hmm.. how come leh? what kinds of jobs r available for NUS FASS grads? thanks!Originally posted by FireIce:NUS FASS
That's not good advice. Honestly speaking, not alot of difference between those choices. I would say NUS, simply because the market has a better perception of grads from there.Originally posted by goaler:dun study lah..
go work better..
u dun need a degree to sign on or be a DXO..
and preferably honours.....if u want to go farOriginally posted by leddy:if u do govt job must have good degree if not forever stuck there
For both DXO and WSO positions, the field of study for your degree does not really matter.Originally posted by i_heart_icecream:Hi ppl, hope u guys (n gals) can give me some advice on which uni to go to (NTU vs NUS)
I'm a graduate of TP... got a diploma in communications & media management (aka mass comm).. I'm already accepted by NTU school of information & communication to study Communication Studies (and if i get in, i'll most prob get some subject exemptions and graduate in 3 yrs time instead of the usual 4 yrs)
I also applied for NUS arts & social science, intending 2 major in English Language (like phonetics, semantics blabla stuff like that). This 1 will take 4 yrs. Status: processing
I hope to work in the govt sector after i guaduate, probably as an defence executive officer (DXO) in mindef, or sign on airforce to be a weapon systems officer (ok, i know both degrees are irrelevant for this la)
Which degree has better career prospects for my case? (i don't really intend 2 work in the media industry.. too fast paced for my liking)
DXO positions require degrees... if u go 2 the website 2 check u'll know..Originally posted by goaler:dun study lah..
go work better..
u dun need a degree to sign on or be a DXO..
huh really ar? but by saying that dxo jobs aren't very attractive, won't it be generalising? i mean, there r many types of positions ma.. btw is it easy 2 get the job?Originally posted by ditzy:I got inside news that dxos with degrees get very very very good pay. I'm being very very very modest when I say starting pay is 3K.As to why dxo jobs aren't very attractive, we all know why.
If love job challenges involving red tape and bereucracy, dxo is the job for you!Originally posted by i_heart_icecream:huh really ar? but by saying that dxo jobs aren't very attractive, won't it be generalising? i mean, there r many types of positions ma.. btw is it easy 2 get the job?
i used to think so tooOriginally posted by YI:English Language can be self-taught anyway.
oh well.. all the best then for your el1102. hmm.. nus or nie?Originally posted by FireIce:i used to think so too
but after EL1101, i realise it's not so....
oh really.. i never know they earned this much for just admin/clerical work..Originally posted by ditzy:I got inside news that dxos with degrees get very very very good pay. I'm being very very very modest when I say starting pay is 3K.As to why dxo jobs aren't very attractive, we all know why.