I started work in a pet shop a few weeks back.I was looking for a job and i search on yahoo and found that place and emailed them.I thought the job would be cleaning n taking care of the animals but that is not the case when i went for the interview.It is sales assistant,actually im reluctant about it but i just accepted it because i need a job.
It is really great working with animals around me which is what i love but the job scope is what that irks me.The problem is that it is not your usual sales assistant job scope,It is aggresive selling in a direct selling way.I was in a mlm company B4 this job and i left becoz i dont like to force sell etc.It is not me and it is not who i want to be.
All the sales talk,bullshitting,and cock talking sickens me to the core.The managers tells us the 3Cs to selling."First is to convince them and if they are not convinced then confused them n if that dont work then con them.Because they con you of your time you should con them back".
"When they walk in with a dog breed in mind to buy then its your role to change their mind to get other breed if we do not have the breed at the time".
"To be a good sales person you have to be like a lawyer.A lawyer swears in the court upon the bible that he will say only the truth n nothing but the truth and not lie.But a lawyer of a criminal cant possibly say the truth so what he does?He dont tell the truth,neither do he lie,he simply just tells the judge what he wants the judge to hear.So as salesman we have to be the same,tell the customers what we want them to hear"
I joined the same day as one of my colleague and i heard him doing his sales talk.He is an experienced car sales man b4 this job.I asked him if what he said to the customers was real,he say no lah i just talk cock one ah.WTF!We are not selling products here,we are selling living things and what if the customers brings home the dog n realise that things r not the way my colleague told him then the customer would have thought that maybe its the dog's problem and what the customer does?Abandon it or give it away.We are talking about a life here not a freaking product to be discarded.
My colleagues and my managers talked to me n tell me that no choice etc.Sales is like this.I know to do sales u have to accept all this,most of which is ugly.I dont want to become like them,im not them.Or is it that i need to grow up n accept the neccesary evil of this world?
So far 2 puppies died while i was there.Both the same breed and had the same kind of illness.We did our best to give medication and care for them.I was affected after the first one died,then the other puppy showed the same signs and i got worried that it might die the same way .Its condition became worse and i talk to my colleague about it.I asked him "can i use my own money to bring the dog to a vet?"
He say no point,the company is not going to pay you for that.We are doing the best we can for the dog.No choice,its all a lie but no choice we have to work.
Then i spoke to my manager about it.He say we are doing the best we can for it,the rest is up to the immune system of the dog.He say dont bring to a vet,It might be worse for the dog as the vet might just put it to sleep or have lots of drip etc for it.I know you are a nice person but It will suffer more if bring to a vet.Its not that we dont want to bring it to a vet.We have saved a few dogs b4 ourselves rather than sending to a vet.
I was like ohh ok after he talked to me.Then i started thinking and realised that he might just be doing sales talk to me,telling me what i want to hear.
More like if bring the puppy to a vet,then the shop will have trouble and plus more expenses for the company.
Another manager told me that have to clean the cages after that dog died n keep it low because if the ava officers will to know about it the shop wont be able to operate.
A lot of things to mention but i will just leave it as such for now.
I know its business,n the business world is a ugly world.Its all about profits.Im just so sick of this world.
I would not go to your pet shop. This is of pure dishonest act.Obviously is obvious if you naively thinking that the clients would not know that you are lying. Then you are wrong. There are a lot of people who are many times smarter than you.
Young pups... usually either survived or died in its early years. It is how the world works. Survival of the fittest. There is nothing you can do about it. Something you have to get use to.
About lawyers, it is a figure of speech and management of facts. You need to be more be more open minded and look from a higher view. There is no right or wrong, no evil or good in this world.
"Figure of Speech" is something you have to get use to.
i hate this fucked up sentence, if its a old woman, they will also con them."First is to convince them and if they are not convinced then confused them n if that dont work then con them.Because they con you of your time you should con them back".
