Originally posted by kenshin_himura:"Im a girl who is overweight since young. I am now 19. It is not that I couldn't be bothered to lose some weight. I have tried various ways of losing weight. From chinese accupuncture, popping pills, even going to a slimming centre. My weight just bounces back no mather how hard i control my diet or lifestyle."
Basically, the methods u adopt to lose those flabs are totally wrong. First and foremost, you must drill this in you head that only through exercising can you lose weight. Popping pills is detrimental to you health and slimming centres are bullshit. Seriously, pick up a sport or at least skip at home.
"I think I have low metabolism rate, because I do not usually eat alot, most of the times, even lesser than most of my 'skinny' friends."
Ok most people think that eating less = losing weight. Well this isn't totally true. By eating less, u are depriving you body of nutrients, hence it will enter a somewhat " starving/ survival" mode. Eat at least 5-6 small meals. Consuming food triggers digestion which require calories. By eating more frequent but smaller portions, you continously supply ur body with nutrients which forces ur body to digest and break down the food, hence raises your metabolism. Drink more water, keeps u hydrated and it aids in fat burning. Do not take meal replacements such as cambridge diet etc. Eat normally. Cut down on your carbs intake. Do not stop, but slowly cut down to 1/2 your original portion and subsequently 1/4. Do not take carbs at during dinner, unless u r gonna exercise.
Seriously if you want to change, you have to break this vicious cycle.i am fat=> i have no friends=> i glue myself to the monitor and keep myself occupied with gaming=> still not exercising=> becomes fatStart exercising and monitor you food intake. Write a food bible= write down everything that goes into ur mouth, even water.You can do resistance/ weight training. And no excuses that i will become bulky and less feminine. Women can't hypertroph coz they dun have testosterones. Weight training is more effective than jogging as ur muscles continue to burn calories uptill 2 days after the activity.(correct my if i am wrong).Comebine HIIT & light weight training and you will achieve your desired results. Exercise at least 3 times a week."At home, often, my parents would shoot hurtful remarks such as 'Your so fat' to me. Enduring what have already happened in school in the day, I was still exposed to this hurtful words they say to me, although its maybe because they are worried for my health hazards. I was still feeling very down."
Take those hurtful remarks as motivation to spur urself to lose those stubborn fat. Prove them wrong rather than "accept ur fate".
BTW i was 120kg and i manage to lose 40kg in my BMT. Now i am into strength training.
Well i wish u all the best in ur quest to be who you want to be. Be in control rather than be controlled. All u need is discipline, discipline and DISCIPLINE. The journey ahead will be tough but once u have succeeded, you will never regret it.
No offense but kenshin has the most accuate reply.
Jogging be it 30mins /40mins/50 mins or wadever is ineffective and it takes up alot of yr time.
Do hign intensity interval training-sprint for 30 sec jog then slowly for 1 min ,repeat this interval for about 20 mins best in the morn. Do light weight training.
Watch yr diet eat 5-6 small meals a day with breakfast after cardio being the most important. Eat clean food. Cut out bad carbohydate sources such as white rice, flour, noodles. Consume good carbohydates such as oatmeals, whole grain/wheat products such as Weetbix bars and brown rice. Consume protein rich food such as fish, eggs, lean meat. U have to get use to the bland taste though.
Do you tend to eat alot when you are depressed? Some people eat to get rid of pain.
U can try the atkin diet: By reducing carbo intake, avoiding oily and sugary stuffs, eat more fibre ( veggie, fruits) and protein. However, don't ever eliminate carbo totally as carbo is needed for bodily function. If you find it tough to adjust to this diet, do it gradually. It is alright to indulgence in sinful stuffs but do it moderately. Btw, i don't recommend go on a long term low carb diet.
Most importantly, count your calories intake. An average Asian woman only requires 1500 calories. Don't exceed it will be fine.
Other than doing cardio exercise, you need to tone up. Weight-lifing and those basic home crunches/pilates helps to shape the body. Basically you need muscles to burn fat. With more muscle, you tend burn faster with the calores. Yes. I have heard of eating small 6 meals to boast metabolism thoroughout the day. So does drinking cold water.
