Originally posted by Prophecy_Master:u can afford to fail english but not maths.
this is how important maths is.
i think u really need to retake your o level maths, find a full time job meanwhile. honestly, 1 year isn't a very big difference in the working world.
or u can go ns and take the while serving ns. but be warn without the papers going ns is really tough. u will most likely tio all the sai kang.
wat is sai kang??
Brother.. i advised u if u don wanna go army first, then go ite and at the same time retake o level maths. ITE can defer your NS.
If u really dunno wat to do, go NS first.
Originally posted by felirox:wat is sai kang??
Sai Kang
Sai - Shit
Kang - Work.
Meaning all those shit work which no one would volunteer themselves to do...
hey don't go to an arts school unless you're really interested in arts or design. have you taken dnt or art for your O's and how do you think of a project-based education?
my advise is find a course you have passion in and aim to ultimately graduate in tht course with a degree no matter how long it takes.
say if you got into a course in poly or in the few govt art schools that you dont like, you would drop out anyway.
that said, the entrance test at NAFA or Laselle shouldnt be a problem if you've taken DNT or Art, Temasek Design School might be abit strict during their interviews cause they want people with the real potential to succeed. prepare a portfolio though.
dun go to NAFA for the sake of "getting into a school like your friends" unless you really have a flair for the Arts or really interested in the Arts. By doing so, you may deprive others of the same situation as your only that they ARE really interested in the Arts and you may end up doing bad if u arent interested in it.
You mentioned your "dream" is to go Poly..Then, why havent you work towards it? U flunked ur Maths and seriously, u can't expect a golden ticket to a poly, can u? Settle for ITE education first and wipe out the stigma of ITE because reality is, you arent eligible for poly education just yet.
it's not just bout gettin into poly
it's more of, what course you have in mind?
what you want to do?
would you be able to answer these qns?
why i asked that.. why?
sebosebo and master have explained
L1R4 = 14 not big deal leh....my fren L1R4=14 also kana rejected quite a number of courses. Somehow I feel the COP for poly courses(biz, masscomm, science) gets higher(lesser points) already.
Originally posted by Y_Shun:L1R4 = 14 not big deal leh....my fren L1R4=14 also kana rejected quite a number of courses. Somehow I feel the COP for poly courses(biz, masscomm, science) gets higher(lesser points) already.
it doesn't just go by L1R4 or watever.. it also go based on your Maths, Science grades...
as for selection, sometimes you got to re-think into placing those 'not so popular' courses these days like engineering...
his maths/science gets 3(or lesser) though.
he went for the early childhood(15 COP), got rejected...hmm o.o
then he gt posted into IT, then appealed and went into an engineering course.
Originally posted by Y_Shun:his maths/science gets 3(or lesser) though.
he went for the early childhood(15 COP), got rejected...hmm o.o
then he gt posted into IT, then appealed and went into an engineering course.
Could well be ppl w/ better Maths grade happened to be snatching for e course... the cut of pt is not really a good indicator cos it takes based on 3 relavant subjects & 2 best subject... they look at your relavant 1st
Originally posted by wenyong90:Hey guys, i've been very down since recieving my O level result in feb.
My results are not "that" bad, but it's just that i failed my maths.
L1R4 - 21points
MT - b3
Eng - b4
C.Humans - b3
Art - b3
E Maths - E8
Upon rcieving the slip(form A) for the courses which im eligiable for, i can only spot one poly course. N78(digital visual effects) of Ngee Ann Poly. I tried to enroll into the course, but sadly im being rejected.
So i tried DAE for RP and NYP. Sadly, both schs rejected me too.
At the same time, i'm already applying for NAFA as a back up.
Some of my friends who failed their maths, and even having a COP higer then me gets a course by RP's DAE. So im quite confuss why didnt i get a course.
I did work hard for my maths paper (since mid year last year), but i still cant managed a pass.
Do you guys think by going down dirrectly to RP to appeal will do any help?
I seriously wanna get into a poly as it's been my dream. Now everything seems shattered in my life. I cant imagine when april 14, all my friends will be attenting sch, and i'll be alone at home doing nothing.
Please advised me what i should really do.
Im serioisly not thinking of retaking as im a ex sec 5 student, already wasted enough time, and i seriously thinks that i dont deserved to retake as my results are not bad(just that my maths), and i worked so hard during the o levels. So dont advised me on that.
Please help me.
Higher nitec lor or NS first then see how it goes?
Originally posted by wenyong90:Hey guys, i've been very down since recieving my O level result in feb.
My results are not "that" bad, but it's just that i failed my maths.
L1R4 - 21points
MT - b3
Eng - b4
C.Humans - b3
Art - b3
E Maths - E8
Upon rcieving the slip(form A) for the courses which im eligiable for, i can only spot one poly course. N78(digital visual effects) of Ngee Ann Poly. I tried to enroll into the course, but sadly im being rejected.
So i tried DAE for RP and NYP. Sadly, both schs rejected me too.
At the same time, i'm already applying for NAFA as a back up.
Some of my friends who failed their maths, and even having a COP higer then me gets a course by RP's DAE. So im quite confuss why didnt i get a course.
I did work hard for my maths paper (since mid year last year), but i still cant managed a pass.
Do you guys think by going down dirrectly to RP to appeal will do any help?
