Existential depression is a depression that arises when an individual confronts certain basic issues of existence. Yalom (1980) describes four such issues (or “ultimate concerns”) — death, freedom, isolation and meaninglessness. Death is an inevitable occurence. Freedom, in an existential sense, refers to the absence of external structure. That is, humans do not enter a world that is inherently structured. We must give the world a structure which we ourselves create. Isolation recognizes that no matter how close we become to another person, a gap always remains, and we are nonetheless alone. Meaninglessness stems from the first three. If we must die, if we construct our own world, and if each one of us is ultimately alone, then what meaning does life have?
The article is titled “Existential Depression in Gifted Individuals”. While I would not go as far to say that I am ‘gifted’, I do suffer from existential depression.
I am able to consider the possibilities of how things might be, or ideally, how things should be. Being able to visualize how things should be ideally, and seeing the world fall short of the ideal standard makes me feel disappointed and frustrated. I envy those who are merely idealists or practical people. They do not understand the anguish of being able to see what ought to be done, or what it should be (the ideal), yet not be able to do it because it just won’t work in this world for one reason or another.
Then I ponder about my significance in this world. I am merely “a wave tossed in the ocean, a vapour in the wind”; that’s how significant I am in light of human history. Why bother trying so hard? Odds are, you’re not going to be someone special anyway. Maybe I should just ‘get on with the program’, so to speak, and stop trying so hard to make a difference. I am a small, insignificant organism who is alone in an absurd, arbitrary and capricious world where my life can have little impact, and then I die.
When death comes, nothing else matters anymore. Your PhDs, your degrees, your masters, your diplomas, your awards, your material possessions — they are no longer important when you’re about to die. When was the last time a dying person told his family members to bring him his educational certificates, his Rolex watch, or his platinum credit card? If nothing matters in the end, why bother trying so hard to accumulate treasures on earth? This is when I experience the feeling that ‘life is meaningless’.
Just when it all seems gloomy and bleak, in comes religion (for me, it’s Christianity). All of a sudden, life has meaning again. Death is no longer final; there will be life after death. All that is to be done on earth is to love and obey God, and to build up my character to be as Christ-like as possible. For awhile, I see the world in rose-tinted glasses.
Then reality sinks in. I’m just a stinking sinner. That nothing I do can make myself righteous in the eyes of God. I hate my sinful nature with a passion, and I hate my hypocritical self. The irony is not lost on me. We all like to say that we dislike hypocrites, and you know what? Christians are the biggest hypocrites out there. We tell people that some of their actions are sins, and then we proceed to commit the same sin. No wonder most people who are not religious dislike Christians; they just can’t stand the sight of someone who projects a holier-than-thou attitude, but is really just a stinking sinner.
And the thing about becoming as Christ-like as possible? Well, it’s impossible to become like Jesus, that is, to have all the qualities He has. Does that mean that I can give up trying? Not so, for that would amount to being complacent. So what can I do? Just try my best? But sometimes, even the ‘best’ isn’t enough, and that’s the case here. I fall into the depths of feeling inadequate again.
These frustrations often lead to anger. But of course, my anger is futile, for it is directed at matters beyond my control (eg. idealism, sinful nature, etc). Anger that is powerless evolves quickly into depression — and this is where I find myself.
huh? sorry my eng sucks... i dun understand... post too long...
just a question,how old are you TS?
you sound like some schizophreniac. (pardon me if i spelled it wrongly.)
there are so many religions... embrace the one that u are at peace with. why self-chain yrself?
Originally posted by Philosofighter:The article is titled “Existential Depression in Gifted Individuals”. While I would not go as far to say that I am ‘gifted’, I do suffer from existential depression.
I am able to consider the possibilities of how things might be, or ideally, how things should be. Being able to visualize how things should be ideally, and seeing the world fall short of the ideal standard makes me feel disappointed and frustrated. I envy those who are merely idealists or practical people. They do not understand the anguish of being able to see what ought to be done, or what it should be (the ideal), yet not be able to do it because it just won’t work in this world for one reason or another.
