I need advise, serious one and not those joking ones...
Anyway, I got this proposal from someone to start a business. The requirement is that I would need to get into this line of business for working experience for at least one year to acquire the license to start this business.
My concern is that my past working experiences is mostly part time and the only full time experience is in sales line for half a year. I'm turning 29 this year and it would rather hard on getting employment if I waste another year.
Given that money is not a problem, what would you do if you currently hold a diploma cert?
Would you risk your working life for a chance for being a boss?
It could be a mess if after one year, they lose the interest and not start the business also although I do not think it would be the case as I know that they are reliable.... What if I failed them after starting the business.
And my family and relative wanted me to get into stable job in gahmen sector though I had not told them about the proposal...
Sounds a bit like mid life crisis... ![]()
Go to google.com search for infoworld.com. Theres a man call Bob. u can email him ur career qns to him. His email: [email protected]
guess u need to tell him in more detail as hes an ang mo.
goodie luck.
hi caleb, i'm in the exact same position as you are. like you, i have been approached by someone who proposed that we start a business together. this guy is a current business owner and he asked if i'm interested in learning the ropes to hardware distributorship. i'm very concerned that this would affect my resume because i come from the financial industry and this industry is all about your past experiences. also, alot of pple think of the hardware industry as a filthy industry with long hours for the uneducated. however, i am honestly interested in his proposition.
just like you, i am facing alot of parental objection when i told them about my situation. they want me to find a good paying, stable job. unfortunately i have no interest in working for people all my life. thus i am willing to give up my shirt and pants and tie routine.
if i fail, i will be 30 and have very little working experience in the financial industry. i will have to start out anew, but that is a risk i think i am willing to take.
i have just been made an offer in a securities firm and have accepted the offer (temporarily). this guy's plan starts in october and once it starts i will resign from my job to help him from then.
for you, think about it. do you honestly want to work for people all your life? if you give up on this opportunity, when will the next one come? will you be married and not be able to come out and try in future? will you have kids? u need to answer all these questions. don't worry about what others think of you.
say for example, your business is a failure (touchwood!). you are 30 and you have nothing. so what? earn less lor .. dun eat so good food and spend less. worst to worst people look down on u. i say let them be. but if you succeed? maybe by 35 u dun need to work already..
u have to decide whether u r willing to take the risk, anyway, good luck !!
Thanks maxtor for the advise. I will seriously consider what you had said though it is the same as my thoughts but there is always 2 side when you consider an offer such this... too many considerations.
Like you, I am approached by my current boss where I worked full time before and part time during my time of study... that I had to go and acquire experience in a certain industry that is way off my direction of studies for a year to acquire the license to start that business.
The stress of thinking that I'd be needed to handle all management after the start of the business and such is also a negative point that affect my decision and of course the failure of their expectations of me if it did not succeed.
One thing for sure, such opportunities rarely knock twice at the same person, that is why I am rather at a lost whether or not I should do it.
I believe that no one like to be boss'ed around the whole life.... Let's wish us success then.
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:I need advise, serious one and not those joking ones...
Anyway, I got this proposal from someone to start a business. The requirement is that I would need to get into this line of business for working experience for at least one year to acquire the license to start this business.
My concern is that my past working experiences is mostly part time and the only full time experience is in sales line for half a year. I'm turning 29 this year and it would rather hard on getting employment if I waste another year.
Given that money is not a problem, what would you do if you currently hold a diploma cert?
Would you risk your working life for a chance for being a boss?
It could be a mess if after one year, they lose the interest and not start the business also although I do not think it would be the case as I know that they are reliable.... What if I failed them after starting the business.
And my family and relative wanted me to get into stable job in gahmen sector though I had not told them about the proposal...
Sounds a bit like mid life crisis...
If you are having a stable and prospective job at the moment, I would not encourage you to give this opportunity a try.
But since you don't really have a stable and prospective job at the moment, I say there is no harm in spending one year to gamble on this opportunity that has presented itself to you.
You can always try government sector if your gamble on this opportunity does not bring you to a more prospective career than what you are having at the moment.
And if you really want to go for it, DO YOUR BEST FOR IT and don't even think about failing it.
Just imagine and convince yourself that if you do fail in doing your best for it, you will lose the most important thing in your life.
Maybe that should motivate you to do your best and less wimpy attitude is always more preferable to me. ![]()
Just do it. I will be your first customer.
Yes, there has been success stories about switching careers to one that is totally not related to what they were originally trained for.
1st, for learning the ropes; does your new prospective employer pays for your one year to acquire the experience?
(A bit like bond thing. Surely they know, that if they sponsor you for that 1 year, things will surely go easier, cos they can only use you for that business. Its a two way street, you take their money, get the experience, start and maintain their business for them. They invested in your education and experience, thus will keep you in that business as much as possible.)
2nd, do you have the cash outlay required to maintain your experience gathering time as well as the business start up yet? We are talking about minimum 10k cash on disposal at any given moment.
3rd, steady jobs are hard to find in this current economic climate. Working in dirty difficult industry, is better then none at all.