Originally posted by Prodigy:
come on...move it!
keep your story going!!!
si beh oppressive sia...
/me starts work sadly..
As I rode the MRT back, I was debriefing myself on the date. What went wrong, and how I could avoid it or do things better. But there was one nagging issue I could not resolve.
The age difference.
It is perfectly ok for a, say, 32 year old man to be with a 27 year old woman, as both of them are working and thus have the same frequency.
However, its a totally different ball game with a working adult and a girl who just finished JC education! Their daily events, the stress they face are so vastly different. Maybe I should ask if she has any elder sisters.. haha...
Anyways, back to the training camp at the East Coast chalet...
Somehow, chalets are always a place where things happen. Secret admirers will let their identity known, shy people will reveal their feelings from deep within themselves...
At the onset of the camp, we were organised into different groups which we were to stick to until the course is over. Luck was not on my side, and I didn't manage to get into the same group as
Yingying. Drats! Wait a minute, why do i care so much?
Throughout the training, I found my attention seldom leaving her. Whenever I made a funny comment, I would try to notice if she laughed. And when she spoke, my ears would stand attentively like a rabbit's, picking up every strand of her voice as it serenades through my body.
"So Ying, whats your dreamhouse like? Does it have a swimming pool?" asked the course conductor
"Err... No."
The conductor stared at her quizically.
"Oh... cause I donno how to swim mah" =P
The class quaked with laughter at the cute statement. Now thats what I liked my girlfriend to be like. Being funny by just being herself. I found myself having the urge to dote on her and protect her.
"What about me then?!?!"
Partime girl seemed to scream in my mind.
I was in a dilemma.
On one hand, I and partime girl are already ready to take off in our relationship, while in yingying's case, the aeroplane is nowhere to be seen. But one thing is for sure: I'm sure that the flight with
yingying will definitely be more memorable.
But then again, things have not changed. She's still a rich family's daughter, while I'm belong only to the middle class.
That night, I called partime girl so that my mind can take a temporary break from Yingying. Uncomfortable silence again plagued the conversation and I found myself thankful when I hung up.
Hey, but aren't such phone conversations supposed to be sweet encounters where both parties will rather pluck out their toenails then to put down the phone? Something is seriously wrong here.
"Yo, zuo bang ah?"
Tim, my colleague came in, greeting me affectionately.
Tim and I almost have no secrets with each other. We comment and analyse girls together and we're always on the lookout for knockouts and selflessly alerting each other when they appear on our radar screens.
We started some light chit chatting and the conversation took a predictable turn.
"So you and Yingying how. Start action liao buay?"
"Mai xiao lah. We impossible one lah. Her family so rich, where got see me up?"
"Yah, I know. But don't you think she doesn't really carry any air? She's really quite different from those spoilt brats."
That statement struck me.
I've been stereotyping her so much that I neglected assessing her as an individual. Thats what I'll start doing now.
"Plus, you stand to inherit a huge fortune in the future."
"Hahaha..."