Then I ponder about my significance in this world. I am merely “a wave tossed in the ocean, a vapour in the wind”; that’s how significant I am in light of human history. Why bother trying so hard? Odds are, you’re not going to be someone special anyway. Maybe I should just ‘get on with the program’, so to speak, and stop trying so hard to make a difference. I am a small, insignificant organism who is alone in an absurd, arbitrary and capricious world where my life can have little impact, and then I die.
When death comes, nothing else matters anymore. Your PhDs, your degrees, your masters, your diplomas, your awards, your material possessions — they are no longer important when you’re about to die. When was the last time a dying person told his family members to bring him his educational certificates, his Rolex watch, or his platinum credit card? If nothing matters in the end, why bother trying so hard to accumulate treasures on earth? This is when I experience the feeling that ‘life is meaningless’.
Just when it all seems gloomy and bleak, in comes religion (for me, it’s Christianity). All of a sudden, life has meaning again. Death is no longer final; there will be life after death. All that is to be done on earth is to love and obey God, and to build up my character to be as Christ-like as possible. For awhile, I see the world in rose-tinted glasses.
Then reality sinks in. I’m just a stinking sinner. That nothing I do can make myself righteous in the eyes of God. I hate my sinful nature with a passion, and I hate my hypocritical self. The irony is not lost on me. We all like to say that we dislike hypocrites, and you know what? Christians are the biggest hypocrites out there. We tell people that some of their actions are sins, and then we proceed to commit the same sin. No wonder most people who are not religious dislike Christians; they just can’t stand the sight of someone who projects a holier-than-thou attitude, but is really just a stinking sinner.
And the thing about becoming as Christ-like as possible? Well, it’s impossible to become like Jesus, that is, to have all the qualities He has. Does that mean that I can give up trying? Not so, for that would amount to being complacent. So what can I do? Just try my best? But sometimes, even the ‘best’ isn’t enough, and that’s the case here. I fall into the depths of feeling inadequate again.
These frustrations often lead to anger. But of course, my anger is futile, for it is directed at matters beyond my control (eg. idealism, sinful nature, etc). Anger that is powerless evolves quickly into depression — and this is where I find myself.
Get over the fact that you will be insignificant. In the light of history, everyone is insignificant. No matter how significant a person is when he is alive. His legacy ultimately fades to nothing.
Religion will give you comfort, as you have found out, only temporarily and only if you are willing to be delusional, to believe in things not proven.
So what do people do, what do people try to aim for while he is alive? Sure, when you are dead it all amounts to nothing, but what do you do and what do you try to achieve when you are still alive, to give meaing to your existence?
Meaning to existence as you have said, is not inherent in reality. Meaning and purpose in life are self-created. You create your own meaning and purpose in life.
The nature and fabric of the universe is relationships. Oxygen and hydrogen combine to create something beautiful like water.
That then is what you should aim for in life. To find "others" to form a relationship that is beautiful.
Like so many things in life, you need practice as well as the equipment. You can have the best equipment but without practice using it, you will never be good at it.
Relationships are the same. You need to practice relating with people to form good relationships.
Therefore the "solution" to your "problem" and your depression is to form relationships with "other people". There is no meaning in life outside of relationships.
Just remember that you need to practice to perfect it; the ability to form relationships (start new relationships) and the ability to have good relationships with people in your live.
Originally posted by Philosofighter:The article is titled “Existential Depression in Gifted Individuals”. While I would not go as far to say that I am ‘gifted’, I do suffer from existential depression.
What you seek is something that can never be found - Perfection as perceived and conceptualised by your rationality based upon the education and experiences in life you received.
