that's going to cost alot of money + the risk that we may loseOriginally posted by popmynutsy:c. since ur father also cheated her, sue him.
maybe u can tell us wat type of cheating ur father do to ur mum?Originally posted by OasisBlue:that's going to cost alot of money + the risk that we may lose
Maybe because of this?Originally posted by hiphop2009:why divorce?
Originally posted by OasisBlue:thanks for the replies. My father cheated my mother of her money. There is evidence, but it isn't sufficient.
if really divorce, den seek a solution in which is fair to two parties. if the papa refuse, den take it to court.Originally posted by 0tah:ask ur papa tk the 15k and pay the 5k fee? tem he left 10k oso..more fair...
ya... that's why my mother don't really wish to go to court. Besides, although the money goes to my father, he doesn't receive it directly. From what i know, it goes to his CPF or whatsoever and he gets to only withdraw a sum of money per month.Originally posted by hiphop2009:if really divorce, den seek a solution in which is fair to two parties. if the papa refuse, den take it to court.
what i think is, if can, settle it peacefully and negotitate with ur dad. taking it to court is time and money consuming.
Signed a contract with your father, black and white, cannot hide.Originally posted by OasisBlue:if my mother applies for separation, we are afraid that my father will ask for a divorce after the separation and my mother has to pay 50k instead of 15k when my father turns 55 years old next year.
tem pay him lor..or else if wait till next yr..wan divorce tem regret liao...35k more -.-...Originally posted by OasisBlue:so anyone can tell us what to do?
to compensate my father 15k
or apply for separation?
if my mother applies for separation, we are afraid that my father will ask for a divorce after the separation and my mother has to pay 50k instead of 15k when my father turns 55 years old next year.
15k grant to be returned to the HDB only if the family is selling the flat.Originally posted by jojobeach:I think you have some misconception regarding the current situation.
If the 15K is to be returned for the grant, it should go back to the authorities who issued the grants.
You need to get your facts right.
Please do not confuse yourself with spiteful things divorcing adults say to their own children.
Originally posted by OasisBlue:My mother wants to have a divorce but she has to so called compensate my father 15k as she had taken a grant to buy the hdb flat that we are currently living in. the grant was given because the flat that we live in, was once near residential area of my paternal grandparents. Therefore, the government has a so called law that my mother has to compensate 15k to my father. The problem is, my mother feels that it is not worth it to compensate my father (she has to pay another 5k as lawyer fees and my father is practically not paying anything) as he has never contribute to the family nor to the buying of the flat hence, my mother is now in a dilemma because if my mother doesn't have a divorce now, she will have to compensate my father 50k the next year when he turns 55 years old. After thorough thoughts, we came up with several choices but were unable to decide... thus, i am here to post this to ask for opinions.
first, my mother should just get a divorce and compensate my father 15k
OR
she can apply for separation and then decide on what to do after the separation
Hope someone can help. Thanks.
There is a possibility that such contract may not be enforceable in Singapore.Originally posted by DeadPoet:Signed a contract with your father, black and white, cannot hide.
It still does not sound right.Originally posted by OasisBlue:thanks for all the replies. To what i know, and from what the lawyer said, my mother had taken a grant of 30k in the past to buy this hdb flat we are currently living in. So now, to have a divorce, my mother has to pay 15k back to my father, though not directly, because she has taken a grant.
She dont even have to pay 15k.Originally posted by OasisBlue:the hdb flat is bought under my mother and father's names but it was my mother who paid for the flat. Now, it is a MUST to pay that 15k. No negotiation.