Its obvious this job is not suitable for u.
hi ts,
your boss and colleague way of selling pet might not agree by u and it is going against your value but that doesnt mean u have to follow them de ma.
if u think that your way of looking into the customer interest is important then use it as your own selling point lor
even that the breed the customer want and no have, maybe u can recommend similar breed or other breed that suit them lor but u need to tell them honestly lah.
there is a chinese saying 身于污泥而�染, u have your own mind de ma, dont have to get influence by them one ma.
get another job.![]()
Dear TS, honestly. I'm not sure how long have you been in retail, but let me tell you something. It's mostly the same everywhere, because the "3C methodology" is the most lucrative method of all.
So long as you're willing to lie through the gaps of your teeth, you'll be able to make incredible amounts of sales.
Yes, it's like betraying yourself and going against your conscience. However, this is a choice you have to make. "Lie to get more money" or "Be honest and lose some sales".
And i'll be honest with you, i choose the latter. Cause i've never liked to "sell myself out". I believe that once you've "lost yourself" you lose everything because you've lost all that you once stood for.
I used to be a promoter for shoes for the holidays cause i'm waiting for school to start. And i work at a rate of 5.50 an hour. And i get 50 cents commission for every pair i sell.
My job has a decent pay, but it's the commission that makes it a nice paying job. And i actually forgo a few sales because i refused to lie about the product i was pushing.
A few customers with flatfoot actually approached me and asked me for a reccomandation. But i knew that my brand wasn't that good for people with flatfoot and i actually asked them to buy another brand (Ecco, if you were wondering.)
I just felt that the commission isn't worth the pain the customers has to endure if she bought it.
She actually went on to buy a pair of Ecco. But when she came to me, i noticed that the pair she bought was a little loose and i asked her if she felt if it was a little too loose. And she actually realised her mistake and went to get it changed.
Yes, i didn't earned a single cent from her, but i actually felt so much better knowing that she actually was happy with her purchase.
Maybe it's because i'm young, and the problem of financial burden hasn't dawned on me. But at this point in time of life, i absolutely refuse to "sell myself". And i wish this never changes.
Hope this helps you. Cheers
Why not you consider other sectors such as the cleaning and washing sector?A cleaner won't have to betray your conscience.I worked in the cleaning and washing sector before and the only thing you must do is work faster and that's all. No 3Cs.
Yeah thank you all for your different point of views.Greatly appreciated.For me is the same the only thing i got in this world is myself and if i lose myself i lose everything.I m doing my own style at the pet shop and eventhough im being corrected to be more aggresive i will just listen but continue with what i do.
There will come to a point when the boss won't be satisfied with my way of doing sales then by all means i will take my leave as i have done to the best i can and i not im not the right person they r looking for.Each to its own.
The cleaning etc jobs are done by foreign workers so no such job scope for me.Just sales which is clearly not for me.
try getting another job first, once got it, quit this one
Depends what you value most in your current phase of life.
And that changes as one ages.
But that key-core value of yours will remain as your primary guide of concience..
Do you wanna live thru life making a living as a cheat and liar ? No one wants do.
But that is a choice each of us have to make everyday.
You can do it many times, but your chance will run try some day.
Kamma has a funny way of showing up.
Former billionaire investor Madoff had made that decision long ago.
Now he is going to jail at 70. Go figure if it was all worth it.
is there anything that they are doing that is against the law....?
are there rules on how dying/dead animals in pet shops should be handled?
currently you have your rice bowl to look after, but if and when you leave, would you mind reporting their practices to spca? you would be doing the animals a favour.
Originally posted by MySilence:I started work in a pet shop a few weeks back.I was looking for a job and i search on yahoo and found that place and emailed them.I thought the job would be cleaning n taking care of the animals but that is not the case when i went for the interview.It is sales assistant,actually im reluctant about it but i just accepted it because i need a job.
It is really great working with animals around me which is what i love but the job scope is what that irks me.The problem is that it is not your usual sales assistant job scope,It is aggresive selling in a direct selling way.I was in a mlm company B4 this job and i left becoz i dont like to force sell etc.It is not me and it is not who i want to be.