I have heard from somewhere: A good diet and exercise plan is a plan that can be incorporated into your daily life. I think it is kind of true. Make exercise a good habit to begin with, that can fit into your lifestyle.
I think it is important to learn to accept yourself as who you are, regardless of sizes, shapes and whatever other people have thought of you. You are already completed and beautiful in your own right. Most importantly is how you see yourself and what values can you bring to this society, to the people around you.
Sometime, i don't recommend people to conform the society's standard of conventional beauty. If everyone looks the same, it will be tad boring. Everyone is already unique in their own way and there unique traits makes them outstanding from the rest. Exterior beauty fades but inner beauty is more lasting and endearing. I do have friends who are bak bak BUT thay have boyfriends.They know how to laugh at themselves and not taking other people's comments seriously.
no point giving her all these slimming methods.. she doesn't have the discipline and determination to go through them.
EFFORT!!
stop whining about your weight predicament in this chatroom because it will never go away with the type of lazybum attitude you have.. so wake up!!!!!!!!! ![]()
Erm... slimming by means of pills will actually cost you more when you stop the medication. Cos you will become more... when the medication stop...
Anyway, just be happy for who you are...
To bubblygirl;
I read your post and I took a little time to think about it. I think that firstly the problem lies in your attitude towards your physical looks and life. You might not noticed it but they are interlinked, and right now your low self esteem caused by your perception of your physical attractiveness is affecting the way you live your life. I once had a friend, she was really overweight, peharps even 100kg, didn't really know the exact weight, but she was not just bah-bah, she was severly overweight, but the thing is she was really charming to be with you see. So I don't think just because you are fat means that you are denied a social life. To be honest I'm quite a good looking guy, and I can tell you that among the pretty ladies that I've met out there, many of them are quite shallow. Beyond their physical attractiveness is nothing but a shrivelled shell, some are pampered, some are rebellious, and the 1 thing that I notice between pretty girls and ugly girls is that ugly girls self evaluate and they think of ways to change themselves into a better and more attractive person. Pretty girls just think they can get their way around with boys and sometimes, they are so headstrong that they don't see where the problem lies on themselves. I won't do theis sort of thing most of the time, but after reading your post I felt that going the extra mile just once won't kill me. I sincerely hope you can regain your self confidence and your physical attractiveness, you should start by exercising and keeping your body in tip top condition after that, for to look good first you must feel good. You will be a charming lady in the future, because of your willingness to change.
Hey bubbly, i admire your motivation really. I am not the type who will do exercises. Though I do munch food quite a lot, I can say its not healthy. I started taking an organic product which was recommended to me. I lost 5kgs within 2weeks. It clears excess fats as well as toxins from our bodies. I still do have a long way to go. I need to lose at least 30kgs to look better and confident. I am happy with all the support around me. I am positive I can achieve my ideal weight soon. Let me know if you need help.
i don't understand......who cares if you're fat?
as long as you're happy, can liao mah!
and what's wrong with staying at home and playing computer games? i think that's special, considering that most of the girls in SG do nothing but to hang around in bugis so much that they can tell you how many tiles are there in bugis area's floor. KNS.
true confidence and esteem does not require you to be slim. there's so many pretty and slim chicks and XMM in SG and they still behave in such an insecure manner.
you should read some self-help books, get to know people (even a few would do), and do some exercise.
the exercise should be for losing weight and being healthy, not really to give you confidence.
because in later years, obesity will give you health problems.
anyway, how old are you? when you go out to work in future, people won't really care that much about your looks....i see office everywhere got so many ugly people, who cares? in working world, the only thing you need is sincerity towards others.
the rest will take care of themselves.
in school (poly etc.), people tend to group themselves into cliques and criticse and make fun of fat people.....actually, they don't really mean it, but a lot of them are doing it to show off to their friends, boost their own self esteem, or to get "accepted" by others......
do you seriously think real friends will judge you for your looks? if they do, then fark them!!!! these are not your friends.
having no friends is no big-deal either.
a lot of people in these forums are friendless as well.
the ultimate peak of attainment and achievement is when you can actually carry yourself well and live life happily even if nobody friends you.
if you can do that, you've conquered everything.
you should make a plan (write in notebook) on how to improve yourself and where you wanna see yourself 5 years down the road.
anyway, most important is still character lah......
i'm a good looking guy (although very petite and skinny), and if got 2 girls whom i have to choose to be my friend, and one is a hot chick with rotten character and the other is a fat chick with an angel's heart, i would definitely choose the fat chick to be my friend.
looks is not as important as you think it is......it's important to you cos' u lack self-esteem.
girls with looks are good for farking, though.
u seriously want to be in that category?
