i reallt think it'll help if you have good friends in there. life won't seem so bad with them around. mabe you can try, i doubt ALL of them are selfcentred people like you said. trying's the key man :)
Originally posted by gigabyte14:walao eh
if u his girlfriend
u want meh
hmm, im a female wor. am i allowed? hahas, i did had the patience for my ex to go through his NS, like i said, i was a sandbag.
Originally posted by brainerror:
hmm, im a female wor. am i allowed? hahas, i did had the patience for my ex to go through his NS, like i said, i was a sandbag.
then at least you were smart enough to tell him where to get off ....
as per my comments about males and men ....
thank you
lol...so many people flame him instead of giving proper advice...have you guys even felt depression in the first place?
Originally posted by coldzero:I've been serving ns for 2 months already. I'm given the opportunity to go nights out on tuesday and thursday for 3 hours (i need an hour to get home and another hour to get back) and book out on friday evenings. However, I still feel depressed whenever i'm in the camp and office (im a stay-in clerk) cause i just cant take it. This suffering is too long. I dont know how to overcome it. I miss my gf and family whenever im in the camp and whenever im out, im upset cause i have to book in on monday morning. i miss the freedom people outside have, or at least those stay-out clerks have. I dont have any friends in here because most people here are self-centered people. Anyone tell me how do i overcome this depression? I dont have mood for any meals, i just wanna go home. I seriously dont know how to go through this 2 years of ns.
You are probably not convinced of the need for NS. Either those around had not been supportive and help you understand this critical need of the nation, or you just feel that you are more important than the nation.
I guess it is only natural being young. You believe that the world revolves around you and do not believe the reality that you are part of the revolution that drives the world, with what you do affecting the rest of civilisation, more so ours where NS is concern, for you are precious, no matter what pes grade you are - you are one of the brave men and part of the team that keeps our country safe from the terrors of the world, allow the rest of our society to feel safe and secure.
The feeling of depression stems from your desire to achieve something else in life than to just sit in an office and perform easy task, espacially if you had a strong education. It would make you feel worthless, more so when you get insults from others, private soldiers who may be envious of your easy life to insensitive officers who may have education levels much lower than yours, but because of their presumed 'leadership qualities', deem themselves superior to you. All these makes you feel inferior, disgusted, and alienated, and thus the desire to be with those whom appreciates you - your mother, father, gf, friends, etc.
My solution is that instead of feeling miserable, which i can understand and is real, do try to make these 2 years as best you can by learning as much military activities and operations, the way you approach to academic learning. Make it your interest even though you may not perhaps enjoy military life or killings in defense.
There is much more to life than boring manuals and military history and techniques. It developed thru the blood and sacrifice of others so that no more blood be unnecessary shed by future generations. It would help you understand an aspect of life that academia cannot tell nor relate to you.
You may tell yourself you know it all, but in reality, no one knows enough. Learning is forever. Keep yourself busy with books or other projects that will not hinder your military duties. There is always the phone or internet to keep yourself connected outside when the sun sets.
It is good that you are missing your parents and friends. That's how good NS is. It makes us realize what matters in our life, and learn to treasure what we have instead of taking things for granted. Many of us had gone through it. You are not alone, nor inferior to anyone. You are one of us.
Good luck. You may even regret when the 2 years when it is up. It is an unforgettable experience of comradeship if you can straighten up your mindset and be part of the team protecting our nation, which is made up of your parents and friends, and mine.
Hi coldzero, I can understand how you feel. I'm going through the same thing myself. I have anxiety disorder you see, so I'm kind of going through what you're experiencing. I'm a clerk too but I'm fortunate enough to get stay-out status even though my unit is a stay-in one. I'm also wondering how I'm going to survive my 2 years. It seems insanely long. I've only been serving for 4 months and was OOC from BMT because of my condition. What I can say is that take things as they come. Don't think too far ahead. For me, I try to live week by week. It makes things more bearable for me to handle. Sure Mondays and Tuesdays suck but once you reach Wednesday, you know you're halfway through the week so that hsould give you some motivation to look towards Friday. Plus you get nights out on Wednesday! That should give a small break before going back to camp. Try to enjoy your weekend. It may feel like time is fast running out but just know that another weekend will come eventually and you'd be able to enjoy it.
