When one gets old and useless, and won't want to be a burden to his loved ones, where/what can he turn to ?
I'd heard of Exit International, that allows one to end his life legally. But I'm not sure about the actual proceedings etc. Emailed,but no response......
Well, well.
I'm just an unmarried man-in-the-street, planning for old age. (1 of the many scenarios in a person's life- being old and alone .......)
This could be a sensitive topic. You may write me an email, perhaps.
If you are going to die because you are alone, unmarried and old, I think there are a lot of people are going to die liao.
the fact that you are "unmarried man-in-the-street" makes me assume u are homeless, since u are homeless, i was surprised u got a com with internet access to surf sgforums to post such a shit!
The gist of this, is
When one gets old and useless, and won't want to be a burden to his loved ones, where/what can he turn to ?
I am wondering what are the options available, and would be able to make an informed decision then.
Why not dont ever be useless in the first place? Assuming you age normally and gracefully without some terminal illness There is no good reason to be useless even when you are old. Old age is just another phase of life it shouldnt be any different from the other phases
Originally posted by dont know much:When one gets old and useless, and won't want to be a burden to his loved ones, where/what can he turn to ?
I'd heard of Exit International, that allows one to end his life legally. But I'm not sure about the actual proceedings etc. Emailed,but no response......
Well, well.
I'm just an unmarried man-in-the-street, planning for old age. (1 of the many scenarios in a person's life- being old and alone .......)
You mean Euthanasia.
Currently, it is illegal to perform that in Singapore, so you will have to travel to Thailand ( The nearest country which allows it ) to do so.
If you are single, the only possible loved ones in your life whom will be with you when you are old will be your parents. And if you were to die, who will look after them? That will be very unfilial of you, as you died on purpose and abadoned them.
If you are healthy and well, even if you are old, you still could work or help out others. There are many instances of old people over 70 helping out others in organisations throughout Singapore.
On the otherhand, if you are old and having bad health, you will probably end up in the old folks' home, and be supported by charity organisations. Well, in Singapore, you do not have a lot of options, and if you have no one else to support you, that is where you would end up in.
Originally posted by dont know much:The gist of this, is
I am wondering what are the options available, and would be able to make an informed decision then.
If you have planned, then it should not be a burden to others. Example for me, I dun plan to get married or even in the near future. I bought myself health insurance that can sustain medical bills and i make sure my parents buy the health insurance as well. Next, I bought saving insurance that is enough to fit my death expenses. So...... As long as I work, not choosy abt salary.... go out regularly w my kakis...... Life passes beautifully for me.
mmmmm, old folks home?
but just dun sleep in the park or riverside..
its just too pitiful to be alone at nite outside..
haiz...
wer are ur family?
This is so pathetic! ![]()
Originally posted by dont know much:When one gets old and useless, and won't want to be a burden to his loved ones, where/what can he turn to ?
Well, well.
Don't you think this is a good opportunity for you to have dreams?
Especially when you have NEVER lived your life the way you have always wanted it to be.
Useless is just a state of mentality, if the handicapped can still do their bit for the society, why do you keep finding excuses for yourself to be weaker and more unhappy than them?
If I were you, I would devote the remaining flames of my life to serve others so that I would make their lives brighter than what it was meant to be.
Be it a slave.....
Originally posted by Fantagf:This is so pathetic!
Yes, this one-liner is really so pathetic.
How old are you?
40s?
Or...?
Btw some people just got married in their 40s (especially male)
Everyone is borned to be loved. Just lift your head up, there will be someone waiting for you. It is not the end of life...
Old still can be useful lah.

Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:You mean Euthanasia.
Currently, it is illegal to perform that in Singapore, so you will have to travel to Thailand ( The nearest country which allows it ) to do so.
If you are single, the only possible loved ones in your life whom will be with you when you are old will be your parents. And if you were to die, who will look after them? That will be very unfilial of you, as you died on purpose and abadoned them.
On the otherhand, if you are old and having bad health, you will probably end up in the old folks' home, and be supported by charity organisations. Well, in Singapore, you do not have a lot of options, and if you have no one else to support you, that is where you would end up in.
Singaporean can travel all the way to thailand to perform Euthanasia meh?
And when you are old, your parents will probably be dead by than.
Old and having bad health, how do you actually apply to go to a a old folks home and get supported by charity?
TS can also go commit some crimes and get free stay and free food at changi prison
No matter old or young, you still can create value in life and help others who are less-fortunate than you.
enjoy life, u only live once.
Basis of life is suffering.
Lifestyle repeats itself- sleep,eat,work.
(Of course, the occasional socialising with others; going out etc.)
Everything is superficial, unless one inspires great change in himself, or someone else.
Hopefully, things turn out fine for every being who ever lives.
That is, living the life that he/she wants.
Which person, in the world, would want to care for an old man? (unless one is a paid care-giver)
Would you?
Don't you have better things to do?
Don't you want to spend time with your family, hobbies?
Travel?
Enjoying your own life?
TS, Why are u so negative???!!!
i know this sounds cliche and quite rude but get a life la.... so what u are old?? some grandpa took taichi lesson or even better...sky-diving <--- can happen.
u just get out of here and go sign up for some activities... chill with those peoples out there, an ah pek can also be very entertaining too u know. gogogo....go u winner person. go and sign up for activities... gogo i support u. Dont die because of this regret in your mind.
gogogo come on u all.... support him gogogo
Originally posted by Bak la va:
TS, Why are u so negative???!!!
i think he is only 13 year old...
U feel alone - cos simply put u dont like your own company - if u dont love yourself - how can another do so or even appreciate u - cos u would eventually reject them - cos if u dont have it in you = u wont see it another.
As for being old - u are aging - either simply wasting away - or evolving, aging gracefully.
No one is privy to what u do with others or ... and what u are all about, i m not asking u to tell me or anyone here ... i am merely guessing.
I have merely skimmed the surface - do understand that all that u suffer is cos u are unaccepting of what u are , if u care - do that for yourself first lar, the rest will fall into place.
are u doing school project or what? but frankly speaking many pple didnt get themself prepare for a lonely old age. u need to get yourself prepare physically and psychologically according to your own financial status when u retire.
old pple dont eat much and dont sleep much. train yourself to have a meat per day, u can also reduce your expenses this way where u have no more income and have to depend on your cpf saving. get a smaller flat as u no longer need to move around that much.
when u are lonely, there are many stuff u can do at home. one of them u can consider is meditation. u can pass your time and make yourself psychologically healthy by doing that.
practice yoga every morning to keep yourself physically healthy also another example.
those thing like anjoying yourself or go travel u can forget about it if u cannot afford. avoid going to geylang to look for young china girl friend, they will drain your saving and make your life miseable.
lastly when that time arrives, close your eyes, put on a smile and bid this world good bye...., u come to this world alone and will be leaving alone. there no such thing as i come to this world with my friends and will be leaving together with all of them.
well. old and useless huh.
that's just life. you are single without love one.
than find life no meaning.
and want to end it.
some how, to end own life take courage. but i suggest you keep your life for something better, maybe you will find something better to do and you enjoy it tomorrow. so live another day for tomorrow. and tomorrow live another day for the next.... like that you won't die, there's always hope u find something better to do tomorrow
Thanks all, for the above-posts.
Well, well...... my parents are still around, and my siblings are starting/having their own families.
So, at a later stage, I may be all by myself. (maybe not? Hopefully...)
& when things are really meaningless then, isn't ending one's life a wise choice?