First, you probably should have poster this in the Singaporeans Overseas forum.Originally posted by isosceles:[color=brown]
I will be spending most of the time in UK, den Some months in Germany, some weeks in US n india.
But there are some issues that are bugging me..
I am given a 2000 allowance and additional 2000 cost of living expenses. I need to settle my accomodation, food, travel and other stuff with this 2000.
i did a brief research on accomodation in Uk , southern Uk the rent as advised, is between 600 to 700 pounds, (PER month) which is about S$ 2100, groceries 60 pounds per week.. ( 1 month about S$712) and public transport per month is S$225. In total , a month's stay in UK will cost me S$2867, that is excluding other cost of living like. internet acess, electricity and utility bills etc..
And the HR told me that, sometimes i may be only stayin in the country for a few weeks and most lodging rentals need to go for quarterly rental, prob i will need to settle in a Hotel.. Den.. how much i will need to fork out, she also duno. Where I can find good lobang lodging, she say she still working with overseas office. also never promise will have a conclusion.
just told me, i need to be really independant..coz the other trainee will be posted to another country so prob i wun have a companion.
She told me, when I am there, should i have any prob. i can always call her..
erm.. not veri useful right..
[/quote][/color]
He has 2000 + 2000 livin expenses. Hence his total salary is 4000 for his trg stint! That is not a bad deal at all, esp for a fresh graduate who has rather ordinary grades.Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:I dun think this offer is good. If you are going to fork out your own money for the living expenses in UK, it is really unfair cos it should be provided by the company. I think even the overseas allowance by SAF is more competitive than that offered by your company. Take my advice, look for a better job.![]()
Not necc in the UK. NHS is free. The system works though it isn't perfect.Originally posted by mhcampboy:One thing for sure... GET AN INSURANCE BEFORE GOING TO SEE A DOCTOR!!![]()
x 2.Originally posted by viciouskitty74:I am given a 2000 allowance and additional 2000 cost of living expenses. I need to settle my accomodation, food, travel and other stuff with this 2000.
Guys... if you were me.. would u take up this offer?![]()
[/color]
[/quote]
Still Yes.
2k allowance is per month or for the whole year? Please check.
This is a really good opportunity to learn. Dont miss it just because you think something better is going to come along.
Originally posted by isosceles:[color=brown]hey guys.. this is my 1st time posting. been a reader all these while..
hope to be able to hear some advice..
I just graduated fr Uni this July.. well , got a okie but stagnant job.. recently i got a new job offer.. its a Training and attachment programme organised by a govt board and this foreign pharmacutical company fr US.. The catch is, i have to go overseas for training for 1 year.. upon completion, I will serve a bond with the company in Spore for 2 years.
I was super elated when i was notified..
All these are perfectly capitivating, to me. Cos I love to have the experience of life overseas and wad more, only 1 year.. and working in a Sci industry seems like a good experience.
I will be spending most of the time in UK, den Some months in Germany, some weeks in US n india.
But there are some issues that are bugging me..
[color=darkblue]I will be leaving my parents alone in spore, and 1 year isnt too long.. but its not too short either..
I am given a 2000 allowance and additional 2000 cost of living expenses. I need to settle my accomodation, food, travel and other stuff with this 2000.
i did a brief research on accomodation in Uk , southern Uk the rent as advised, is between 600 to 700 pounds, (PER month) which is about S$ 2100, groceries 60 pounds per week.. ( 1 month about S$712) and public transport per month is S$225. In total , a month's stay in UK will cost me S$2867, that is excluding other cost of living like. internet acess, electricity and utility bills etc..
And the HR told me that, sometimes i may be only stayin in the country for a few weeks and most lodging rentals need to go for quarterly rental, prob i will need to settle in a Hotel.. Den.. how much i will need to fork out, she also duno. Where I can find good lobang lodging, she say she still working with overseas office. also never promise will have a conclusion.
just told me, i need to be really independant..coz the other trainee will be posted to another country so prob i wun have a companion.
She told me, when I am there, should i have any prob. i can always call her..
erm.. not veri useful right..
Upon completion of the programme, I enquire about the pay revision. she say not sure.. shld be ard S$2200 to $2600.. all depends.. On wad?? she say.. erm.. performance, market value blah blah..
my parents are abit against this idea..
and i am not more than ordinary in academics.. why will they wan to offer me.. prob the prev candidates rejected them or smthg??
Guys... if you were me.. would u take up this offer?![]()
I took up the TAP program last year and has been in USA since. I can tell you it's good industrial experience if this is what you really want to do in your life.
On living expenses, I think it's enough but it's never gonna be close to what your counterparts in UK earn. Think of it this way... 4k a mth is a lot more than what overseas singaporean uni students spend living in the same country (like US, UK). However, it is not expatriate pay, so you will have to be frugal.
If you are really interested to sign, you gotta negotiate hard with the company itself (get the living expenses sorted out... you'll be surprised how much they are willing to do for you). Of course, you will have to bug the representative from your govt agency a lot (my experience is... they are usually very very passive with negotiation... i.e. they don't help you a lot). It could be a good or bad deal depending on what you want in life and how you go about getting the terms sorted out.
[/quote][/color][/color]
Most likely is. So they can go in place of him for the training stint.Originally posted by Devil1976:Someone murdered isosceles??![]()
bo lah ....already overseas and realised that the scheme dun bao internet access one lor...Originally posted by Devil1976:Someone murdered isosceles??![]()
Personally, I think the offer's quite 'cool' with. But whatever they've said to you about the company would cover the excess on accomodation and such...? Try to get it on BLACK and WHITE.... Who was the one who told you that anyway? You new in the working society? Careful with what people tell you with their mouth only especially when you're still fresh and new to them...Originally posted by isosceles:wOO.. im so surprised that so many pple are giving me solid advice.. hEheh. im so touched.. =) thanks so much..
sorry for the late reply.. coz eer.. haha. i duno how to submit reply. just figured oUt.. *so noob*
okie, just met up with the representatives..
the terms are: monthy 2k + 2k.. ( one is allowance , and one is cost of living expenses,,. which means accomodation n all). They will be giving me a one time $4k for start up overseas..
I asked them if accomodation per mth in UK is veri costly, and mite exceed the 2k. they ask me not to worry.. the coompany will foot the bill..
so i guess he means the wil pay the excess??
kinda so happy now..
another problem is this...
i plan to submit my resignation letter dated todae.. and official last day dec 31st
and todae is also the deadline to sign the new contract.. is it okie to resign n sign a new contract on the same day??
and GUYs.. i am a girl. not a guy.. heheh![]()
If you ask them to settle and then they find the cheapest place - I guarantee you will regret it!Originally posted by isosceles:the terms are: monthy 2k + 2k.. ( one is allowance , and one is cost of living expenses,,. which means accomodation n all). They will be giving me a one time $4k for start up overseas..
I asked them if accomodation per mth in UK is veri costly, and mite exceed the 2k. they ask me not to worry.. the coompany will foot the bill..
so i guess he means the wil pay the excess??