Originally posted by Melbournite:yes there are money minded women around the world...And its also the reason why men work hard to earn money too....
My point is in Age old days, this works and now that women have been granted gender equality,
its time to move forward ..But in Singapore, its still backwards..thats my point
What is gender equality to you?
Does equality mean that both men and women contribute to a marriage equally?
Does your gender equality extend to women having the right to select their spouses based on their own criteria (which is basically what men had been doing for centuries)?
Even if the criterion could be as shallow as selecting a spouse based on beauty or money?
Gender equality works both ways unfortunately.
But when a man select a woman based on looks and suffer greatly because she is not sympathetic to him - it is her fault for being unwifely.
But when a woman selects a man based on material wealth - it is also her fault!
The individual takes the consequences for their own choices. Why let the rest of the population bear the blame with unfair generalisations?
so who is in agony?
Melbournite,
May I ask.. what's the age difference between you and your gf ?
weaklin.
How rich is rich? What is her net worth? Is her wealth inherited or did she create her wealth?
What does she see in you?
Are you proud of your wife? If so why?
Is your wife proud of you? If so why?
Anyway as another forummer has pointed out, this sort of girls, Singapore also got. Heard of many stories.
hey i dun understand... r u trying to say ur wife is different from some s'porean ladies? then ur wife is an australian rite? so she's ang moh or asian?
Your tone tells of a self-esteem that is challenged. It seems like you are trying to justify your relationship.
There is no harm in having a rich wife. Find your own self worth, and be your own person.
Both of you need to find out what sort of life you each want, and this will takes time to develop.
I think you better buck up ans see that she continues to live the lifestye that she is accustomed to. And don't walk around with you shoulders hunched.
I don't understand. Are you in agony ?
This is a potentially flammable thread.
/me turn invisible and observe thread.
Cheers
Originally posted by Yunhaier:
This is a potentially flammable thread.
/me turn invisible and observe thread.
Cheers
It's the nature of the thread.
It doesn't go well with the nature of this forum.![]()
So she's loaded and you're a church mouse. What's that got to do with whether she's a Singaporean or an Australian?![]()
I could be misreading this, but there seems to be an implied vindication on the threadstarter's part of some prior slight.
Originally posted by Melbournite:.......the purpose of this thread...Money is not everything
I met her in Melbourne a few years ago, she is a from a high class business family from a developed country... Though she offered me everthing, i didnt take anything..she knows i am just a middle class regular joe from Singapore..
one thing i can tell u she really loves me...i have my own job and i lead a simple life, not the luxuries she has to offer me
I moved in with her and thing.. frankly i know guys who look to become rich thru their gfs..
But just to point out that women in Singapore and other countries are different
First of all, congratulations on having someone who is so understanding and willing to accept you for who you are.
But, what then is your real purpose of this post? I mean how do you relate or rather elaborate that Money is NOT EVERYTHING here? What did she offer you that you had rejected? If money is not everything here, then what is?
Besides, telling us and not telling us I find this post is demeaning yourself more than anything. I know a lot of rich families who are one childed and seems to me, your babe's family is of this category. And going along this line, I think you will stand to inherit an hugh business empire - so what else is there to say? Also, I do not think her family will let her remain in a poverish state. So it isn't your call to refuse.
Just don't start something you cannot finish and don't be childish.
..yeah... money is not everything, it can't buy love...
so what's r you trying to convey - you regret or u happy marrying her?
i think this thread serve no purpose...you are trying to show off or you run out of things to "start". but if you just want to TCSS, i guess it is ok. we are need to `release' some time or others
aiyoh pls.... I have a friends - girl-friends who are like that also..they are singaporeans!
I live in Melbourne too, and by virtue of my job, I come across rich and very filthy rich Melbournians on a daily basis.
I only have this to say - materialism crosses ethnic and racial barriers. You will find materialistic women from all walks of life, from all races, and from all social classes and needless to say, from all nationalities. I will not say that Melbournian women are less materialistic than Singapore women, because that's an idiotic generalisation.
Nationality does not define a person totally. To stoop to categorising (and condemning) entire nation of women is sheer and utter prejudice.
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:
The individual takes the consequences for their own choices. Why let the rest of the population bear the blame with unfair generalisations?
Perhaps TS had been rejected by some rich Singapore gals when he courted them? Hence the unfair generalisations?
Originally posted by Melbournite:yes there are money minded women around the world...And its also the reason why men work hard to earn money too....
My point is in Age old days, this works and now that women have been granted gender equality, its time to move forward ..But in Singapore, its still backwards..thats my point
I rather miss your point as my experience does not agreed with you.
Congrats on your newfound happiness
I am living in Melbourne now..think a break from Singapore. The ang mohs aren't as rich as you all think they are. However, majority of them are still better off
Originally posted by dangerboi:I am living in Melbourne now..think a break from Singapore. The ang mohs aren't as rich as you all think they are. However, majority of them are still better off
look at those house which a 2 storeys costin 700K in Melbourne..not rich? think again..
Originally posted by Melbournite:look at those house which a 2 storeys costin 700K in Melbourne..not rich? think again..
Own a 2-storey house worth 700K means you are rich? Is the house mortgaged? What's your definition of rich?
worth $700k now, but could have paid little years ago. my cousin lived in the western part of melbourne. paid a little over $300k for her place. now, worth more than 2x of what she paid for.
anyway, the truely rich mostly do not flaunt their wealth.
Originally posted by Melbournite:look at those house which a 2 storeys costin 700K in Melbourne..not rich? think again..
owning properties costing $700K means rich people? ah, now that we know your definition of rich, it makes things easier for us to comprehend. at your definition, soon singapore is full of rich people too! At least those boon keng hdb dwellers will be! cos their HDB flats cost > $700k too!
Perhaps you are really average joe (or pehaps below-average joe?), never seen such money in your life eh? read the newspapers then. Such 'rich' people are everywhere!