i think u shld go for the course u like. grads from local U r in demand. not to worry.Originally posted by motoway:Hi people, need some thoughts on this thingy.. Anyone took Biz Management in NTU b4?? Is there any solid career opportunities for Biz Grad frm NTU in the market??
Because i am reali in a delima.. Dunoe wanna choose biz management coz it's not as boring or Acc for the big bucks yet i heard it can be relatively tough and difficult should you not like the course. Any body wif sound advices for me?? And btw Is Accs a veri boring course and a chore??
Sumone out there help can?? Dunoe wan choose what sia..
Thanks in advance yea..
hey, im frm biz management at NUS. had the same prob wif u initially..Originally posted by motoway:Hi people, need some thoughts on this thingy.. Anyone took Biz Management in NTU b4?? Is there any solid career opportunities for Biz Grad frm NTU in the market??
Because i am reali in a delima.. Dunoe wanna choose biz management coz it's not as boring or Acc for the big bucks yet i heard it can be relatively tough and difficult should you not like the course. Any body wif sound advices for me?? And btw Is Accs a veri boring course and a chore??
Sumone out there help can?? Dunoe wan choose what sia..
Thanks in advance yea..
I'm from SMU Biz management. Haha...Originally posted by yoghurt:hey, im frm biz management at NUS. had the same prob wif u initially..
i advice doing business management (BM) instead of accountancy. accountancy is very specialised, hence when u grad, lesser job opportunities than those who grad frm BM. however, accountants are paid more la. thing is, u have to like the modules dat the uni offers, i think accountancy is rather dry, u do stuff like cost accounting, financial accounting, bank accounting blah which are really boring whereas BM offers some humanities modules. sides, u can always get a diploma in accountancy to back up ur degree in BM and u will still probably earn as much as an accountant.![]()
maths? unlike F math, we do "math" in the form of finance and statistics if dat answers ur Q. Engineering math is optional. it's easy if u like it! no worriesOriginally posted by gd4u:Hmm, i got question, is the Maths learned in BBA tough ???
wad do u mean personal experience? hee..Originally posted by schoolworkphobia:I'm also choosing courses too. Hey Yoghurt, how do you find NUS biz ? Can give us abit of your personal experience ?
Thanks Ah Cek for being the first to reply sia.. Ya i hope choosing biz isn;t the wrong choice man.. Coz the financial status of my family isn't veri stable so i hope i will get a stable job when i come out..Originally posted by Ah Cek:i think u shld go for the course u like. grads from local U r in demand. not to worry.
whether which course is tougher depends on individual's area of 'enlightenment'. some can do well in this course, some don't and vice cersa.
*nods head in agreement*Originally posted by HENG@:my advice would be to choose something u r genuinely interested in. something that, when u have to do it, won't feel like a burden to u
heard accountancy job is a desk bound long hour job know! my company accountant sometimes work till 2-3am! feels sorry for her.Originally posted by motoway:*nods head in agreement*
I tink i will find accountancy reali boring as i'm like those kind out bubbly person and i'm currently bored to death wif a 9 to 6 job.. Seesh.. *prays that my future job wun be liddat*![]()
Ooh.. BA in NUS.. Is it good? Coz personally.. I going NTU but my fwen all said it's gonna be a dead school.. (i.e Veri muggerish)Originally posted by yoghurt:hey, im frm biz management at NUS. had the same prob wif u initially..
i advice doing business management (BM) instead of accountancy. accountancy is very specialised, hence when u grad, lesser job opportunities than those who grad frm BM. however, accountants are paid more la. thing is, u have to like the modules dat the uni offers, i think accountancy is rather dry, u do stuff like cost accounting, financial accounting, bank accounting blah which are really boring whereas BM offers some humanities modules. sides, u can always get a diploma in accountancy to back up ur degree in BM and u will still probably earn as much as an accountant.![]()
Originally posted by MetalGear:I'm from SMU Biz management. Haha...
i also advice doing Biz Management instead of accountancy, UNLESS u know that's what you want to do. Coz it's specialized and the other area you can work additionally also is in finance-related areas.
All accounting graduates, if you go into auditing line, in Big 4 companies, your starting pay is $2,000. All the same. it's because the turnover rate of auditors is so high that the companies want to see which are the junior auditors that really love the work or just have enough lifelessness to continue hanging on. This gives the impression that auditors have very good prospects. The truth is, because auditing is such a specialized job (even general accounting), you either love it or hate it, no in-between. So choose carefully. Most accounting students thinking that prospects of accounting is so good, they enter the course and find it's totally boring. U really must love numbers to excel and more importantly have staying power in the career line as accountant/auditor.
Do consider a BBM (Bachelor of business Management) if you want a more varied and mroe exposed degree. For SMU, our BBM has 5 or 6 majors, if i recall correctly. Most popular is finance, followed by Marketing, then there's also Management, Corporate communications, operations Research etc. Check out www.smu.edu.sg for mroe info.
SMU's finance is the most popular major. We have very good tie-ups with alot of financial institutions n houses like Citibank, Lehman Bros, UBS, CSFB etc. i'm in Marketing, and i sometimes feel neglected. haha.
Anyway, if you want to speak well n have the edge and know how to present yourself well. Come to SMU!I was very shy n quiet before entering SMU. The compulsory class participation and endless presentations forces one to be at least competent in personal presentations. it's not gonna be easy. Put it this way, in this world, it's no longer about what you know, it's about who u know, how you can connect with people and how you can bring people together.
Do consider hard in your choice of undergraduate studies! All the best!
yea, my cousin's fren is an auditor and hell.. She works till 3am in the wee hrs just to audit the company debts and stuff..Originally posted by Ah Cek:heard accountancy job is a desk bound long hour job know! my company accountant sometimes work till 2-3am! feels sorry for her.
aiyo, no pain no gain mah.Originally posted by motoway:yea, my cousin's fren is an auditor and hell.. She works till 3am in the wee hrs just to audit the company debts and stuff..
But her paycheck is a cool fat 6k ok!!![]()
EH LOL... YA BUT BIZ MANAGEMENTT ALWAYS ALOT CHOI BU ONE.. wAH I LOSE AGAIN LIAO..Originally posted by Ah Cek:aiyo, no pain no gain mah.
well i must say tha my course is not exactly to my fullest liking now, but I choose it with an eye towards my career having to suit my interest. Of course, unfortunately I found out that 1st year basic mech eng is boring as hell... but thats the only way I'll have a career that I want. If I'd known then, then I might have taken up astronomy or philosophy. Now I guess I'm just gonna have to tough it out.Originally posted by motoway:*nods head in agreement*
I tink i will find accountancy reali boring as i'm like those kind out bubbly person and i'm currently bored to death wif a 9 to 6 job.. Seesh.. *prays that my future job wun be liddat*![]()
u take physics at A levels but get O7 or O8. As long as u dun get F9 for physics means its an AO passOriginally posted by schoolworkphobia:What does AO level pass in physics means ?
Does it means must take Physics at A level ?
where got chim? as long as dun get F9 is AO pass, plain n simple right?Originally posted by gd4u:U sound so chim, AO pass is when ur phy get 40-44 marks (which considers fail in A lvl standard) They say AO pass is equivalent to a O lvl pass, i not sure abt tt though ...