Originally posted by coldzero:I've been serving ns for 2 months already. I'm given the opportunity to go nights out on tuesday and thursday for 3 hours (i need an hour to get home and another hour to get back) and book out on friday evenings. However, I still feel depressed whenever i'm in the camp and office (im a stay-in clerk) cause i just cant take it. This suffering is too long. I dont know how to overcome it. I miss my gf and family whenever im in the camp and whenever im out, im upset cause i have to book in on monday morning. i miss the freedom people outside have, or at least those stay-out clerks have. I dont have any friends in here because most people here are self-centered people. Anyone tell me how do i overcome this depression? I dont have mood for any meals, i just wanna go home. I seriously dont know how to go through this 2 years of ns.
This is Singapore life la, when you work in government servant, always bitter first, sweet later. Your gf and family should understand it.
Originally posted by coldzero:I've been serving ns for 2 months already. I'm given the opportunity to go nights out on tuesday and thursday for 3 hours (i need an hour to get home and another hour to get back) and book out on friday evenings. However, I still feel depressed whenever i'm in the camp and office (im a stay-in clerk) cause i just cant take it. This suffering is too long. I dont know how to overcome it. I miss my gf and family whenever im in the camp and whenever im out, im upset cause i have to book in on monday morning. i miss the freedom people outside have, or at least those stay-out clerks have. I dont have any friends in here because most people here are self-centered people. Anyone tell me how do i overcome this depression? I dont have mood for any meals, i just wanna go home. I seriously dont know how to go through this 2 years of ns.
If you want to know how to overcome this depression of yours, just think:
Just remember that there are people who are facing much more worse scenerio than you. And when you finally understand how blessed you are, depression wouldn't be found in your dictionary.
Originally posted by loki_chaos:If you want to know how to overcome this depression of yours, just think:
- you can have nights out for 2times a week, some random people from some other camp might not be able to enjoy this previledge.
- others might be at the SOC ground trying to overcome their fear of heights while you are in office enjoying aircon.
- you have a gf to go back to and even maybe a loving family, what about those who always go back to a home that is full of arguements, violent abuse, etc.
Just remember that there are people who are facing much more worse scenerio than you. And when you finally understand how blessed you are, depression wouldn't be found in your dictionary.
I know lar...what you want is combat vocation with 8 to 5 right?
Let's see who's as lucky/unlucky as the few of us.
Seriously, wtf is wrong with you?
And...a lot of people who get my vocation want out. So seriously, wtf you all want?
Seriously, there are another hundreds and thousands of NSF personnel who stay in, be it a clerk, driver or that sad sod known as rifleman. They too also managed to tahan from sunday night to friday evenings.
If u think that camp is too bored, u can read book/play psp/on the radio, etc to pass time. That is if u have no task on hand .U might want to speak to ur superior to see if TV or other stuff is allowed after office hours. If u are really too bored, u can help other clerks with their work. This can help to create a friendship bond also.
There are (because i know it from personal experience) a few people who are 'friendless' intheir NS unit. This because
(1) they are knn way too keng, ie to say, they deflect every of their own task and job scope and other arrows to other people.
(2) hobbies/personality are too different from the rest.
I really hope that u really belong to the latter. As for ur nights out, u can choose not to go home and go elsewhere near. If ur gd is understanding enuff, she wld try to meet u near ur camp. If not, i really have nothing to say.
Lastly, if u belong to the former. Pls wake up ur own bloody idea. Do u think u own NS or that NS own u something? Trust me, alot of us would galdly trade their rifle for that pen of urs. Be happy about ur role and vocation. That may make u feel better, that u know u can bathe and sleep on a nice bed everyday whereas some couldn't sleep out in the cold for 10 straight days. Eating hot meals straight for the plate whereas some had just have biscuits to make do with and even run a risk having no portable water with him.
Some people, haiz, always have a signboard ontop of them that says "Come F me"
PTI lor. but i doubt PTI will ever exceed the 100th batch
How to cope with depression in NS
(1) SMS your gf / call your gf at night or during free time.
(2) When you are too bored and unhappy, look at the window and see the trees and flowers and admire them.
(3) Talk to your colleagues. =) Try to think positively. And make new friends.
