOriginally posted by ruixiangz:aiya...i not rich mah...if i got mountains of gold i also can get a world class piano teacher and get my degree now liaoz...problem is i m learning piano by myself, so quite hard to qualify for uni music course like that...
back to main point...poly or JC?
if you are top 5% in a poly, u can go to ANY uni courseis this statement true?
It's actually 5% of all the polys combined.Originally posted by ruixiangz:is this statement true?
Catch up with what? The lesson styles not much difference... and A levels don't exactly make your Uni courses any simpler than poly diplomas...Originally posted by ruixiangz:top 5% not veri difficult larz...but go poly liao den go university kidda hard to catch up rite?
if you're not a music-pro by 16 then you can forget about ever studying classical music in a tertiary institution.Originally posted by ruixiangz:I am currently waiting for my o'level results and in the first three month intake for JC at NYJC. My interest is in music, and the only place teaching music in Singapore at my level is the Singapore Poly...they have this Diploma in Music and Audio Technology course. However, I had decided against going there because I thought it is difficult for me to get into the local university (don't talk about oversea, no money) with a music diploma. Yes...I want to get into university too because in Singapore, it is difficult to survive without a university cert.
And such, I had been planning to get into a JC after my results are released, get a good A'level cert, and study law in the university. However, I was mistaken...there is this Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music where you can earn a Bachelor of Music...sounds cool right? Problem is, I have no formal training in music, know very little about music theory and my piano skills cannot be compared with other people of my own age (16).
There's where my problem comes in. To summarise it...should I get into SP, get that diploma and learn more about music before I try to get into the conservatory to learn music, or should I get into a JC, earn a good A'level cert and somehow try to get into the conservatory with my sucky musical skills?
If I go poly to get that music diploma, yet still can't get into the conservatory, will there be other places for me in the university (no matter what other people say, it is not easy to get into the university armed with a diploma, especially a music one).
If I go into a JC, I can learn tons of science, but no music at all. My chances of getting into the conservatory will be just as low, but at least I can still apply to study law or other courses. Isn't it safer that way?
So...in your opinion, should I go Poly or should I go JC?
dun think that getting top 5% is easy in poly....you might not score well in modules like when doing workshop even if your academic results are good...other than being good academically, you must also be good at hands on stuff...Originally posted by ruixiangz:top 5% not veri difficult larz...but go poly liao den go university kidda hard to catch up rite?
very true.Originally posted by vito_corleone:if you're not a music-pro by 16 then you can forget about ever studying classical music in a tertiary institution.![]()
there are lots of ITE students who went poly and then to a local uni..Originally posted by ruixiangz:hey...good idea!
SYZ also made the record company wait for her till she completed her degree. and that was her father's advice too, to at least have a degree before she ventured into singing.Originally posted by darknessfall:Music at most can be an interest. Do that part time or something like that. I dunno what do you mean by you have great interest for music. Are you very talented but lack opportunities for lessons? Or its only liking for a particular thing, but not passion?
Passion may leads to a commitment, likings can at most be an on-off thing.
So if you have passion for music, go study for it...if you only likes it, then go buried yourself in books for your law degree..
Right now, you can choose to study in JC and hope to get good grades and study your law..But beware, that you are falling into a Rat Race. However, that can/might guarantee you stability.
If you pursue music, who knows you might turn out to be the next Sun Yanzi?
You can join the whatever crap thing on the campus superstar?
something about ITE...Originally posted by Rockhound:there are lots of ITE students who went poly and then to a local uni..