I feel down and depressed from time to time in the office too. I find that sleeping is a good way to destress especially after lunch. Time flies faster too. Break your day into 2 periods - Before lunch and after lunch. Each lasts about 4 to 5 hours I think. Make surviving them your goals everyday. But if you're still depressed, maybe you could say a prayer or call someone like your girlfriend or parents. I'm sure your superiors wouldnt mind you talking on the phone for 10 minutes. Just know that you'll be ok in the end. There's always a solution to everything so don't up hope. It's best to not think too much now. Just do what you have to do and get over NS as fast and as pain-free as possible. 2 years is indeed a long time but in the end, it will end. I hope this helps. Ask me if you want to chat or anything. I'm not a great advisor or anything but I'll try to help. Hope you get well soon. :)
WOa... u win liao ler lor... i asthma and i also gotta go for IPPT, exercise, AHM, trainings, BMT..... u clerk tink better dun complain lah... i always believe NS will make u a better person.. live with it man, you will learn to appreciate it as time goes by.
Army is nothing much but just a training ground for u to move from a boy to a man... Chill it and take care yo~!
You don't like it, it's still 2 years
You like it, it's still 2 years
2 years whether you like or don't like,
Think positive, there's a whole lot of people suffering worse fate than you.
Be a man, overcome whatever that stand in your way whether you like it or don't like it.
try to enjoy day by day u know?
learn to smell the flowers, enjoy each day =)
it's not as if you're getting yelled at everyday right?
Can Singapore still be defended with our chaps like that?
Anyway, being a clerk is good. You got time to do self-improvement before you step out into society as a working adult.
To think I could only work on upgrading myself during periods when I have a break at outfield, or burning my weekend as the guard commander...
I laid on the bed on my 1st night in enlistment thinking there is another 2 years and 6 months ahead of me...
I am still here today, I din bang my head on the wall and kill myself. So toughen up and be a man.
Last time I go a friend who also downgrade and become a clerk. He always complain to us how siong he is and how depress is his state.
When I ask him why not u transfer back to combat unit, do out field and training like my another friend in guards unit. He just shout his mouth and keep quiet!
Originally posted by CannyOng:Last time I go a friend who also downgrade and become a clerk. He always complain to us how siong he is and how depress is his state.
When I ask him why not u transfer back to combat unit, do out field and training like my another friend in guards unit. He just shout his mouth and keep quiet!
LOL. Who wants to be transfer back to combat unit? To undergo those mud, shit, rain, nasty field pack food and the section training, marching...
Sad to say, Clerk although like very "useless". But they are highly respected in the SAF. Because the work that they do like ISO documentation, event orgainzation, filing. Has direct impact to the future. Let say the clerk make a stupid mistake in filing a person document, 5 to 20 years down the road, the issue would surface.
Clerk is one of the useful vocation in SAF, where one can learn to TAI CHI and play politics. Fun Experience for me
Originally posted by Lokey:Sad to say, Clerk although like very "useless". But they are highly respected in the SAF.
You're a clerk? 1st time i ever hear anyone say a clerk is respected lets not even say highly respected. All i know are clerks are blame by everyone for every single mistake they make and all the time they cockup our documents. Still remembering having to travel down to HQ 3 times to just settle 1 issue cos the clerk keep cocking up my document by forgetting this and that and a simple issue too me months to settle.
Originally posted by dkcx:You're a clerk? 1st time i ever hear anyone say a clerk is respected lets not even say highly respected. All i know are clerks are blame by everyone for every single mistake they make and all the time they cockup our documents. Still remembering having to travel down to HQ 3 times to just settle 1 issue cos the clerk keep cocking up my document by forgetting this and that and a simple issue too me months to settle.
Because the SAF doesn't recognize that some ppl are only healthy but not fit, and post them to combat units. These ppl are denied a chance in command sch because they are not fit when they went into their enhanced bmt.
You get ppl of a lower adminstrative prowess downpesing for crap reasons to become cockup clerks. You get ppl on the other spectrum to struggling to pass ippt/soc and chiong sua all day long without being proficent at it.
If ppl get to choose, of course they'll choose to slack. Hence, they choose for us. But look at the outside world, nobody chooses your job for you. (except by circumstances hard to refuse eg parents' biz, bonds, job market etc) Otherwise you'll get healthy ppl all whipped away to work in factories/rigs/construction and unhealthy ppl working in office all day long. And we know, that is inefficent.
I'm a signaller in a unit that has their own mono intake. I've been thru bmt and signal course. Both of which, I stayed in a bunk with ppl of the same educational level. Imagine how I feel being the only A level student in my bunk now. Back in sec sch/jc I didn't think much of these people, I was alright with all of them. Only after coming into my present unit, I look down on them. A levels big eff is it? It's basic morals and attitude. Elaborating on how much I have to cover for them, suffer for them, help them, get abused is simply too much for me to bear. All these because of an injury in bmt making me fail my ippt.