(4) Have a pocket calendar with you in your wallet. Cross out each day with a pen. One day you pass, you strike it off... When you look at your calendar after 1 mth, you realised the achievements you have made. Time passes by so fast!
Bro,
i cannot sympathise with you. I just can't. This is what my NS life was like -
BMT - Stay in ( 1st 3 weeks confined + My first day in NS was a Monday)
Command school - Stay in for 9 months, (1st 3 weeks confined + uncountable other confinements + weekend duties + 5 weeks of overseas training)
+ i was one of the bloody last batches of 2 1/2 years. There were people who enlisted later than me ... that ord-ed earlier than me.
So .. i really cannot sympathise with you. imho you are very very very very blessed. Sorry.
TS,can you even list out one problem that your other "SELF-CENTERED" fellow NSFs(Combat/Service) are facing and how do you think their problem can be resolved?
Or are they all GF-less,problemless,stressless,familyless????
hmm, your girlfriend dont call you every night to just talk to you? hmm, find someways to relax loh... so far all my ns friend are able to cope with it.
its like, you're also not the only guy serving for the government mah.. if you cant talk to your girlfriend call up your friends and let them hear you out lahs. cant be that bad right?though im not in ns, still i do understand what they are going through mah.
I dun understand what's there to depressed about... my time, weekend burn like mad and we still never kpkb here...
this guy is asking to be fucked by any guys who went through NS... maybe he is hoping to get some sympathy from the girls...
Originally posted by skythewood:this guy is asking to be fucked by any guys who went through NS... maybe he is hoping to get some sympathy from the girls...
but i didnt sympathize him.. no point mah, because honestly, he aint the only guy who is trying to cope in ns loh, hor?
cassie, i like what you said!
Why the need to fuck him up? Needless....
But I would say that coldzero, u really sounded like a mummy's boy. Need to toughen up more mentally. Lower ur pride and go make more friends....When we think others are self-centred, are we looking at others thru our rose tinted pupils? Almost always than not, that's normally the case. Could you be focusing too much on yourself that you are not able to make friends there?
NS clerical work is nothing compared to the harsher real working world.....no matter what mistakes you do, you won't be sacked. (Well of course, you wished you could be sacked right lol)
Start to make more friends and you will realise some of them are the ones who will help you thru ur NS life. I'm sure every NS bro here have their good NS pals and they will not disagree with me. It's 2 years, make the best out of this misery my friend.
I feel sorry for his girlfriend ...
I think she's short-changing herself .....
like I said before so many times ....
having a penis only makes you a male ....
being a man, is something you have to prove .....
maybe the gf can chew on that and decide if she wants a man ....
This is no depression lah. If you can post here, it means you can fight it.
This is whining on a whole new level
oh btw, im not like going against you.but when you're in ns, please please please.. be nice to your girlfriend and stuff.. dont ever you dare flare your temper on her when she doesnt know anything yeah? because my ex did it on me and i was taken as a sandbag. so love her more for she is still by your side, together up and downs.
Wa Army very siong hor. When I was in a home team, I had same training with guys , got to book out only on sat. afternoon. Hmm, ya I miss home but really enjoy those days I had with squadmates. I dun know what sort of training you had in army but sitting in office doing some paper work is so GOD gifted training ! so envy ..at least you need nt to carry dat M-16 rifle running round the field , ve yOU?
working in the office is torture la. It's the worst vocation ever...as far as i'm concerned. Y u pple envy him sia.
U guys who chiong sua b4, dun u think it's the experience of a lifetime??
actually hor...... TS will suffer even after NS...every time he looks back at NS he will be bitter and pissed...
not like the rest... i think most riflemen and other xiong vocations will look back on their tough training and camaraderie with much fondness
Originally posted by crimson soldier:actually hor...... TS will suffer even after NS...every time he looks back at NS he will be bitter and pissed...
not like the rest... i think most riflemen and other xiong vocations will look back on their tough training and camaraderie with much fondness
At this kind of rate, i bet u he won;t. Some people dun look back at NS at all, different pple, different mentality.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:
At this kind of rate, i bet u he won;t. Some people dun look back at NS at all, different pple, different mentality.
yes you're right .... he'd have found something new to whine and be bitter about .... his job perhaps ....