Good day all!
First time podding here, so am still a greenhorn at this interface. Would like the mass majority's advice on a dilemma I've been facing recently.
I'm currently 20 years old, and am serving my NS tenure in the Air Force. I have completed my General BBA from University of South Australia (without honors / specialisation), and I am now about 12 months away from graduating from my two other courses I'm taking concurrently - Master in Business Administration in International Human Resource Management (University of Wales, Cardiff) and Master in Social Science, Counselling (University of South Australia).
I am interested in pursuing a career in the HR sector, irregard of the industry. It has been my long dream to manage human relations, training, motivation and overall management of staff development. It is such, that's why I chose a Counselling degree to develop secondary skills to better aid my primary HR purpose. I do understand that MBAs do not command somewhat a higher salary, but I just need a rough idea of what to expect.
While I am young, I am somewhat extremely mature with regards to industry-specific HR practices. I am also willing to start at a low level, and proceed up towards a senior management position. Lastly, I intend to continue with my Doctorate come January 2010 as I've been probationally accepted into Southern Cross University.
I understand many will criticize the lack of formal experience to justify my degrees' worth, but in my opinion, my parents are old, and now that I'm young and blessed with ample finances and time, I might as well complete what I can, and hopefully let time nurture me into a successful individual.
Back to the topic, what would any kind and knowledgeable podders here recommend I request in terms of salary upon completion of both Masters' (and by then, I'd be doing my PhD part-time), taking into account I lack formal relevant experience? I intend to reflect on the figures provided so I can better prepare myself for upcoming interviews, and also, be optimistic about the situation. Any positive reinforced comments appreciated, but I'd like to graciously request for no form of flaming remark/s. On a last note, I have been probationally offered a teaching career part-time at a private school upon my completion of my Masters and with 1 year relevant experience @ $100 an hour. This, however, is a secondary appointment I would intend to take up, but I could use a stable salary working in the day. Thank you!
Warmest regards,
Ralphie!
I thought podders refer to ppl from flowerpod?
ok firstly u need to tell us what is ur salary expectation first.
Originally posted by Miss Tiny:I thought podders refer to ppl from flowerpod?
ya lor
damn funny when I read that line
On a last note, I have been probationally offered a teaching career part-time at a private school upon my completion of my Masters and with 1 year relevant experience @ $100 an hour. This, however, is a secondary appointment I would intend to take up, but I could use a stable salary working in the day.
I also want to teach at near $100 an hour
Can share lobang a not? I want to teach physics, O and A levels :(
Originally posted by eagle:I also want to teach at near $100 an hour
Can share lobang a not? I want to teach physics, O and A levels :(
yo, i also want leh, i can teach pychology for about $100++ an hours, any chances or not??
Sorry folks - I also posted in flowerpod, and i always thought frequent members of forums are typically known as podders. I guess I am a greenhorn, as I mentioned. Anyways, the lecturing lobang is at MDIS, and if with 1 year experience, with minimum an MBA, its $100 an hour for the degree-level course tutoring. To teach a Masters' program, the salary I heard its about $150 -$180 an hour, but you have to be either an experienced MBA grad / veteran, or a PhD or DBA holder.
I am expecting $5000 (on the assumption that top median SMU fresh grads earn that same amount). My qualifications may not carry as much recognition as an SMU BBA, but as mediocre as it seems, I hope my double Masters make up some minimal value. There are no "market rates" out there for my perusal based on my weird academic pathway, so I'm hoping some of you guys out there with experience can advice further.
Cheers all.
About a decade ago, I worked in Human Resources in a large American MNC and I was tasked with screening applications received for positions that we advertised for.
I guess it depends on what kind of position you are going for. There will be Grades and salary scales attached to different positions, and with that come different expectations. Salary does "commensurate with experience and qualifications", the common line you see in most job vacancy ads.
Whilst you may be extremely well qualified on the academic front, you have to admit that your experience is lacking. As such, it might be a tad difficult to convince your potential employers to place you in a senior post. From the organisation's point of view, you have not been 'tried and tested' before, and might not have the skills set that they are seeking.
