is it a formalities, obligations or ....? for reunion dinner.
to 'gather' everyone who seldom meet up to sit down and have a meal together..
its a tradition
it is a "or ... ?"
okay seriously... its a tradition for me.
Tradition. Steamboat dinner for my family usually.
more like tradition
treasure family ties and values.
It can be whatever you wish it to be
well.. it's a good tradition though. i mean think abt it. the life in singapore is so fast pace though that everyone is so busy and tired at the same time. think of it as a time where everyone can get together FINALLY to have a meal together.
hmm... but not 'restricted' to festive seasons ba..
quite sad that some ppl juz get together for the sake of it.. ![]()
I think it's a social behavior. If it is a tradition, this one spans across all cultures and all over the world.
This is rather a chinese tradition not a social behaviour...![]()
If social behaviour, everyone in this country would practise it regardless of race. It do not spans over all but only on chinese.
But anyway, it is also a social behaviour as people do practise reunion dinner regardless of race... but not at specific dates.
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:This is rather a chinese tradition not a social behaviour...
If social behaviour, everyone in this country would practise it regardless of race. It do not spans over all but only on chinese.
But anyway, it is also a social behaviour as people do practise reunion dinner regardless of race... but not at specific dates.
If TS is talking about Chinese New Year Reunion Dinner. Then yes, it is a chinese thing.
BTW, Koreans, Vietnamese and Japanese also celebrate Lunar New Year, I think there may be other cultures out there who celebrate Lunar New Year, just that they call it a different name.
But if it is JUST a reunion dinner, then it is being done globally.
That is why I add on before I close and post my reply....![]()
Tradition.
No, it not a formalities, but because during CNY, peoples got nowhere to go, so they gather together to show off their new cars, careers status, new house, richness, new gf, new bf, new born, new fashion and new high scoring in education.
Then uncles and aunties will alway ask me, "Angel, u still no bf hor? when getting marry huh? aiyo, not young anymore, still dun find a man, later no one want you lah."
what the hell!!, cut those jealous craps, just pass me the ang pao and buzz off my back.
Originally posted by angel7030:No, it not a formalities, but because during CNY, peoples got nowhere to go, so they gather together to show off their new cars, careers status, new house, richness, new gf, new bf, new born, new fashion and new high scoring in education.
Then uncles and aunties will alway ask me, "Angel, u still no bf hor? when getting marry huh? aiyo, not young anymore, still dun find a man, later no one want you lah."
what the hell!!, cut those jealous craps, just pass me the ang pao and buzz off my back.
haha .. same experience ..... but i jus heck it .. get my ang pao play my blackjack n fcuk off
tradition...but dunno can last till which generations...
tradition
i enjoyed the meal with them and talked with them. its interesting how much u miss out on whats goin on for a year in the family. i like this thing.
The caucasians has their 'Christmas dinner, Christmas Day, Thanksgiving Dinner'.