i got the cut off point i have to get for some of the courses i targeted.
but, my maths got a whooping E8.
any advise for me ?
im 17 this year, repeated sec 3.
I hear from my friends that in business courses, maths is like
non existant ! Any ways i can make it through to it ?
Furthermore, Having E8 in maths, is seriously a disaster :'(
Originally posted by wrigley's:i got the cut off point i have to get for some of the courses i targeted.
any advise for me ?
im 17 this year, repeated sec 3.I hear from my friends that in business courses, maths is like
Depends on how high up you want to go in your business education.
I suggest you don't just listen to hearsay from your friends.
Think about which uni you want to go , which course. Then find out the course curriculum. You will notice that maths will always be part of the business curriculum.
Even if you get into one without a good maths background.. you will likely be struggling in this or related subject due to your lack of a good foundation.
=/
Originally posted by wrigley's:i got the cut off point i have to get for some of the courses i targeted.
any advise for me ?
im 17 this year, repeated sec 3.I hear from my friends that in business courses, maths is like
math is everywhere...and when math is, like what u said, non-existance - statistics is around..
what i may suggest is work hard on those numbers...u will be seeing then very very soon...
any advise and guides for me on my maths being e8 ?
as in, other than wasting this 1 year to be in next year's intake,
wad can i do to get myself into a poly with a course of my interest for this year ? and yet be able to have a chance to retake my O's ?
what are the courses of ur choice?
any advise for me ?
no maths background how to study modules like accounting...
and with interest but result no good, also no use... be practical... be realistic... enrol into the better of the choices as available stated in ur form A.
i dun understand why maths need to be gd to be in accounting , accounts only need basic calculation . but the maths u take in secondary consist of other things which will be more useful in engineering den business course. my accounts got a1 maths got c6.
I attended a university talk and they said dont be surprised you have to learn differentiation and integration even though you're studying business.
yep there are modules like statistic in business related courses and there is no way u can avoid maths.
Originally posted by MoonFace&SaucePanMan:yep there are modules like statistic in business related courses and there is no way u can avoid maths.
ya... this is the main reason... furthermore, u need to take micro and macro-economics... all need minimum 'O' Level E Maths foundation...
Aiyo fail sec 3 and get E8 in maths .. no need study liao la .. go get a job like $1k and led a easy life
Originally posted by SquarePants:Aiyo fail sec 3 and get E8 in maths .. no need study liao la .. go get a job like $1k and led a easy life
There was uncalled for, Mr. 'Savant.'
---------------------------------------------------------------
TS, what are the courses you're aiming for? And where?
Sadly, with a grade of E8 for Math - a polytechnic education seems out of the question. Last I knew, they only consider appeals for a Math grade of not lower than D7, and limited to the least popular courses.
And Mos hit the nail when he said when Math is non-existence, stats' around (Not to mention Calculas and bull). So unless you're very determined to even the scores by putting in a considerably high amount of efforts this time round, you should not even be looking at Business courses.
I think the immediate problem is your next step; what are you going to do?
Pursue an education with the ITE?
Retake your 'O' levels as a private candidate?
Take the road less traveled and go do your diploma/certifications with the private schools?
Few things you must consider:
1) Your budget
2) The private school's reputation & credility (if you're taking the private school route)
3) Which ITE offers the course that interests you (if you're taking the ITE route)
4) If you would want to do 'O' levels Math again
I believe if you would to take your 'O' levels as a private candidate, it's mandatory for your to sign up with a private school to defer your NS.
Take some time and think through it, TS. And good luck :)
Originally posted by SquarePants:Aiyo fail sec 3 and get E8 in maths .. no need study liao la .. go get a job like $1k and led a easy life
hey hey,dun be so arrogant la.
TS-life is never smooth.u had a tough road sia..ke lian ni sia..E8 for maths..i dun tink there are poly course tat u can apply,unless u go apply via DAE,but den i dun really recemmend it as chances are nt high.My suggestion is tat u go on to Higher nitec-as i noe some courses do accept E8 maths,den at the same time,retake ur O level maths.And if u pass ur maths,u cn combine ur O lvl results of 2yrs and apply via jae to poly.Trust me,as some of my frens spent a yr in ITE and retake some o lvl subjects,den after tat applied and go in to poly.If u cant,well try get an good GPA of 3.2> and go on to poly.My frens in poly said tat ITE students are able to do well in poly courses
The road ahead is tough,but if u work hard,u will reach ur goals.And dun bother wat ppl say bout u like-no hope or sth else.Look on the bright side of life,Ok?
Take care TS
Btw TS,the choice is urs
im really at loss as to what to do.
i got many advice from people.
but its the same answer..
thanks for all here guys !
ohya.. ! may i know wads T/S ?
It is Threadstarter
Originally posted by icyboiz:i dun understand why maths need to be gd to be in accounting , accounts only need basic calculation . but the maths u take in secondary consist of other things which will be more useful in engineering den business course. my accounts got a1 maths got c6.
Hey boss, how in hell do you prepare a finiancial report or a directors' report for the finiancial year without the maths? It's back to statistical maths.
Retake Emaths after enrolling.