Originally posted by donkhead333:
I don’t know. I just feel as though I’m in a mess.
Failing in school, no particular outstanding achievements.
Had changed so much since I was in primary school. Is that what growing up do to you? It just fucked my life up totally..Whatever that I used to do, I stopped doing them, and I kept to myself..
I don’t know what I want in life, what I want to be when I grow up, I just live everyday aimlessly, living on for tomorrow, enduring what everyday has got in store for me.
Recently got 0/30 for a math test. Like what the fuck? 0/30? I have always sucked at math, but getting a 0/30..was depressing I would say. And it was especially so when I though I would actually pass it.
Now in school, I am famous for getting 0/30. Getting 0/30 for math was near impossible, and that was what I thought when I heard that there were 2 other people who did so.
I have always tried to keep up, always trying to give a damn, always asking questions, always doing my best.
But when am I going to see the results of my hard work?
Any teens in the same shit that I am in? Feeling down? Feeling aimless and feeling like shit?
Worst still, I’m in a rather famous school in which students are known for their intelligence, even though not all of them go along with this idea.
I have expectations to live up to, both mine, and others. I have already tried very hard to achieve them, and yet, my standards for myself are dropping yearly while failing to meet them.
Life appears to be mundane to me now, all the shit that I do everyday that repeats itself drives me crazy…
I’m known to be rather hardworking and friendly amongst my friends, but I don’t do as well (academically) as compared to those who seem to not give a fuck..
Really don’t know what to do now..
wow chill dude. the thing is, you've got to be proud of who you are. when i was in jc i fucked up pretty bad too but hey, life is a self fulfilling prophecy and if you hold on to your pride and tell yourself that you'll pull through this it should be you wont end up too bad.. and when i say fucked up bad i dont mean JUST maths you know.. i mean fucked up like ALL my subjects were fucked.. and trust me, if you're talking about competitive studying environments.. hmm lets just say cannot compare to my jc eh :p
the thing is, if you tell yourself that you're screwed you'll end up screwed. if you tell yourself that you'll turn out successful you will turn out successful. and you're 15 goddammit. no one dares to say any 15 yr old is pathetic because you're no where near your prime..
seriously, just chill, and work hard.. sec schl life is all a training in time management so you should probably spend less time on forums like these too :p (ok dont slam me already) i just chanced upon this cos i am waiting for uni to start and i am eff-ing bored!! grrr..
Originally posted by viopurp:my secondary school at that time just started an Integrated Programme scheme when I was in sec 2 or 3 few years ago. At that time, since it had just started, we can choose to opt out of the programme and yea, I opted out.
hm, you happened to be in that school?
Were you from Dunman High?
hey man, there is still time to catch up.
i got either e8 or f9 for my math from sec 3 all the way to sec 4 prelim.
had to do a re-exam for math in the first term of sec 4 if not i have to go back to sec 3. and i barely scrapped through!
i remember clearly, on the day of my paper for o levels, my teacher still told me to not bother trying because i am bound to fail anyway. it was THAT BAD.
i got an A2 for my o level math. i didnt study like crazy or smth, i just concentrated more. and simple as it sounds, it helps.
Had changed so much since I was in primary school. Is that what growing up do to you? It just fucked my life up totally..Whatever that I used to do, I stopped doing them, and I kept to myself..
I don’t know what I want in life, what I want to be when I grow up, I just live everyday aimlessly, living on for tomorrow, enduring what everyday has got in store for me.
Recently got 0/30 for a math test. Like what the fuck? 0/30? I have always sucked at math, but getting a 0/30..was depressing I would say. And it was especially so when I though I would actually pass it.
Now in school, I am famous for getting 0/30. Getting 0/30 for math was near impossible, and that was what I thought when I heard that there were 2 other people who did so.
I have always tried to keep up, always trying to give a damn, always asking questions, always doing my best.
Any teens in the same shit that I am in? Feeling down? Feeling aimless and feeling like shit?
Worst still, I’m in a rather famous school in which students are known for their intelligence, even though not all of them go along with this idea.
I have expectations to live up to, both mine, and others. I have already tried very hard to achieve them, and yet, my standards for myself are dropping yearly while failing to meet them.
Life appears to be mundane to me now, all the shit that I do everyday that repeats itself drives me crazy…
I’m known to be rather hardworking and friendly amongst my friends, but I don’t do as well (academically) as compared to those who seem to not give a fuck..
dear donkhead ,i have my fair share of setback in life
i can help u in maths if u want :)
just pm me
Dude.
