Originally posted by viciouskitty74:here's my story....
my baby brother, insisted on going to UK for tertiary degree.
my mother, sold off her flat to give the $$$ to brother to go UK.
she moved in with me and I put her as a co-owner of my 3rm hdb flat.
to date. the baby brother is working for almost 4 years as a it communication engineer and renting a home elsewhere.
he has not returned the money that the mother has provided for him and nether has he fullfilled his promises of the following:
1 "I will be able to take care of mother after I have completed tertiary studies."
2."I will buy a condo to house mother."
3. "mother will have nothng to want of you sisters because, I and only I with the degree can provide for mother and 'guang zhong yeow zu" meaning bring honour to our ancestors.
Todate his excuse for not providing for mother: "mom's name is in your flat so you have to be responsible for her till you dispose of your flat and mother becomes homeless."
Haiz... this kind of case too common liao....
Do care for ur mum regardless of whether ur brother fulfilled his promise a not. All in all, I think we as a child has the obligation to take care of ur parents provided they do care for u when u are young la.
Originally posted by lonestar86:i just feel that if one has no $$ to study, he/she shld work for $$ instead of taking loan from bank and study. If not, he/she will end up with huge debt..
But how long do you have to work to attain that amount of money?
I have calculated mine and it seems to take forever if i go to work to get that amount of $.... So nope for me, i gotta seek help from family (i dont take bank loan but seeking help from the family is about the same too)
Sometimes, taking loan/asking people for help is the way out.......
I dun think there is any problem taking loans from bank. Because you are using your own money to study. Not depending on others.
My sis plans to take loan from bank for her study of degree as well.
I am studying at unisim as well. There is this installment plan by citibank or ocbc credit card that has 0% interest, so I plan to try that one. If its very tedious paying monthly then I will loan from bank. No problem for me, just the loan will have interest 5. something %. Gotta depend on myself as well.
try changing it to 'loanstar86', maybe u'll feel better taking a loan then..
taking up loan is perfectly fine. As long as you pay back asap once you graduate..... if not, it will become one of your many loans.... housing, car, renovation... etc... then you will really feel the pressure.