I guess you have already known the core issue beneath your problem...that is, you need someone who can give you immediate care and attention which your bf, unfortunately, couldnt due to the distance. You need to evaluate whether you want to stay on in this long-distance relationship, if not just let your bf go...dont stay on with him just because your friend has sort of rejected your advances. Ask yourself, if your friend had said yes, I like you too, what do you think you would do? Do you truly still love your bf as before?
If yes, you would need to get used to the fact that communication with him (your bf) is going to be a bit harder...are you willing to sacrifice convenience in the name of love? This is something I have been through before, so I know how it feels like but if your love is as strong and true as you have claimed it to be in your first post, you can triumph over the difficulties. If not, then just let your poor bf go, he deserves someone better.
And yes, you cant have your cake and eat it too. Make a choice and stick to it.
From my opinion, most people especially guys can do all sort of thing with the opposite sex unless the other party is really erm... you know...
But if you are out of this group then if you can imagine yourself doing with him then there must be something out of the norm for him within you. But if you can't, you are just treating him like a soul mate or best friend where you only want to spend time with him and nothing more... Some can be replaced as time is a good element to brush it off... especially when you two are apart.
Firstly, kudos to you for telling the entire truth to you boyfriend. I believe communication is vital between couples.
Coming from a guy, I think your friend used to like you and got really hurt when you rejected him. He is trying to distance himself from you now.
I can tell you really love your boyfriend and from what you said he really loves you too. But being so far apart might make it hard for this relationship to work. I wish you all the luck in that.
Lastly, guys tend to percieve friendly signals from girls to mean more. This is coming from personal experience. To you, you might be just holding his hand or using his shoulder as a headrest but to him it means so much more.
Originally posted by cantdecide:
Lastly, guys tend to percieve friendly signals from girls to mean more. This is coming from personal experience. To you, you might be just holding his hand or using his shoulder as a headrest but to him it means so much more.
This is so true, esp for girls who are touchy by nature.
girls often dun understand themselve well enough, then leave a destructive path wherever they went and truly felt innocent after something bad happen... so we cant really blame them can we? cos they truly unaware of it.. ppl say "bu zhi ze wu zui" lol~~ are u aware how much problem you might be creating for that 2 guy??
I think the problem was that you wrote he treated you as just a stand-in to his ex-gf...and your past actions...It might have given him the wrong ideas and caused him to think of you as something more than friends...
What I suggest is...forget about him, let him cool off first and if he is really your true friend, he will come back and be your friends. If not, friends come and go...just let go and enjoy your time with your bf. Take this incident as a lesson learnt.
dear dadedum, i was tempted to post a thousand word advice on your case but decided against it. maybe because i'm losing track of years.
2 thoughts:
- love will suck up a lot of time and energy. it may be difficult to start but try to reserve only 30% of your time and anguish on love problems.
- choose the one who makes you laugh.
dadedum,
When a man wants to go into his cave.. let him go in peace.
Don't barrage his path with your sms and constant desire for his attention.
Since you have already made your choice.. then it's best you leave him alone.
If you continue with your stringing.. you are also putting your current relationship with your bf at risk.
When your bf finds out about this unrequitted relationship .. he may also have a change of heart towards you. Especially since you are having a long distance relationship.
Keep playing this game...and you may end up with NOTHING on both side. So be careful and thread cautiously.
Its hard to stay in contact as a friend for ppl who have feeling for you in the past..
wait till a certain time has passed and both of you have your own lifes
its still not to late to stay in contact.
Not really true altho i agree to some extent.
I still keep in contact with one of my ex when I am like 19...almost 10 years le wor.
Purely friends tho, and she will be getting married soon :)
Originally posted by Q.C.Pak:Its hard to stay in contact as a friend for ppl who have feeling for you in the past..
wait till a certain time has passed and both of you have your own lifes
its still not to late to stay in contact.
really? i find it normal to keep in contact with people i liked once leh
Originally posted by tinuviel07:really? i find it normal to keep in contact with people i liked once leh
Humans have different personalities,feelings,mentality...
not all can accept it...
like me...so shy
Originally posted by Q.C.Pak:
Humans have different personalities,feelings,mentality...not all can accept it...
like me...so shy
i too open le
Originally posted by dadedum:yeah…guys, I’ve been doing exactly that.