Worse still is to find perfection in another - it dont exist. And foolish would you be to expect another to be in your mirror image and a toy. It explains your self inflicted loneliness
I can only sense impatience in you, for 6000 years of recorded history we had evolved till today is not built upon the foundation of speed, but through trial and error. You are akin to a caveman pondering when will it be that he can fly and roam the skies.
You had been blessed with a good intelligent mind, and satisfaction would only lay in the legacy you create with your gift. We may be insignificant and die within years, but in our creations do we gain immortality - works that benefits mankind, from childbirth, literary works to even a simple samaritan gesture - remembered with fondness for eternity, patiently built stone by stone by each successive generation to reach the stratified air of purity that one day perhaps a future mankind may breathe.
Impatience is the cause of your anger, and such energies would be better serve in beneficial creations for mankind, if not, at least for those who took care of you and love you this life. Nothing is more dramatic and epic, of more vital importance than caring for those you love and who loves you, unconditionally such as your parents despite perhaps their authorative and imperfect ways.
Originally posted by Philosofighter:Then reality sinks in. I’m just a stinking sinner. That nothing I do can make myself righteous in the eyes of God. I hate my sinful nature with a passion, and I hate my hypocritical self. The irony is not lost on me. We all like to say that we dislike hypocrites, and you know what? Christians are the biggest hypocrites out there. We tell people that some of their actions are sins, and then we proceed to commit the same sin. No wonder most people who are not religious dislike Christians; they just can’t stand the sight of someone who projects a holier-than-thou attitude, but is really just a stinking sinner.
Hehehehe I know what you mean pal.
Trying to imitate Christ is impossible since He was the son of God and was God Himself. He had no sin whatsoever. Trying to imitate Christ is an arrogance.
However you need to realize that though you and I may fall into sin now and then we must admit our sins especially in front of God(during prayer) and ask for forgiveness and try not to repeat them again. The whole point is to admit our sins and be ashamed of them and try not to repeat them again though we will again in the future. Salvation is from grace. Even holiness is from the grace of God. No one can be called to live a holy life and live a holy unless it is through the grace of God. We are so little that we cannot do things that God demand ourselves. We are hopeless and our faith is weak. But through grace we shall be saved.
Instead of trying to imitate Christ which is an arrogance itself we should strive instead to love God and our fellow men. To literally falling in love with God is the best thing that could ever happened to anyone and that would bring so many blessings. To love one another is way to cleanse our sins and make attonement so that they show God we try and we try to live by His principles and law. However this is where the irony comes. No one can love God unless that love is given unto Him. So the best thing that we can try is to love one another.
We should not try too hard to rely on ourselves. We are each small and vulnerable but so does everyone else in this world. We should do an effort to trust God's judgment and intervention to problems that we are too small to handle. The most powerful weapons is not a nuclear warhead but a sincere prayer that moved God to move the hearts of certain people.
Do not also forget while we suffer what we must suffer in this world of injustice we need to be grateful of our lives without ceasing. And know that God will make all things right in His own time. Faith and perseverance is the key here.
It's better to kill our own ego too. And instead try to love one another.
God is real. So what do we have to lose if we are right? What are we to lose if we are right? Simply because God is real and take peace from knowing that God is real and here. Even if the whole world deny and reject us what do we have to lose in the end if we are right?
People of this world fight very hard even to the point of sinning in order to put themselves in the best position in this world. They do this because they know no better. They heard about God but they know and believe no better. So they put in their everything for this world. Their everything is in their 80 years of so in this life. Let me tell you that what Alexander the great wanted, What Julius Caesar wanted, what Hitler wanted and what Stalin wanted they didn't get it in the end. Instead what they all wanted is given unto them that God choose instead. Praise be to the Lord!
Just do what you believe is right and DO NOT be concerned with the end result instead be more concerned about our own motive. Just go with our own consience and not to worry about the end result. Try not to expect people to act or response in certain way. You are just who you are and I am just who I am and they are each just who they are each.
May His kingdom come soon. May He set us free in time from the snare of death to come.