Maybe you studied the wrong way? Try asking teacher and ask them how can you get better grades... Since you are hardworking, I am sure you can do it.
There are seldom people who is hardworking nowadays... As people nowadays are just lazy and wanted the fast way out. People who are hardworking need are those with self-discipline. They know what they need to do.
Make use of your strength (hardworking, self-discipline) and continue to work hard.
15 this year eh? I suppose you are sec 3 no?
Don't worry just keep working hard. Endure you way through...
Live for a better life next time...
Take time finding what is your real aim in life...
What really can make you happy...
Cheers
Pika.
=.=
I am glad that u know getting 0/30 for test is kinda difficult.
Life is not all about good results but with no good results u cannot acquire important lifeskill.
Examples of important lifeskill: Investments (passive income which u do nothing and get paid), website design (lucrative part-time job) and so on.
THINK WHO U WANT TO BE 10 YEARS DOWN THE ROAD. U SAY CANNOT THEN U NEVER WILL.
Originally posted by SBS 9613Z:
Were you from Dunman High?
haha yea. you're from there too?
i can't do maths alone...
when i do it alone, i get stuck very easily unless its a really common question, somewhat like a chicken with it's head chopped off...but when im doing it with classmates who know how to solve a question, i can easily read through and understand his workings straightaway. if im unable to do so, it would only reflect that i do not understand the topic well enough to answer questions. but im able to understand leh...so i don't really know what is wrong ![]()
Originally posted by donkhead333:i can't do maths alone...
when i do it alone, i get stuck very easily unless its a really common question, somewhat like a chicken with it's head chopped off...but when im doing it with classmates who know how to solve a question, i can easily read through and understand his workings straightaway. if im unable to do so, it would only reflect that i do not understand the topic well enough to answer questions. but im able to understand leh...so i don't really know what is wrong
practice. there is no secret to aceing maths. just practice.. get other school papers, tys.. just keep practicing..
Same man.
Being in a school where everyone thinks is filled with smart people sucks.
And im gonna get kicked out if i dont do well cause there's no normal stream.
Recently got 9/40 for math. Wow how fantastic eh.
Wonder how i passed psle in the first place.
Nevermind if my studies suck, my whole life suck.
I totally understand man.
Especially hate it when you study so so hard and fail and yet people who dont study can ace that damn paper.
*Sayang sayang
Just a small thought: Achieving academically helps you socially.
Things would reveal themselves in good time.
Just make full use of what you have been endowed with at the moment.
Don't worry dude. Things will get better! It's just part of growing up. I was like that too a few years back. It will soon pass.
Hell, my maths is still a blemish on me till this day, and I'm still standing. But don't be like me; keep putting in effort, and you'll see the fruits of yoru labour eventually. At the very least, you'll be able to look back and say "I tried." Frankly, it's better to have tried and failed than to give up.
But moving beyond maths, I guess we all should try to go beyond living for your and others' expectations. If you try to compare yourself to others, there's always gonna be someone better than you. Better to go beyond that, and find your own purpose and meaning to work. I came across this quote: "The problem with the rat race is that even if you win, you're still a rat." Why limit yourself?
math questions pattern aga e same one leh..u do alot u see u noe..(everyday i see math questions poly attachment, attached to some related to maths de)
ur english like not bad leh..maybe u haven really release all ur potential nia.. slowly lor.. as for maths get help and practise?![]()
relax.. your life havent even started..
knw what you want
target it
Use school as a platform in wadever u want to do in the future
do things slowly and don't panic
be willing to do what you are doing.
Williness give power!.
=)
If you don't work hard now, you'll suffer more later. Like it or not, in Singapore, unless you're filthy rich; or that you have some damn unique business idea, in the end, the thing to fall back on is some of the basic paper qualification. Only 15 yrs old nia, still got hope.
If you think you're not good in studies, then have to understand why, seek help from school, this is what teachers are for, to help you to achieve the necessary academic requirements (note:I didn't say becoming top student or what, don't stress out).
If you're really competent in a subject, there's no reason you will have your standard drop, rather, it's because you have a weak comprehension in your tests/exams questions. You will need more experience, practices and help from teachers to help you with this.
