haha, im always here just that i dun post that oftenOriginally posted by yuko-ogura:hegu,ur back.
long time no see.
tamago kor kor comes to the rescue!Originally posted by ^tamago^:1-sqrt(2) <= x < 1
OR
x >= 1+sqrt(2)
Originally posted by hegu:tamago kor kor comes to the rescue!![]()
shud be jie jie baOriginally posted by hegu:tamago kor kor comes to the rescue!![]()
Originally posted by aiglosicicle:(x+1)/(x-1) <= x
there is this inequalities math question that appears pretty easy but i cant seem to solve it.
its really bugging me and i have to solve it! haha
hope some people here can help!
[b](x+1)/(x-1) [smaller or equals to] x
haha, your first step to second step is alr wrong but anyway tamago kor...i mean jie jie has alr solved itOriginally posted by 798:(x+1)/(x-1) <= x
x+1 <= x(x-1)
x+1 <= x^2-x
0 <= x^2-x-x-1
x^2-2x-1 >= 0
using quad equation:
x >= 2.414 or -0.4142
as tis is an inequalities question, hence
x must be more than or equal to 2.414 or (1+sqrt(2))
wrong meh? anyway still can get correct ans wah.Originally posted by hegu:haha, your first step to second step is alr wrong but anyway tamago kor...i mean jie jie has alr solved it![]()
i get ur point, if x = 1Originally posted by hisoka:multiply te denominator out lor the solve as pernormal jus tthat you need to make 3 cases one for the denominator <0 and one for denominator >0 and lastly no solution for the denominator = 0
actualy might still be correct de.Originally posted by 798:i get ur point, if x = 1
LHS is infinite whereas RHS is 1, this is not right... -_-|
maybe the correct answer should be:Originally posted by hisoka:actualy might still be correct de.
cos if you take limits hor and assume its continous the LHS at limx->1 is 1 also i think. but in this case should be undefined![]()