i always believe in wat goes around comes around :)
why u wanna pull someone down when u can bring them up?
BSTAB!!!
well, you can backstab. but how would you feel if you were in his shoes?
Originally posted by thongs:i always believe in wat goes around comes around :)
why u wanna pull someone down when u can bring them up?
u want to teach a person to fish a fish, not how to eat fish...
dun backstab, give him a pat on his back bah.
Originally posted by Rejected:well, you can backstab. but how would you feel if you were in his shoes?
then y the partner never put himself into TS shoes...
Originally posted by Chris1988:erm hey. seems to me that whatever that guy does, it will never seem to match up with your standard and you're afraid by using 'his work', the grades will drop. so you decide to take everything into your own hands
i mean well at least he does make the effort to meet up with you if you ask him to right? not tt he disappeared and had fun while you're working your ass off. (you didn't mention all these facts so i'm just assuming over here)
think twice before you backstab. was he really in the wrong for not doing anything? or was it you who didn't trust him.
hmmm... yeah, you are right in that i don't trust his work, or attempted work.
yups, he takes the effort to meetup. But he's surfing the net while we are supposed to be doing the drawing, that almost got my blood boiled.
so, if his intention is to try to help but he lacks the capacity to, rather than being ignorant and push everything away, then I should just let things pass? =/
i bet right now, he hasn't even a clue even what the assignment requires.
Originally posted by Rednano:
then y the partner never put himself into TS shoes...
ah, he's in his on world. can't really blame the selfish partner.
Originally posted by weetweet:hmmm... yeah, you are right in that i don't trust his work, or attempted work.
yups, he takes the effort to meetup. But he's surfing the net while we are supposed to be doing the drawing, that almost got my blood boiled.
so, if his intention is to try to help but he lacks the capacity to, rather than being ignorant and push everything away, then I should just let things pass? =/
he will fail his semester exam anyway...
Understand his strength and use him well where he is strongest.
I am a mathematics idiot cum handicap, but my language & writing subjects are strong. My grp members writing skills and language sux, but their maths are powerful.
I leave the maths question to other grp members, while I tackle all the writings questions.
Win-Win situation. There can't be a person who is good for nothing.
Originally posted by Troy437:Understand his strength and use him well where he is strongest.
I am a mathematics idiot cum handicap, but my language & writing subjects are strong. My grp members writing skills and language sux, but their maths are powerful.
I leave the maths question to other grp members, while I tackle all the writings questions.
Win-Win situation. There can't be a person who is good for nothing.
the way the groupwork partner acting is:
Originally posted by newcomer:wat kind of things u all modeling?
um, right now we're supposed to design the drive n mounting config of a shaft to drive a gearbox, by belts n pulleys from a motor...
supposed to calc and choose the pulleys and shaft dia n material, all that stuff. then translate all of that into CAD.
haha same same. last time oso got do before, boring shit.
last time i also very stressed by such issues in both poly and uni.
thinking is not fair, group work become i solo do. want to let the others do also come back slipshod work. in the end let them do still must edit for them. bla bla
but if u think abt it, the one who learns in the end is you. hell yeah they can get the same marks as you, but the one who really knows how to do it is you, the one with the true knowledge is you.
take it as a good practice lo, a 3 man job but u managed to do it by yourself, it will only give you more experience
Originally posted by weetweet:hmmm... yeah, you are right in that i don't trust his work, or attempted work.
since the dateline is drawing so close, i suggest you should assign a task for him. it could be anything related to your work. if he still insist that he doesn't know and doesn't do and can't be bothered, than just tell him straight in the face you'll report to your lecturer that he didn't even contribute to the project.
if he seriously doesnt do anything...then just tell him straight to the face if you don't contribute then "i" cant help if you fail..and that's how i told my team members...they will " ! " and start working liao..actually u should have told him earlier..
but if he doesnt know anything...no choice but to let him do and learn lo..if u wan to take the matter in your own hand..then bo bian...
to backstab, or not to backstab? .... that's not the question.
the real question is what knife to use?
hunter's knife? rapier? icepick? chopsticks? forks?
now, that's a tough question..... let me ponder for awhile more, before i reply again.
thanks for all the replies!
I gave him a final chance to demonstrate some understanding about the concepts today, by offering some ideas onto why a component was chosen over another one for the report. Looks like he still doesn't have a clue..
Kept saying that he doesn't know what I did so can't comment. But that was a simple common engineering sense question (from the equation u can tell what are the factors already).
Today he still had the nerve to stand beside me and ask me to hurry up, that the time limit was approaching. I guess he wanted to make sure his name was in.. after that he apologised. I put it in eventually, under his sorry eyes, but on monday gonna email the lecturer. ![]()
Maybe it'll be a pen knife cut thou... 60% or so of the overall grade depending on mood. Just enough so he will tip the scale by himself in the final exam or somethin. ![]()
he most likely will fail the rest of the exams and stuff. so not much difference if you backstab him.
At least your grp mate looks genuinely inept. BAD, but could be worse.
Actually, the worst people are those who have the ability to do the group project but fuck care all with excuses like busy with other work, etc and depend on others to help them do everything while taking all credit THEN will mug for the exams.
Originally posted by weetweet:thanks for all the replies!
I gave him a final chance to demonstrate some understanding about the concepts today, by offering some ideas onto why a component was chosen over another one for the report. Looks like he still doesn't have a clue..
Kept saying that he doesn't know what I did so can't comment. But that was a simple common engineering sense question (from the equation u can tell what are the factors already).
Today he still had the nerve to stand beside me and ask me to hurry up, that the time limit was approaching. I guess he wanted to make sure his name was in.. after that he apologised. I put it in eventually, under his sorry eyes, but on monday gonna email the lecturer.
Maybe it'll be a pen knife cut thou... 60% or so of the overall grade depending on mood. Just enough so he will tip the scale by himself in the final exam or somethin.
u r not helping him...seriously...
simply... trying to demonstrate ur kind heart...
this is not backstab lor. this is murder ! haha. go kill him.
I don't consider this as backstabbing. Backstabbing is more like he contributed to the project, but you negated those contributions and said he did nothing. IMO, if he flunk this project as a result of you telling the lecturer, it is the mark he deserves entirely.
However, talking about compassion, I would then evaluate to what extent did he try to put in effort.
For eg,
• If his failure to help stems from his inherent lack of knowledge, and you feel genuine sense of guilt from him, I would choose to pity him instead and choose the nicer path. However, I will throw him some work to do regardless of what happens.
• If his failure to help stems from laziness/slacking, then forget it. Just tell the lecturer and dont think about it, because you didnt do anything wrong anyway.
Your method of "Just enough so he will tip the scale by himself in the final exam or somethin." is quite appropiate, IMO.
Cheers. :)
Originally posted by weetweet:thanks for all the replies!
Today he still had the nerve to stand beside me and ask me to hurry up, that the time limit was approaching. I guess he wanted to make sure his name was in.. after that he apologised. I put it in eventually, under his sorry eyes, but on monday gonna email the lecturer.
Maybe it'll be a pen knife cut thou... 60% or so of the overall grade depending on mood. Just enough so he will tip the scale by himself in the final exam or somethin.
Your partner is lazy .... i wouldn't of helped him ...
The best kind of leaders is the one that can make people do their work.