I'm a university student. This semester I was doing a group project and I had a group member who was putting in very little effort in the project cos he had S/U-ed the subject (meaning it would not be graded and if he gets an S, it means he cleared those AUs without affecting his degree classification. If U, he just needs to retake the AU). Due to this, he always acted as though he can't be bothered to do the project and just gave us rubbish 2 days before the project submission date and then went overseas, leaving us to do the project. This left us with very little time to do the project and then we had to forgo our sleep to submit the project on time. Then during our lesson, he did not even bother to ask us about the project.
After that, I SMS-ed him asking whether we are supposed to include him inside the project cos of his indifference. Then he wrote me a very long message scolding me back. Given this, I replied him asking him to look for other groups cos I really felt very wei qu lo..He said he will tell the prof. Now, 2 weeks before our next project due, he SMS-ed me saying the prof say we must do the project with him. I SMS him for proof, he then told me to send a mail to the prof to help him look for another group, then cc a copy to him wor..I was thinking, actually when did it became my business to help him look for groups?
Now, I really felt very sore about the whole eposide lo..On the one hand, I can't give him proper work to do, cos he will send rubbish to us. So, we have to give him very simple things to do, so as to justify his name on the project. On the other hand, I think the prof also don't care if we tell him lo...actually doing more work for projects is okay, but i just hate the fact that he is acting as though it is his birthright that we do things for him...=(
This is the first time i had to do projects for people, then receive a scolding from them and then had to help them look for groups...The best part is, that guy is a dean's list ...so if u dun know wat is the working attitude of a dean's list, now we know...
Originally posted by teddybear10:I'm a university student. This semester I was doing a group project and I had a group member who was putting in very little effort in the project cos he had S/U-ed the subject (meaning it would not be graded and if he gets an S, it means he cleared those AUs without affecting his degree classification. If U, he just needs to retake the AU). Due to this, he always acted as though he can't be bothered to do the project and just gave us rubbish 2 days before the project submission date and then went overseas, leaving us to do the project. This left us with very little time to do the project and then we had to forgo our sleep to submit the project on time. Then during our lesson, he did not even bother to ask us about the project.
After that, I SMS-ed him asking whether we are supposed to include him inside the project cos of his indifference. Then he wrote me a very long message scolding me back. Given this, I replied him asking him to look for other groups cos I really felt very wei qu lo..He said he will tell the prof. Now, 2 weeks before our next project due, he SMS-ed me saying the prof say we must do the project with him. I SMS him for proof, he then told me to send a mail to the prof to help him look for another group, then cc a copy to him wor..I was thinking, actually when did it became my business to help him look for groups?
Now, I really felt very sore about the whole eposide lo..On the one hand, I can't give him proper work to do, cos he will send rubbish to us. So, we have to give him very simple things to do, so as to justify his name on the project. On the other hand, I think the prof also don't care if we tell him lo...actually doing more work for projects is okay, but i just hate the fact that he is acting as though it is his birthright that we do things for him...=(
This is the first time i had to do projects for people, then receive a scolding from them and then had to help them look for groups...The best part is, that guy is a dean's list ...so if u dun know wat is the working attitude of a dean's list, now we know...
dean's list big fark ar?
if he cant pull his weight in the group...dont include his name in.But to be fair...have U really tried ur best to include him into the group?
U can email the prof or talk to him/her personally(best to go as a group but it might not be easy to get the group together)...for all U know...U might get a different answer.
Just kick him out of your group. He can't do anything when everyone is against him, dean's list or not. Remove his name from the credits and remove his material from your project file.
don't give a fuck about him
he kpkb then let him kpkb
he whack you, you po mata
If me, I would finish the project and submit without his name on it since his presence is not justified at all.
Lesson learnt.
Dont ever join an elective w/o yr frens. If u r joining alone, join a elective tat is not project based.
It seems a bit much to suan the entire bunch of Dean's list people together just because one is a farker. I would try not to lump people together because of whatever group they belong to, it definitely gives your complaints more weight, and more credit to you as a person.
If he is really giving you trouble, then I think you should jettison him ASAP. Talk to the prof, show him proof of the rubbish he has been producing and I doubt there is any prof who is THAT bochup to tell you to solve it yourself. You say you only THINK the prof doesn't care. Did you ask?
But if you actually can use this chance to see if you can control the lazy bugger at least to a certain extent to produce something that is not rubbish, that would be a very good learning experience for you, and definitely a skill which you can use after you graduate. Give him a certain amount of work, and tell him the group's expectations of what the result should be.
I did join with my friends. It's just that we didn't form the maximum group permitted and then the prof suggested he join us cos he didn't have a group...the others didnt want to at first, but i thought its not nice to reject him initially, somemore the prof suggested one...but now he acting as if it's his right to join us for the project which made me quite angry abt it...
Most people are actually quite reasonable...cos normally even if u exercise the S/U option or not very good with the subject you would try to make yourself of some help around...and definitely not scold people who are doing the project for you, after that ask you to help him find a group if we don't want him...
Ok, I should not have condemned all the dean's list becos of him...So, let's put it this way, dean's list = pple who get top grades. Some pple may associate them with hardworking, smart and talented pple with good working attitude. My message to these pple is that this may not be correct...
Thanks for your advice...i be sending a message to the prof asking to exclude him... (cos i really dislike his attitude and dont feel like i can work with him anymore). If the prof say we have to do it with him, then just ren ming lo...
Haiz~
hello fellow ntu student.. haha..
there's a little trick i'll like to share with u.. that is, ur best weapon is email, and ur best defence is paper..
anything u feel unhappy abt, u feel wei qu about, shoot email to the supervising prof.. and if his work is low quality work, show it to the prof, that will be ur defence..
i mean, if he's prepared to give u shit, den just si po lian with him.. and im quite sure the prof will do the right thing.. unless ur prof last time was this kind of slacker in uni and actually condone such practice hahaha..
dean's list?
yup encountered those people in ntu.. as the rest suggested, leave his name out.. can't stand this kind of people.. but make sure you update the prof and provide 'evidence'
Well.... he really is in dean's list.... dean's black list...
If your lecturer side with him then let the head of his department know about this..... This kind of lecturer bu yao ye bai.... dont let those f**ckers ride for free... just submit without his name...
Already sent the email to the prof...Now, waiting for his reply. Just want to share some random thoughts...
Previously, I had worked on a project with someone. I asked him to do project, but he said cannot, he need to study for exams. So i did most of the work for him. When the results came out, he got an A for the subject while i didnt do well for it..
In my previous job, there was this guy who always puts on airs and act as though its his colleagues responsibilities to do things for him cos he is a first class honours...
Of course, there are a lot of A-graders who are responsible as well. But, please don't look at students with weaker grades and then just write us off as lousy, condemned and unmotivated. Then jump to the conclusion that A-graders are hardworking, smart and talented people with good working attitude. Cos in this case, I'm sure you would rather have someone not so smart but does something.
Rather than have an A-grader who does not do much and acts as though its your obligation to do things for him..