*PS*: what you should do now is to wait for Ninja Gaiden 2 to be release in June 08, then you buy the game and we play together. it's a very fun game to vent your frustration also....but must have xBox 360.
Originally posted by angeltop:Hey bubbly, i admire your motivation really. I am not the type who will do exercises. Though I do munch food quite a lot, I can say its not healthy. I started taking an organic product which was recommended to me. I lost 5kgs within 2weeks. It clears excess fats as well as toxins from our bodies. I still do have a long way to go. I need to lose at least 30kgs to look better and confident. I am happy with all the support around me. I am positive I can achieve my ideal weight soon. Let me know if you need help.
The healthy rate of losing weight is actually 1 to 3 kg per week.
Bubblygal,
Ur senerio is EXACTLY the same as i faced years ago in my sec sch. Frm getting teased by all guys (& gals too) in class for being fat to having low self esteem.
Tat was like.. ..15yrs ago? & rite now Im stil consider fat.
Im not someone who has strong will or determination to do something (tats y im still fat!
haha) The onli thing tat has changed is my self esteem. No doubt i am fat, im beginin to look at it in another perspective. Teases from pple still exist, but i choose to let those silly, childish remarks go pass me (hey~tats wat havin 2 ears r for!). Y let those pple decide whether u look good or not? Look ard, there are so many overweight gals outside (im sure u r not the heaviest in the world) who look jus as beautiful as the skinny ones, dun u think so? Y cant u b like them? Beauty comes from within. E.g Confidence.
Of cos, Im NOT TELLING u not to lose weight. Losing weights is to let u feel better abt urself + lookin better. It is a must. But u hav to enjoy doin wat u do b4 u can see results.
Never ever go into fast slimmin, it has been proven not to be the best option.
Slimming centres may b effective, but costly.
Pills nvr help.
Perhaps u can join some classes like yoga (for starters who wish to start exercising), cardiomix, kickboxing. Those r fun & effective, best for someone like me, with no determinations for "hardcore" & boring exercises like running. ![]()
Metabolism rate can be changed. So dun let "havin low metabolism rate" brings u down.
Best of Luck!! ![]()
http://video.msn.com/?mkt=en-sg&vid=c628c71f-d8cf-4458-9289-b66d93587e26&tab=s1193923783343
Click onto how to lose weight fast video link.
If you can't find the vidz link, look under the search engine on " how to lose weight fast." It contains some basic tips about weight loss.
Good Luck!
A bubblygirl should not be having an inferiority complex. Darlin~ it's the belief in yourself that is causing you the problem. Change your mindset and belief then work on it physically.
You can do it! Just don't try too hard and get yourself injured or something. Looking forward to seeing a post of your change in the future. Be it mentally or physically. Good luck!
Go and sign on the army ..
garentee plus chop u slim down then using slim ten or extreme x
Aww. those people who bully you in school were losers. They have to pick on you to make themselves feel better... Maybe it's not a "weight" issue with you. It seems more of a mental issue. There are heaps of happy plump people!! (: think positive! happiness is an attitude!
Try to find friends who love you for who you are and not what you look like. Make friends with other friendly girls in your class? Start with a simple "hey, what's up?" or "hi, i'm (inserts name), how's it going?" something friendly and open!
To lose weight, try joining your school's track and field team. Seriously. it works wonders. Good exercise and helps you lose weight too! I don't believe that if you exercise/control diet cannot lost weight. Oh and most of the time, those slimming centres don't work for long, that's cause they want you to carry on using their treatment so they can make $$.
Takecare and all the best ya!! (:
I know u just ate a packet of potato chips ..
Dun deny ! ![]()
i think extrim reli works.....i lost 8 lbs in 2 monthss....but its reli expensive.......or u can buy it from the link below for cheaper prices.....my frds n i do..
http://hk.geocities.com/keepfitangel