I’ve not contacted him in a pestering way for 3weeks almost a month now. So far I only sms-ed him twice to confirm when to meet up to pass him his stuff.
I learnt to let go. Long ago.
I let him go, but to me, if my friend needs somebody, I will always be there.I know, I won’t pester him, it is in a way stressing him out.
I know I am at a very high risk that both will leave me for good. I got that fear when I told my bf about him and I saw my bf’s reaction. That fear rushed to me like a bullet train.
Now, things are stable.
But I’m going to meet him soon to return him his things. Do you think I should ask him why he said all those things in my chatbox? I am really concerned…but if it stresses him out, I will stop. But should I even take the first step to ask? Guys, would you want? I prefer to sit down and talk things out rather than keep quiet and that ‘thing’ will never go away. So even if we can’t be friends in the future, perhaps we could clear up the misunderstanding?
So should I ask him?
You said things are stable now so why do you want to go and rake out more trouble?
He is not interested in clearing up the misunderstanding now. Just let it lie low for the moment. Maybe when the storm has passed, there will be a chance for you to clear things up with him again.
Originally posted by tinuviel07:i too open le
Where open?
Originally posted by Q.C.Pak:
Where open?
upstairs n downstairs
Originally posted by tinuviel07:upstairs n downstairs
Sordesneh....
Originally posted by dadedum:yeah…guys, I’ve been doing exactly that.
I’ve not contacted him in a pestering way for 3weeks almost a month now. So far I only sms-ed him twice to confirm when to meet up to pass him his stuff.
I learnt to let go. Long ago.
I let him go, but to me, if my friend needs somebody, I will always be there.I know, I won’t pester him, it is in a way stressing him out.
I know I am at a very high risk that both will leave me for good. I got that fear when I told my bf about him and I saw my bf’s reaction. That fear rushed to me like a bullet train.
Now, things are stable.
But I’m going to meet him soon to return him his things. Do you think I should ask him why he said all those things in my chatbox? I am really concerned…but if it stresses him out, I will stop. But should I even take the first step to ask? Guys, would you want? I prefer to sit down and talk things out rather than keep quiet and that ‘thing’ will never go away. So even if we can’t be friends in the future, perhaps we could clear up the misunderstanding?
So should I ask him?
Dadedum,
Let sleeping dogs lie.
It's best to leave some stones unturn, and this is one of them.
If you really need to return his personal items.. it's best you pass it to your friend or his friend and have them hand over the items to him.
All you need to do is... after you pass the items to the middleman/woman.. simply send him a simple text message and let him know you have done so.. and let him know what the items are. It is up to him to retrieve the items through a neutral party.
You are like a fish in the pond.
Some1 stirred the water in the pond ~ making it very muddy
It is difficult to see and find your path.
The best thing that you should do is to wait... to wait for the sand to settle down... wait for the water to be clear once again. Then, you can able to make your next move.
You are lucky to have a very understanding and strong bf who is able to withstand those painful slash from you. You are lucky to have a friend that does not take advantage of the situation.
However, your long draggy indecisive choice is hurting them. You seems to be waiting for some1 to fish you out of the pond.
Originally posted by dadedum:alright.
I will lie low for as long as it is needed..yeah I know I’m lucky. Lucky to have him, so lucky..that sometimes I feel that I’m not good enough for him..I really love him and miss him..a lot..I don’t know, how I can ever make it up to himI don’t ever want to loose him..
Anyone, has any ideas how I…what I can do, to make it up to him?
By being happy, it wil be the best make it up for him liao...
Love is not a composition of guilt
Originally posted by ispyyy:By being happy, it wil be the best make it up for him liao...
Love is not a composition of guilt
ispyyy speaks!