Hey all..
So recently, my HP, Wallet, Laptop, and external hard disk got stolen while I was playing soccer.
I just want to know, whether with my HP IMEI number and Laptop's serial number, can I do anything with them? I'm trying to get my cashcard's ID number from the bank but they haven't seem to reply me yet.
What should I do next to increase my chances, no matter how slim it is, to catch the thief?
Thanks for any advice~
Next time don think alot of people nobody will steal.
pretty heavy losses you have there... next time dont play when you have so much valuables with you.
Who you played with? and where you play with? Try to narrow down your search scope. If you say you play with unknown peeps and at not in school or wat, then your chances of finding them/he/she is limited.
good luck
go report police lah with the s/no but dun hope to get bak yr stuffs
where u played soccer??? surrounding area got any CCTV that might catch the thief's movement???
but seriously, even if u got all the serial no and reported to police, i dun think u can get it back lah. If u know what i mean.
report report
Thanks for the replies.. Yeaps, its quite a heavy loss for me especially the external hard disk contains my school work of the past 2 years..
The ref and kids from the opponent team seemed to saw this malay guy in the compounds and we suspect it was him.. Played at bendemeer sec for a weekend social game so whoever plays near that area please beware and take good care of your belongings.
My guess is that he will attempt to sell the stuff i.e the HPs and my laptop (3 of my friends got their hps and wallets stolen also). My Laptop, the only way for him to use it is to reformat it but my guess is that he won't know how to and would probably sell it or something. So I was just thinking if there is a way to track back or anything. I know I'm trying to keep my hopes up high but I can't stop thinking about how can there not be a way for these kind of thieves to be caught.
Just for general discussion,
Shouldn't there be a network system whereby it is enforced on 2nd hand HP operators to check on the used HPs to see if they are stolen properties or not? Or maybe if he tries to use the phone, why can't there be a system to track down the stolen phones since it is connected to telephone networks?
For laptops, maybe he would try to sell it at Sim Lim and I wouldn't trust those people there too. Bunch of dodgy people at Sim Lim to trust them to co-operate and would rather cash in on the devices than to report the thieves. But if it is possible to track down any users of the laptop, then perhaps it would deter the buyers from buying such stolen laptops.
So if there is a system to track down these devices, it would be so much better to catch these thieves. For all the technology in this world, such systems can't even exists.. Haiz..
In the first place, you should have kept your items properly so none of this would not have happened. This is quite harsh but it's a fact you have to take. Treat this as a lesson for you to keep your valuables properly.
Originally posted by Only-Way-4-Destiny!:In the first place, you should have kept your items properly so none of this would not have happened. This is quite harsh but it's a fact you have to take. Treat this as a lesson for you to keep your valuables properly.
Agreed agreed...
Funny thing was, I had a similar experience years back.. Lost my phone and money.. But that was foolish of us as we left our bags unattended underneath the HDB Block..
But this time, it is inside an enclosed compound, in the field and there was a girl sitting there to watch over our stuff.. It just happens that my bag was at her blindspot and the thief still managed to randomly walk into the compunds, get to her blindspot and took off with my belongings..
But nevertheless, sadly, that's how the world is.. As long as you lose your stuff, or got stolen, it is your carelessness at fault and your lack of due care, and you deserve every bit of the consequences.. Because, if otherwise, it would not have got lost or stolen..
But still, shit happens to everyone, I just thought that after this experience, there is something huge missing in the support and customer service provided by the corporations of these devices involved.. This an area where support and customer service of corporations should look into..
Bendemeer sec field? I just lost my wallet and phone at that place too on 14/03/2009 while playing football match. My people suspect 2 malay guys. My bag was outside the changing area on the bench with everyone's belongings, they took my bag into the changing area to rummage for my valuables. Seems like Bendemeer Secondary is a hotspot for these thieves. Since the police would not take action, my friend was suggesting that I bait these thieves out.
That's a heavy loss, pal.
Based on personal experience and all, the 'more legit' 2nd hand cell phone shops are instructed to report the sale of stolen phones (if your cell phone got nicked and you made a report with the IMEI number, that is) - but that's also as far as they would go for small-time consumers like us.
A few years back in time, I was with this friend of friend who was working as some manager in one of the service providers. His cell phone was pinched by an ah beng while we were shooting hoops. He was very calm and collected, called his company, identified himself and told them to trace his phone/notify the police once his cell is on... Oh well, the privileged group.. Here in Singapore, if you don't have power or money, you'd better have some people to call ![]()
As for your laptop, HD and wallet.. I only can offer my condolences...
Be more careful next time.. Low crime only because those thugs aren't arrested
Uniquely Singapore~
They can't trace your hp back based on IMEI number...all they can do is keep a lookout for people who tries sell them away.
Originally posted by Westfox09:Bendemeer sec field? I just lost my wallet and phone at that place too on 14/03/2009 while playing football match. My people suspect 2 malay guys. My bag was outside the changing area on the bench with everyone's belongings, they took my bag into the changing area to rummage for my valuables. Seems like Bendemeer Secondary is a hotspot for these thieves. Since the police would not take action, my friend was suggesting that I bait these thieves out.
No shit.. I knew it they would come back and do the same shit.. But for my one, we suspect its a malay guy perhaps lanky with dyed hair a bit.. Seems like he likes saturdays.. oh god im so damn bloody keen to catch this fucker but I'm caught up with exams and projects to go and stake out this asshole..
Same style, he rummage through our stuff outside the changing area too.. Man if only the police can sacrifice one guy to ambush this guy.. If its the same guy, seems like he likes saturday.. pretty stupid but thats his downfall.. Grrr...
I thought they can like.. the telco, disable ur phone n brick it with the IMEI or some kinda code ?
Sometimes i wish i can install self destruct mechanisms in my personal belongings. n BWOOM that sucker.
latest news.. thank god i didnt give up.. police just called to say someone refunded my cashcard and they might be able to trace the bank account to which the refunded amount was credited into.. hopefully next few weeks I can receive good news..
wow ! ... they are actually bothering ! ......
last time a facility under my care got broken into, I made a police report, two plain-clothes came down, didn't even bother taking any finger prints, then that's the end of it ....
but every now and then I'd get a letter from the police telling me that they have made no progress in the case, i.e. telling me exactly nothing ...
what a waste of postage and paper ...