All the sales talk,bullshitting,and cock talking sickens me to the core.The managers tells us the 3Cs to selling."First is to convince them and if they are not convinced then confused them n if that dont work then con them.Because they con you of your time you should con them back".
"When they walk in with a dog breed in mind to buy then its your role to change their mind to get other breed if we do not have the breed at the time".
"To be a good sales person you have to be like a lawyer.A lawyer swears in the court upon the bible that he will say only the truth n nothing but the truth and not lie.But a lawyer of a criminal cant possibly say the truth so what he does?He dont tell the truth,neither do he lie,he simply just tells the judge what he wants the judge to hear.So as salesman we have to be the same,tell the customers what we want them to hear"
I joined the same day as one of my colleague and i heard him doing his sales talk.He is an experienced car sales man b4 this job.I asked him if what he said to the customers was real,he say no lah i just talk cock one ah.WTF!We are not selling products here,we are selling living things and what if the customers brings home the dog n realise that things r not the way my colleague told him then the customer would have thought that maybe its the dog's problem and what the customer does?Abandon it or give it away.We are talking about a life here not a freaking product to be discarded.
My colleagues and my managers talked to me n tell me that no choice etc.Sales is like this.I know to do sales u have to accept all this,most of which is ugly.I dont want to become like them,im not them.Or is it that i need to grow up n accept the neccesary evil of this world?
So far 2 puppies died while i was there.Both the same breed and had the same kind of illness.We did our best to give medication and care for them.I was affected after the first one died,then the other puppy showed the same signs and i got worried that it might die the same way .Its condition became worse and i talk to my colleague about it.I asked him "can i use my own money to bring the dog to a vet?"
He say no point,the company is not going to pay you for that.We are doing the best we can for the dog.No choice,its all a lie but no choice we have to work.
Then i spoke to my manager about it.He say we are doing the best we can for it,the rest is up to the immune system of the dog.He say dont bring to a vet,It might be worse for the dog as the vet might just put it to sleep or have lots of drip etc for it.I know you are a nice person but It will suffer more if bring to a vet.Its not that we dont want to bring it to a vet.We have saved a few dogs b4 ourselves rather than sending to a vet.
I was like ohh ok after he talked to me.Then i started thinking and realised that he might just be doing sales talk to me,telling me what i want to hear.
More like if bring the puppy to a vet,then the shop will have trouble and plus more expenses for the company.
Another manager told me that have to clean the cages after that dog died n keep it low because if the ava officers will to know about it the shop wont be able to operate.
A lot of things to mention but i will just leave it as such for now.
I know its business,n the business world is a ugly world.Its all about profits.Im just so sick of this world.
Mysilence,
The reason why the pet shop continues with the way it operates.
Is simply because.. people like you are willing to do it.
If you don't like it.. walk away from it. Let someone else do the dirty job.
When there are no longer anymore people willing to do it.. the practise will stop.
Be a part of change for the better.
There will always be unjust in this world.. but you don't have to be a part of these dirty play.
Make a choice.. it's all yours.
sorry if i sided with the animals.. cuz i have a very very very very strong feeling with animals especially dogs..
but yeah.. if i were u, ( cuz i have about the same feeling as u) i would just continue doing my job.. but NOT in the wat 3C method.. i will just do wat one of the person replied does, selling shoes to fit ppl, selling animals to help the animal find a good owner... not selling animals to fit the owner...
which means, if i see the owner is a dam dam dam no heart de owner, i will just say dun have wat he wanted these all..
it is not how u sell only.. but also do the animals a favor, as for the illness of the animals, i cant really help... seriously, as a dog lover i saw many dogs tortured on internet..
so if ur issue were whether to use the 3C method to sell or not, then i would say it is just a too simple issue that u should not use the method, wat is the real issue is about the dying of animals... i also dunno how to help if i were u... haiz...
anyway good luck to u and ur job
IA