okay now i trying my best and give myself 1 month time.. to get books from libary and such.. so if i am unable to do it.. then i will transfer to business...
Actually i quite like business although lots of ppl find it boring and dull..
i mean i love computers and such.. cos i am a person that like to thing non-logic. don't know why but my mind set is like that..
like kelvin said its like how i want a ball to bounce.. i will want to think how the ball curve.
Hi youyayu, for your info, I am also studying in MDIS IT course. Only thing is that I am completing my degree course in about 1 months time.
When I first join the course, there are about 20+ full time students, but at the end of my course, there are only 2 students graduating this term and I am one of them. The rest of the students either quit or was delayed because they failed several modules and need to remodule.
A degree in Information Technology is definitely not suitable for people who dosen't like to spend long hours in front of the computer writing code, testing, debugging e.t.c. You need a analytic,logical and very energetic mind to push your way through. For example: When you compile a source code and you see a few hundred reported errors, and you say to yourself: "Damn, I hate programming ", then you know Information Technology is seriously not suitable for you because you do not have the analytical mind to find out what went wrong or the mental energy to fix every single error one by one.
I have heard from my friend that a friend of his has failed in Diploma in IT, switched to Diploma in Business Management... failed again, then swtich back to Diploma in IT..... I have also seen people retaking an exam known as "Principle of Economics" 4 times... For the course in Mass Communication, you need to have very good English. For biotechnology, you need to know your chemistry and biology very well.... nothing is easy.
If at diploma level, you are already struggling to pass, at degree level, it will be hell for you. It dosent really matter if you are studying in SMU or NTU or whatever U, if you are not mentally prepared to go all the way, then you have to be prepared to fail all the way.
Originally posted by SoulDivine:Hi youyayu, for your info, I am also studying in MDIS IT course. Only thing is that I am completing my degree course in about 1 months time.
When I first join the course, there are about 20+ full time students, but at the end of my course, there are only 2 students graduating this term and I am one of them. The rest of the students either quit or was delayed because they failed several modules and need to remodule.
A degree in Information Technology is definitely not suitable for people who dosen't like to spend long hours in front of the computer writing code, testing, debugging e.t.c. You need a analytic,logical and very energetic mind to push your way through. For example: When you compile a source code and you see a few hundred reported errors, and you say to yourself: "Damn, I hate programming ", then you know Information Technology is seriously not suitable for you because you do not have the analytical mind to find out what went wrong or the mental energy to fix every single error one by one.
I have heard from my friend that a friend of his has failed in Diploma in IT, switched to Diploma in Business Management... failed again, then swtich back to Diploma in IT..... I have also seen people retaking an exam known as "Principle of Economics" 4 times... For the course in Mass Communication, you need to have very good English. For biotechnology, you need to know your chemistry and biology very well.... nothing is easy.
If at diploma level, you are already struggling to pass, at degree level, it will be hell for you. It dosent really matter if you are studying in SMU or NTU or whatever U, if you are not mentally prepared to go all the way, then you have to be prepared to fail all the way.
so high dropout rate ![]()
Hi, i studing in mdis too. and this is my second year in IT currently digital media.
and i agree that these school totally sucks, they promise everythign but they never give.
my advice go to informatic. MDIS SUCKS for life.
They even tell me to change my contract recently.. wtf..
I seriously hope youyayu to reconsider...
I used to have this thought. I don't hate the business modules, but I find it sometimes dry and hard to understand.
i had my exam.. its horrible.. i think i will failed for sure..
i don't plan to go into Degree for IT anyway.. i just wanted to get a diploma.. i doubt i can do so without remoudling porgramming.
I was kinda of fuck up.. when they told me at first i can just change course and refunding me the money i haven't use it to study..then they say i signed a student contract and said that i must obey the contract by complete the course.. so i was like WTF!!! but i haven't hand in the Student Contract does that still applies? Any lawyer here can help me identify?
Originally posted by EvolutionPIG:wannna try engineering course?? its not bad! i can introduce u courses..lol
i hate enginnering the most... no idea y i just don't like it >.>
no offence
btw Cumputer enginnering almost the same isit??
Originally posted by youyayu:okay now i trying my best and give myself 1 month time.. to get books from libary and such.. so if i am unable to do it.. then i will transfer to business...
i mean i love computers and such.. cos i am a person that like to thing non-logic. don't know why but my mind set is like that..
like kelvin said its like how i want a ball to bounce.. i will want to think how the ball curve.
In IT, you need to learn to have a logical mindset before you can think creativity. If you cant even complete simple programming assignments, you can say bye bye to complex games.
Its the same as you need to learn to bounce the ball well before you can go and curve it. Unless your ball is a bowling ball which cant bounce and can only curve.
Frankly, I think you haven't made up your mind on what you'd like to do for the rest of your life.
Originally posted by xavier1979:Frankly, I think you haven't made up your mind on what you'd like to do for the rest of your life.
you are damn right..
HEYHEYHEY!!!!
I finally created some programme!! after a great book recommaned by xiaomayi!! WOOTSS
Find your " Hidden Passion " youyayu, What do you like to do ? Have a positive mindset. You say die, you die. You say you can do it, You can do it. Its a matter of time.
And in IT, Don't think that in IT its only 1 thing - PRogramming.
IT is very wide. Why are there polytechnic giving Business IT, Enterprise IT, Business module in IT courses. Don't think 1 way.
Congratulations to you creating some programme =).
hey, i know liao!! maybe u never accomplish something during yr course. try something easy this will give you confidence just like what you did.. i believe that confidence is all you need. with little success, you will start to appreciate your course!! sorry if i am wrong..but i think i am rite ba.. :P
follow ur heart instead of ur mind; u need to be irrational sometimes in life ![]()
Originally posted by youyayu:i might want to transfer to a Business course cos almost every one in my family has an MBA..
these days getting an MBA not so hard what with so many School offer these program. Nothing to be stree about lah, if everyone has 1 from oxbridge, Yale, Thunderbird.. I might pee my pants if I am in your shoes.
Originally posted by youyayu:Last year.. i went to MDIS for IT Diploma course and it been really shit for me
i mean yes the lecturers are great and i have been attending class puntually and all.
but i just can't understand anything they said.. even with a private 1 on 1 with the teacher i still unable to understand.. its been 4 months now..
After 4 months of hell.. i realize is a big mistake to stick to the course i wanted most but i suck at it.. and i am sure that i have no talent in this at all
i might want to transfer to a Business course cos almost every one in my family has an MBA..what to do now? isit even possible to transfer to Business now?
[my IT course is 12 months]
anyone help me?
MBA is business course meh?
Originally posted by Lorry`:But then after switching to a Business course, is that what you really want?
And business is very broad, you know which one you wanna focus?
i might want to transfer to a Business course cos almost every one in my family has an MBA..
Dont do this if it's because of your family members....
What are your interests? You need to spend some time and think about it...................
Business/management course not necessary easy to understand, I just change my course too.
You can actually book an appointment with the receptionist to meet up with Mr. Siddiq, the IT product manager. He is also a lecturer in MDIS and will be able to access your difficulties and aptitude in the IT course that you have enrolled in.