Good Luck
Some get it, some don't.
humm your post is too long
Everyone is searching for the meaning of life. It cannot be found because there is no meaning in life. Then wah is life? Life is nothing but a bunch of cells.
But dont need to kill yourself yet. This world exists because you exists. In case you have no figured it out. THINK
God exist because you think he exists.
Existence is a concept.
TS, how old are you anyway?
hi ts,
u dont mind if i ask, actually what god got to do with depression?
well, as for depression there is away a event source that cause for being depresess. i think the confusion of the meaning of life and death got u really depress in the first place because u dont have an answer for it.
u by thinking on seeking the answer from god is the way to end your 1st depression, however, u r wrong because by being to be like jesus or god make u depress again. anyway u cant be like them because u are still a sinner whereas they are not.
god didnt make u depress, it is yourself. just accept the fact that u ish either god or jesus. u ish only u and just live your own life will make u a lot happier.
Indeed, who am i that the Lord of all the earth would care to know my name, care to feel my hurt. after all, i am just a "wave tossed in the ocean, a vapour in the wind". You should just continue to quote the rest of the lyrics of the song "WHO I AM" by Casting Crowns. "Still You hear me when i'm calling, and You catch me when i'm falling and You told me who i am."
We are insignificant in the eyes of the world. We are weak and helpless when disasters strike. But all these are to reflect how great and powerful our loving God is. There are billions of people around the world yet He chose to care about an individual like you and I.
Somehow, you sound like a christian who goes church, not realising how treasured you are in the eyes of God. He has given us the Holy Spirit, a Counsellor that teaches and guides us to the Truth and walk according to it. Be still. Hear what the Holy Spirit is saying to you =)
Create ur canvas , paint paradise as u feel resonates of u, and u wil deal with anything that is thrown at u, all emotions are like clouds, they pass, it is unacceptance or acceptance that makes the difference. subsitiutions will work for a while - but what is latent remains buried, it will surface, however, staying with the ... and just letting it pass without getting hooked to it, may work wonders.
On the subject of God - if one is alienated WITHIN, i e , one lacks godliness one will never find god in a temple, church or ..
Prayer of supplication or prayer of gratitude ?
Dear philofightter
i truly respect you for being depressed about the meaning of life. its not an easy depression to get and only those people who cared deeply on what is life all about is likely to think about this.
god did question this in ecclestiastices... the end result is to fear god and obey his commandments as the guide to wise living.
other than that i have no other guide to relieve your depression except to take it a day as it comes.
seeya.
Wall of text =____=
Hold on... So do you believe in the existence of the Judeo-Christian God? Its a little strange that you've managed to find a cause for anguish within the predication that he is real. A belief in God is a belief would entail a possible redemption and salvation of your eternal soul, not to mention offering you that every structure you crave. The existence of God would lead to an objective value for everything in life! An objective value to ethics, to beauty and, obviously, reality.
If Christianity is true, Then Jesus did die on the cross so you would have the opportunity to save yourself from sin. If Christianity is true, then Jesus is indeed God in the flesh. If Christianity is true, there would be logical reason for having your existential crisis, because God IS the logic, and his existence gives your existence meaning.
Unless, of course, you don't actually believe he exists. Within this context of the Atheistic world, you have far larger problems to deal with than the hypocrisy of a group of people who have a certain belief system. A world without God is where your existentialistic depression has bearings.A world without God is yours, so don't bring God into your nihilistic world. He doesn't belong there.
oh my god.im sorry, yet again another wall of text.
relax, and you open your eyes wider :)
hello... u must be thinking too much.
Some people , just too 'smart' liao until they anaylse things too much. Sometimes, its good to be simple minded, childlike and just have a few desires to look forward to in life regularly.... until you die.. like looking forward to the next off day, and looking forward to the cool drink after a days work..
u think too much liao
and u oso cannot do much about it
so just go get urself a beer and drink until u ko
hahaha!