I seriously wanna get into a poly as it's been my dream. Now everything seems shattered in my life. I cant imagine when april 14, all my friends will be attenting sch, and i'll be alone at home doing nothing.
Please advised me what i should really do.
Im serioisly not thinking of retaking as im a ex sec 5 student, already wasted enough time, and i seriously thinks that i dont deserved to retake as my results are not bad(just that my maths), and i worked so hard during the o levels. So dont advised me on that.
Please help me.
Hey bro,
If you seriously don't think of retaking your O maths, then there's really nothing much you can do in pursuing your dreams. The rules are like that, either you meet it or you have alternate plans.
Like one of the forummers had said, don't go into arts school if you have no interest in it. It's not easy as everyone think it is.
My bro failed his O English, he chose to go ITE and retook his O English. Anyway, he couldn't make it, complete ITE in good grades, go to army, go to poly, just finish his part time degree with NUS.
Or you may want to go to NS while retaking your O maths. But I don't advise that, as another forummer correctly pointed out, with only O levels, most of the things you are going to be assigned would be sai kang. But then that depends on what you want to achieve in NS as well.
Sometimes, there are just people need to walk a bit longer route to achieve in life. It's all about perseverence.
Even if you want to go to the poly, go there do what? It seems like you want to go poly, but have no idea what course you want to take. I was like that, I went in, failed my engineering maths, and got retained for a year. Also quite a waste of time. Think through carefully in what you want to do. Meantime, you can consider taking up some temp job so you won't feel that you have 'nothing to do'.
Good luck.
think u should go for Higher Nitec..
mi oso no poly wan's mi..
my GPA is 3.78.. and i cannot get into poly too..
serve ns, work and re-take maths
if pass, enroll full-time poly else consider part-time diploma courses.
note: with sufficient working years of experience, you may be able to enroll in degree courses (related to your job)
good luck.
oh my gosh....not even a single of u notice that he doesnt have science..and all of u advised him to retake maths maths maths.
hey TS,dont u know that even if u get 14 points or lower u cant even enter technical or health based diploma?u dont even have science!
english maths science is the core subject everyone...where the hell is ur science?
no wonder u got only one course
again...WHERE IS UR SCIENCE?
I understand how you feel. I scored 15 points. Everything got B3 except maths. I got D7. So When i applied for the JAE i got into no school. I was very sad. I cannot understand why the media courses need maths grades. I don't think they do algebra and all that for tose courses. If simple calculations i'm sure i can do it. But anyway i got into RP. DAE. Rp accepts a D7 but not an E8 i think. But why do you want to go to RP? Just retake i'm sure you'll pass. Even when i got into RP I think we still need to retake and i manage to scrape a C6 for maths.
Sorry to hear that man. You can try going in army first or retaking?
I would personally choose retaking.. however i have a friend who failed maths, and ended in MI. u can try it too
go ite.An E8 won get u anywhere in poly+retake ur maths
den next yr if u pass ur maths,den try applying for a poly place
My fren L1B4 get 16 den e maths D7 oso cant go any poly..wat u tink?
Go nursing at NP.
Best chioce . Still got free PDA for u. If u get into np nursing
Hey man,
I failed my e-maths like you, E8. Only ITEs open arms to me.
I rejoined my secondary school to retake my 'O' levels papers (noted papers = every single farking subjects).
Got 28 points,Sad to say, fail e-maths again only by one grade D7 if not can go nursing or engineering in polytechnics liao. What to do?
Chose to serve NS first so now retaking my E-Maths.
All the best for you if you choose the same path as me.
Originally posted by Karma88:Go nursing at NP.
Best chioce . Still got free PDA for u. If u get into np nursing
Hello, he failed his maths......
Originally posted by PanicHasBeenHushed:I understand how you feel. I scored 15 points. Everything got B3 except maths. I got D7. So When i applied for the JAE i got into no school. I was very sad. I cannot understand why the media courses need maths grades. I don't think they do algebra and all that for tose courses. If simple calculations i'm sure i can do it. But anyway i got into RP. DAE. Rp accepts a D7 but not an E8 i think. But why do you want to go to RP? Just retake i'm sure you'll pass. Even when i got into RP I think we still need to retake and i manage to scrape a C6 for maths.
That time I apply with a grade of D7, RP say got too much people liao....sian.
try to at least get c6 for ur nxt retake as a private candidate
alo ppl....maths maths maths....where's his science la dey?no science but maths only oso no use,bo pian...SCIENCE OI
i hate people like you talking.
you said its your dream to enter the poly, yet in the first place you don't want to work hard.
21 pts and its not that bad? Pls...don't kid me. WAKE UP ITS 21 PTS.
And the courses you appealed for, do you know why you can't get in? Because its not L1R4, its L1R2B2, Language(english) Related 2 and Best 2, the courses you chosen for DAE probably fail the category.
If you are trying to say that I'm not giving you any advise, then just flame me. I believed that one has to work hard for what he or she wants.
Try your best to see if you can get private O, because SAF will defer your NS by a year for you to retake if i'm not wrong. You have to work now from now. Its your life, be serious about it.
He is only 16 ma...
how would he know 16yo is the turning point in his life?
your results are actually quite bad. if its 21 for r5 then its better