I think it really depends on what you wanna do in life lor. For those who opt for JCs, they have another two more years to consider about the question on what specialization they wanna choose...but people who opt for Polys need to make the decision now. Maybe you should take time and think about it. Are you more into Business? Finance? Engineering? Mass Com? IT? There's so many to choose from. I'm sure they provided a booklet...if not, you can go to the Poly's open house when they organise one. Need to really consider for yourself. It's your future, it's your life. If you choose wrongly, you may be wasting your time and money on those three years in Poly.Originally posted by yuppiez:just got my result yesterday...didnt do sky high but make it to poly... confusing now...don't know where course to go... any good advices?
What's so bad abt engrg courses?? Don't u know that biz students have the lowest starting pay. Engrg is a specialised field and there so many kinds.Originally posted by bigdeal:if pass go business la!!
IF fail get d7 too bad go eng like me...
eng ah...wat good course ah...
well..basically engineering sucks! so get d7 repeat ur o levels..(IF)
Not trying to 'pour cold water'...but an engineering diploma is no longer an advantage...cos more and more people have engineering degree. Especially so becos NTU has opened up more vacancies...and accepted more students. People whose results are slightly below average, those who cannot get into any other courses in NUS and NTU could get into NTU engineering. My friend, she got C,D,E for her A levels, can't get into any other course in NTU or NUS...but she got a place in NTU engineering.Originally posted by Coffee Xpress:What's so bad abt engrg courses?? Don't u know that biz students have the lowest starting pay. Engrg is a specialised field and there so many kinds.
Don't say it sucks if u cannot cope with the course.
then u think u beri zai ah.. zai then go be a nerd lor..lol dun cum here kpkb.. i just stating my view as an engine student..Originally posted by Coffee Xpress:What's so bad abt engrg courses?? Don't u know that biz students have the lowest starting pay. Engrg is a specialised field and there so many kinds.
Don't say it sucks if u cannot cope with the course.
Go for the course that interest you. Better to select what you like now then regret later...Originally posted by yuppiez:just got my result yesterday...didnt do sky high but make it to poly... confusing now...don't know where course to go... any good advices?
What's the big deal about u? Couldn't care less.Originally posted by bigdeal:then u think u beri zai ah.. zai then go be a nerd lor..lol dun cum here kpkb.. i just stating my view as an engine student..
I did not say that engineering students with a higher starting pay have an added advantage. U got me wrong.Originally posted by Twiggie:Not trying to 'pour cold water'...but an engineering diploma is no longer an advantage...cos more and more people have engineering degree. Especially so becos NTU has opened up more vacancies...and accepted more students. People whose results are slightly below average, those who cannot get into any other courses in NUS and NTU could get into NTU engineering. My friend, she got C,D,E for her A levels, can't get into any other course in NTU or NUS...but she got a place in NTU engineering.
Now going to flood with engineers soon. Especially when my friend's batch graduates next year. Seems like her year got alot of engineering students.
This would depend a lot on your interest and what you aspire to be in your coming career. However, if you decide to go to the business areas, you had to pave out your route after your poly education, a business dip will giv u a career which is rather stagnant and you definitely hav to attain a Masters in future,mayb in SIM if u wanna succeed in your career, unless u wanna b an exective for the rest of your life, it's rather boring. Therefore, I would suggest you opt for courses more related to the IT & communication courses where it's in high demand even in economic crisis period, however, it's your choice, hope my advic comes in handy...Originally posted by yuppiez:just got my result yesterday...didnt do sky high but make it to poly... confusing now...don't know where course to go... any good advices?