As in you don't know what you want in the future, I can tell you, even when you know what you want in the future, you may not end up be what you wanted. This is due to the changes in society and the changes in you. As you grow up, you will find that your priorities and interests start to change, not that it is bad, but the way you see things and the things that you treasure may gradually change.
And you harping on the 0/30 for your maths test, did you find out WHY you get 0?
Don't live up to other's expectation but live for your own. Set your own targets, no matter how small, an achievement is an achievement. Say you can aim for just a passing grade for your next maths test, then gradually thinking of scoring a band B then to band A.
I used to have a teacher who told me this:
In Singapore, you may not know what you want now for life, but that's okay, just score the best in all subjects so that in time to come, you get to choose your interest of study; and not the other way round.
fuck man, i just screwed up a chemistry test sometime back..and i know that im getting it back tmr..
worse still...i have another maths test tmr, similiar weightage and style to that of the one i failed previously...
however..i had alr practised a lot, and hopefully i can do well enough tomorrow to pull up my grades
fuck man, why did i not study hard enough for the chemistry test..damn TL now..![]()
recently i had this problem of waking up every morning just to find myself thinking " fuck, 1 day more to my maths end of year, another opportunity for me to fuck up"
last time, i did not have such disturbing problems..i didnt even care if i failed or passed as long as i tried, i think im desperate for success now :(
and i still dont know why i got 0/30. i reflected on my mistakes just to realize that i was motherfucking careless, and all the solutions were well used, except for a question which i had no idea how to start with. that really pissed me off. so fucking unfair. 30 mark paper, a few careless mistakes and bam, kosong.
i noe this thread is old but, i feel it reflects alot about my life too.
i always put in alot of effort into my studies, yet i keep failing my pure geog and social studies and chinese and math and a math and sciences. my chem is my best subject, averaging an B3 for tests and exams, but what's the point when everyone, i mean EVERYONE gets an A1..
You sound exactly like me.
everyone has different abiities, sometimes u juz gotta admit that not everyone posesses the intellect capacity for academic stuff
if u ar no good with academic stuff, don't fret, there are many opportunities out there u can still be sucessful in
i hestitate to say life's fair becos... well, it is unfair, smart ppl do fare better in life, juz look at all the raffles/hwa choong kids --> psc sholars, doctors, lawyers, and virtually all other forms of scholars n execs
even the average JC ppl like TJ who go to local U hav prob fighting with these elites, let alone those poly / SIM / MDIS private edu degree holders
life's unfair
i think its kinda unfair to say that smart people fare better in life..
this is given the fact that they are given the opportunities to grow and work hard..
and those people from raffles/hc worked hard for what they have, thats something that we cant deny.
as for myself..well...i guess i was too slack, maybe others were just much more hardworking
elitism is also a false idealogy because of the scrutiny they face from the media and public sector..they do have expectations to live up to, and at the end of the day, they are the ones who savour a better future as compared to present, and work to achieve a desired result..
and lastly, not every "elite" become scholars etc...some fall out since they are unable to keep up, and constantly struggle and watch sadly as their peers fly higher and higher...
im one of them, so i know very well how life sucks sometimes.. and stress fucks you upside down with expectations from others
and i just realized that what we are are merely perception from others..
Originally posted by donkhead333:i think its kinda unfair to say that smart people fare better in life..
this is given the fact that they are given the opportunities to grow and work hard..
and those people from raffles/hc worked hard for what they have, thats something that we cant deny.
as for myself..well...i guess i was too slack, maybe others were just much more hardworking
elitism is also a false idealogy because of the scrutiny they face from the media and public sector..they do have expectations to live up to, and at the end of the day, they are the ones who savour a better future as compared to present, and work to achieve a desired result..
and lastly, not every "elite" become scholars etc...some fall out since they are unable to keep up, and constantly struggle and watch sadly as their peers fly higher and higher...
im one of them, so i know very well how life sucks sometimes.. and stress fucks you upside down with expectations from others
and i just realized that what we are are merely perception from others..
true, i agree
hey donk, dun be so hard on yrself, at least u are free from the expectations, unlike those 'elites' who struggle everyday under the stress n expectations piled upon them
nonetheless, u might still hav the hidden potential within u, and being freed from these expection n stress makes it easier to draw out that potential
dun lose hope donk, life may be unfair, but it's still full of opportunities
TS:
Maths just needs a lot and lot of practice. You already realize that it is important for your future. Just take the first step and start practising. I was like you, back then. My maths is still bad, but at least I managed to clear my O levels.