Nsf in saf is such that the more you know how to, the more you do. Imagine how much I have to help the platoon on signal stuff. Because of the slipshodness of the system, I don't believe some ppl in my platoon actually knows anything. Not saying that I'm good, I slept in the classes, didn't pay attention and whatnot.
Not only my freedom is gone, my slippers are gone if I leave them under my bed. And I won't know till I see that it's gone. I'll have to get it back myself. They are so freaking 'polite'. Set up vehicular set? The a level kids do all since they know better. Area cleaning? I get scolded for cleaning up for them.
TS is totally F*cked up. You deserved to be depressed. You are not enlightened enough to see the disparity of ppl's living conditions. Not saying that I'm mature but I appreciate the fact that at least I'm not in the rifle companies.
You book in monday morning, I book in sunday night.
Tuesdays Thursdays nights out, I have none.
Book out friday evenings? Try saturday nights.
Clerk? Aircon paperwork? Try a signaller's field pack, camo on, walk 24km tactical route march all night long in the rain. Oh ya. Maintain communications while at that.
Gf? I'm single.
Self centred people? How about a whole platoon of gangsters, thieves and robbers?
Nvm, eff it. I end with a positive note.
Got nights out? Go out with your branch for supper.
Bookout pia gf.
Ns is good, it opens your eyes to the world.
Btw, I downpesed to C2L2 temp from A from last medical board.
I thought it's good enough that you're a Clerk. You're so lucky! My bf is in NS and he's armour-man (I've forgotten what does it called.. The one who's dealing with tank and riffle etc) So i know his pain, he's been taking physical fitness test and many other test and i know it's so freaking tiring! So i think you must be so lucky wor.. no need to take those kind of test and stuff..
Just have to 'tune' your mindset and feelings about NS.. when you're given the time to bookout for nights' out, enjoy that time. If you don't have to go home, then just stay out with your buddies or gf, since it takes time for the journey to and from home.
When its time to bookout friday night, look forward to spending time with your family and gf. Throughout the weekend, don't even think of monday morning or book-in. Simply think that there's 48 hours for you to do the things you enjoy most. (just don't do things that get you into trouble la)
Then come monday morning, book-in with a positive atttitude and look forward to the night's out and bookout in the coming friday, at the same time do your daily chores with the right mindset and attitude. Make friends with fellow clerks, regulars etc etc. (personally, I even made friends with the canteen aunty and mess-boy)
Simply put, have the mindset that you have only 1year++ to serve. And since you're in NS already, just have to make full use of your time in camp and learn as much as possible. =)
Originally posted by dkcx:You're a clerk? 1st time i ever hear anyone say a clerk is respected lets not even say highly respected. All i know are clerks are blame by everyone for every single mistake they make and all the time they cockup our documents. Still remembering having to travel down to HQ 3 times to just settle 1 issue cos the clerk keep cocking up my document by forgetting this and that and a simple issue too me months to settle.
EVERYONE in our military is important. Clerks are no lesser soldiers than anyone else, and if truth be known, in an outright conflict, they will be the 1st ones to greet their maker, for enemy always attack HQ first.
Next, with adminstration, without someone to push the pen and papers, working under pressure and overtime , how are we troops in the field gonna get our resupplies?
No matter what vocation one is, we are all important to our nation - made up of our families and friends. Each has his role to play, vital to the defense of our homeland. We fight as a team. I certainly cant fight a battle, let alone a war, alone.
Our forefathers were not organised, knew not organisation and kept stupid by the brits when the japs came in 1943. As a result, 50,000 of them lost their heads literally and our womenfolk abused. No more! by the oath we male citizens swore upon enlistment!
Originally posted by xtreyier:
EVERYONE in our military is important. Clerks are no lesser soldiers than anyone else, and if truth be known, in an outright conflict, they will be the 1st ones to greet their maker, for enemy always attack HQ first.Next, with adminstration, without someone to push the pen and papers, working under pressure and overtime , how are we troops in the field gonna get our resupplies?
No matter what vocation one is, we are all important to our nation - made up of our families and friends. Each has his role to play, vital to the defense of our homeland. We fight as a team. I certainly cant fight a battle, let alone a war, alone.
Our forefathers were not organised, knew not organisation and kept stupid by the brits when the japs came in 1943. As a result, 50,000 of them lost their heads literally and our womenfolk abused. No more! by the oath we male citizens swore upon enlistment!
Word.
maybe u should go sign on.....can book out everyday.
Originally posted by Lambo:ORD in less than 4 month!!
orded 2 years ago
I would never ever want to be a clerk...to me it's worse than being a rifleman...but maybe because i like being a rifleman...