I guess if you approach interviews with a keen attitude to learn and you are open to the idea of accepting a non-supervisory, non-managerial role, you can negotiate a deal for yourself whereby you have probationary periods with expected advancements in specified time frames.
Finding the right job fit, and of course, the right salary range, can be a tough process. Often, one might have to 'suffer' during one's first few years of one's career, bearing in mind that gaining experience is priceless. If you know the direction that you're heading towards, try to think about gaining relevant experience that will beef up your resume for the next job, or think long-term and plot your gradual rise in the same organisation.
Sorry I can't give you a salary range. It really IS dependant on the job scope, the job grade, and your experience and qualifications.
hmm y dun u stick to the 100/hr thingy, and ask the ppl whom u may come across? like colleagues or something?
ask here like abit stabbing in the dark.. haha..
Thanks Rhonda for the advice. Will bear that in mind definitely. I guess its all about the job market, job scope and the industry. But to simply put, being a greenhorn and going for an interview - if I were to expect $4000-$5000, is it ridiculous in the first place? I mean, I don't mind taking a cut from that amount, but I wouldn't know the budget capacity for that organisation see? And if I request lower, I feel it can be compromised, but if I can get the best bang, I don't see why not. But in any case, though you cannot really advice on a salary range, assuming I just enter a typical executive job for a start in an MNC, what would be the most decent, not condescending amount to request? Maybe something feasible and optimistic perhaps?
True lar purpledragon, but the teaching thing only applies to me once I have minimum 8 months experience. I am thinking of doing that on the side, but I still need to have a primary job that I can look forward to in the day.
Thanks all!
i have rejected ppl with the same background as u when they applied for junior level job in my company....5K?? yen ar?
Originally posted by Ralphiejunior:Thanks Rhonda for the advice. Will bear that in mind definitely. I guess its all about the job market, job scope and the industry. But to simply put, being a greenhorn and going for an interview - if I were to expect $4000-$5000, is it ridiculous in the first place? I mean, I don't mind taking a cut from that amount, but I wouldn't know the budget capacity for that organisation see? And if I request lower, I feel it can be compromised, but if I can get the best bang, I don't see why not. But in any case, though you cannot really advice on a salary range, assuming I just enter a typical executive job for a start in an MNC, what would be the most decent, not condescending amount to request? Maybe something feasible and optimistic perhaps?
True lar purpledragon, but the teaching thing only applies to me once I have minimum 8 months experience. I am thinking of doing that on the side, but I still need to have a primary job that I can look forward to in the day.
Thanks all!
My ex-bosses and I definitely will not pay S$4-5K for someone with no substantial experience.
Don't think that you're selling yourself short. Just think that the lower than expected salary you'll be drawing for the initial period is a trade-in for precious experience that you will be able to use to beef up your resume for the future.
Organisations are interested in hiring people who are the right fit for the job. And HR personnel aren't myopic - we are astute enough to know that being well-qualified in no way guarantees that a person will be the right fit for the job.
Experience can never be replaced and the more specialised the field and/or the more senior the post, the more priceless experience is. There are people who are exam-smart, but who fail terribly when they are put in leadership positions.
Simply put, with zero experience, you do have to think more about seeking positions that will offer you tremendous learning opportunities and good exposure to a wide range of HR jobs. In my previous organisations, I was pleased that the Human Resources Dept had several sub-divisions - HR Administration (encompassing expatriate administration); Compensation and Benefits (aka Payroll); Industrial Relations (aka dealing with Unions) and work-related accidents; HR Devt (aka Training and Devt); and hmm... I seem to have missed out a sub-division, but I can't recall it now.
And I sought opportunities to be rotated through all the sub-divisions because I wanted to be all-rounded.
A more realistic ball-park figure would be what a fresh Uni grad might command. Right now, you should focus on acquiring as much experience as you can and welcome the opportunity to work in firms that will offer good opportunities to you. Never mind the salary... after getting the experience, that, combined with your qualifications, will open doors for you.
