Erm...sometimes the not-well-to-do also have those pressures to perform well, you know. My dad is a teacher (doesnt earn alot, have to say) but people expect me and my sisters to excel like hell too.Originally posted by rmyfrm:And what would those pressures be?
Rich kids always get compared to their successful parents, living in their shadows.
People who have not experienced the tiresome routine of moving from school, to cca, to tuition and then to misc. private cocurricular activities such as piano/ballet/art have no say. It's so easy to be a bystander and go ... wow gee, so lucky to have all that, i can do that too!
Let's see you stay on top of your game, by achieving leadership positions in your CCA, earning grade 8/diploma in piano etc etc. all the while being at the top few percent of your academic level ... in addition to that, having to listen to the derogatory remarks/comments of strangers who have not achieved equal level of success.
Don't forget, the higher you go, the more that is expected of you.
People won't look at a chicken rice seller's son and expect him to rise to any level of greatness, but if he does, praises are heaped upon the fellow (and rightly so).
But people will look at a doctor's son, and expect him to reach a similar level of success, if not surpass his father, or else the poor boy will have to deal with being looked upon as falling into the stereotypical perception of a rich kid.
actually to excel in studies.. depends on the methods to study.. not rich or poor..Originally posted by felirox:Is it true that those born with a silver spoon in their mouths excel in studies? i have friends who are rich and they do really well in studies. and i have frends too who are financially unstable do not excel in studies even though they work hard.
So your thinking is that they can do whatever they want but its just their selfish pride and fear of tarnishing family image that is holding them back? Not that threat of being kicked out from the family/being disowned or even death threats to name a few. And rich people dont always fly first class. Some travel economy class and held on to their every single penny with clenched fist, eating bread and water everyday to save on cost.Originally posted by Jerina:Both the not-well-to-do and rich have probs. But I still stick with the fact no matter what, being rich is the lesser of two evils.
And who says the rich can't eat at hawker centres or have friends of a 'lower' class? They can do so, what. It's only their pride and fear of tarnishing the family image that's holding them backBut then again, if they want to do all these things, they still can. *shrugs*
Whereas for the not-so-well-to-do, we cant exactly do the things the rich can, like travel first class etc etc.
Hence, being rich is still the lesser of two evils.
That is a very... weird... statement.Originally posted by WiNtEr'SkiLL:the rich sux
Woah ho ho ... you are seriously misguided.Originally posted by club18:i noe of rich ppl who dun do well in their studies and i noe of poor ppl who do..
i feel that rich ppl got lesser pressures on them..
if they dun do well in life, they can rely on family money to set up business or continue the family business..
poor students got a lot of pressure, their parents work so hard to pay for their education so they want to repay them.. if they dun do well in studies, they would let their parents down. they are the ones who can break out of the poor cycle with education..
What I stated was that the rich have more choices in life. They can choose to lead the normal life if they REALLY want to.Originally posted by LyonK:So your thinking is that they can do whatever they want but its just their selfish pride and fear of tarnishing family image that is holding them back? Not that threat of being kicked out from the family/being disowned or even death threats to name a few. And rich people dont always fly first class. Some travel economy class and held on to their every single penny with clenched fist, eating bread and water everyday to save on cost.
I myself think that being not so well to do is the lesser of two evils. Oh well, there you have it; a few points of view.
i guess so, especially when coming from matriarches.Originally posted by Jerina:I think death threats are abit dramatic-lah, huh?Common-sensically speaking
Yup, we have different points of view.
But why is this in aunt agony?Originally posted by felirox:Is it true that those born with a silver spoon in their mouths excel in studies? i have friends who are rich and they do really well in studies. and i have frends too who are financially unstable do not excel in studies even though they work hard.
Damn inspiring manOriginally posted by fudgester:Dude, my dad is a Comfort cabbie.
And tuition was a luxury that I couldn't afford.
Let's just face it; life's unfair. You can't have it all.
I know what it's like to have the shorter end of the stick; back in JC I often had to make the harrowing choice between food and lecture notes. End result? I was one of the most underweight people around.
But instead of whining about how sucky things are, I decided to just go and put in the effort.
If I can't afford tuition, so be it; I'll just work harder and more consistently.
If I can't afford a driving licence, so be it; I'll take the MRT to school.
If I can't afford my uni fees, so be it; I can take a loan from Mendaki.
If my parents can't give me a lot of spending money, so be it; I'll give tuition for my basic everyday expenses.
Seriously, I did all of the above. I'm not trying to boast my achievements or anything, and pardon me if it sounded that way.
All I'm saying is, life is unfair, but you can put in the effort to even the stakes a little.
I know,but what abt ppl nowadays? They know their parents are rich so they just relax knowing their future is secured and as for the poor,they have to strive really really hard to achieve the goal of their life.it will be more unfair if one day both of this rich and poor fall for the same woman..then end up the woman choosing the rich one.Originally posted by PrinceRaied:Before your rich, you must be poor right.
The transition from poor -> rich does require some amount of intelligence right
So a certain extent that does help.
But no use whining right?
IF we WHINE all day, we would get nowhere, get up, get out and do something.
Relative "INTELLIGENCE" does not matter, its what u do with it and how u benefit society is what matters most
it's not easier..Originally posted by rmyfrm:what makes you think its easier out there than back in singapore?
so that is why its unfair. and also, the rich are able to live longer cos they have the money to buy expensive medicines and get treatment whereas the poor had to seek help and if no help is given unfortunately,they will suffer and die. unfair eh?Originally posted by GHoST_18:it's not easier..
but at least the rich have an alternative route which the poorer doesnt...
I am same boat as you. I wouldnt say top school la. Is 243 PSLE entry good? Anyway among my friends they all stay condo, bunglow, terrace etc. Of course there are those stay in HDB too. I always find myself the poorest among them. No money to play pool, bowling. Sometimes wan pay school fees oso cannt. On top of that I have to study hard bcos de pricipal know me on first name basis.Originally posted by Jerina:Erm...sometimes the not-well-to-do also have those pressures to perform well, you know. My dad is a teacher (doesnt earn alot, have to say) but people expect me and my sisters to excel like hell too.
I think it's difficult if you are NOT well-to-do yet you are stuck in a top sch. (speaking frm experience here). Ppl expect you to perform well and you are stuck with rich kids around you who can't imagine why you can't afford tuition or a maid at home.
Both the not-well-to-do and rich have probs. But I still stick with the fact no matter what, being rich is the lesser of two evils.
And who says the rich can't eat at hawker centres or have friends of a 'lower' class? They can do so, what. It's only their pride and fear of tarnishing the family image that's holding them backBut then again, if they want to do all these things, they still can. *shrugs*
Whereas for the not-so-well-to-do, we cant exactly do the things the rich can, like travel first class etc etc.
Hence, being rich is still the lesser of two evils.
Originally posted by LyonK:learn to be happy, thankful and content with what you have fool! obviously you can go out with the peasants and go to their poor malls of mass production and try some peasant food once in a while. your parents and the snobs dont need to know the true details of your daily life.
Did one ask to be born in such circumstances? Why cant I go out with friends of 'different class', browse shopping malls together, enjoy a plate of hawker char kway teow alfresco style? Or perhaps get a part time job at McDonalds? I may not earn much but at least I can have a sense of fulfillment and knowing the value of the money I earn.
Originally posted by cApitaland:ok lor, me 249, which was the lowest 10% in my nerd class for sure. my parents said why i get 249 ONLY?
I wouldnt say top school la. Is 243 PSLE entry good?