And oh, a word of advice, do try to downplay your double Masters when you eventually get employed because you want to get accepted by your team, and not invite bitchy remarks about being over-qualified, which, trust me, will and do happen. Just quietly prove your mettle and the time will come for you to reap the benefits of your calculated patience.
no offence TS, but the university u graduated from Uni of South Aust isnt that reputable for academic excellence and research. furthermore, taking into consideration your young age and about to complete your MBA from Uni of Wales Cardiff plus zero working experience puts you at a disadvantage. ![]()
no experience yet u expect 5k? u wait long long la. be realistic abit can? dun think u got so high education big fark
Originally posted by playboy_1985:no experience yet u expect 5k? u wait long long la. be realistic abit can? dun think u got so high education big fark
relax ar lol
I was mulling over your situation, and I thought of one more perspective... that of not biting off more than one can chew.
Over the donkey years, I've seen people being promoted. You start to realise a few things through sheer observation :
- Those who are promoted, will not gain respect (and definitely not quick and willing cooperation) from their subordinates if they do not have a proven track record, and if they do not have immaculate managerial skills and the depth of experience;
- Those who are promoted way before they are actually ready to shoulder the responsibility, will not have a firm foundation, and their working life might become extremely stressful because they are simply not up to the challenge yet, ie. promoted before their time;
- Those who do get promoted because they are good in their job and have the necessary exposure, experience, and a proven track record, will realise that upon promotion, it will be easier to gain the respect and cooperation of not only your peers, but definitely from your subordinates. Bitching from jealous colleagues aside, no one can fault you on your promotion simply because you have been doing a good job and have gained everyone's respect and even won over your sceptics with your attitude and such.
Bearing all these in mind, wouldn't you rather belong to the latter group? However, to get there takes lots of blood, sweat and tears. Be ready for plenty of hard work to get there! ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:I was mulling over your situation, and I thought of one more perspective... that of not biting off more than one can chew.
Over the donkey years, I've seen people being promoted. You start to realise a few things through sheer observation :
- Those who are promoted, will not gain respect (and definitely not quick and willing cooperation) from their subordinates if they do not have a proven track record, and if they do not have immaculate managerial skills and the depth of experience;
- Those who are promoted way before they are actually ready to shoulder the responsibility, will not have a firm foundation, and their working life might become extremely stressful because they are simply not up to the challenge yet, ie. promoted before their time;
- Those who do get promoted because they are good in their job and have the necessary exposure, experience, and a proven track record, will realise that upon promotion, it will be easier to gain the respect and cooperation of not only your peers, but definitely from your subordinates. Bitching from jealous colleagues aside, no one can fault you on your promotion simply because you have been doing a good job and have gained everyone's respect and even won over your sceptics with your attitude and such.
Bearing all these in mind, wouldn't you rather belong to the latter group? However, to get there takes lots of blood, sweat and tears. Be ready for plenty of hard work to get there!
200% correct
Thanks for the kind words from everyone. I'm not especially pleased with playboy's remarks, but hey, if he chooses to be immature, no one can stop him. In the first place, if I knew what to expect, I wouldn't be posting in the first place right? This thread is meant to be a cordial discussion, not an ego booster.
I'll be mindful of what has been said. With regards to my university status - well, I do understand it is no way comparable as SMU/NTU/NUS, but my intention for it is just for entering my job. Other than that, I hope my experience will prevail.
In any case, I'll be sincere and humble in my new workplace, make myself approachable.
In the meantime, I'll just diligently complete my studies, and hopefully, with a tad of pure luck and a conscious effort, I shall be in for a wild ride.
Lastly Rhonda - I agree with what you mentioned about downplaying the Masters and be patient. I intend to probably eliminate that from my portfolio to reduce unwanted attention. Since I'm already few years ahead academically, I'm more than ready to accumulate experience, and prepare for a management scope in the near future.
Thanks.