i hope you always get bastard and bitch at work
Originally posted by L.lawliett79:A few things have happened at work, but somehow I'm happier now that it has happened..
The 'biggest' thing that happened is that we fell out with another colleague. 'We' are me and another Chinese girl. The colleague is a filipino girl.
What happened in the lab was all her fault. I mean even though yea, we mistakenly left her behind (more about that later), we apologised to her after that. And you know what? Her sms read "it's okay =))". But apparently it wasn't okay, because the next day she started ignoring us, from the very first time we saw her that morning, she just ignored us both. I already sensed she was gonna do something like this (it's not the first time she's showing that kind of stupid fucked-up attitude), so I didn't say or do anything, didn't even say 'hi' to her. Although I wouldn't have ignored her if she didn't ignore us first. And the other Chinese girl, she said 'hi' to the filipino. She got a dirty look in return. And, at lunch that day, the Chinese girl offered the filipino some of her lunch. And the latter gave her a dirty look.
I mean, "WTH?!" F-ed up larh.
My take on things is like that: whatever attitude someone gives me, I give back. If possible, double or even triple. So, I ignored her.
She's taking things another step further. Making it worse. In lab, whilst we are doing our work, she keeps making unnecessary noise, like singing damn loudly, talking damn loudly and 'happily' (?!), and talking to others (whom she's making use of) damn sweetly, the very annoyingly 'teh' (act-cute) way.
And she even kept kicking her table to make noise. The back of our table is a metal sheet, so kicking it is making annoying noises. Hell.
What was our 'fault'? Okay me and my Chinese friend were rushing to the MRT after getting off the bus after work. The filipino was following us. She was slow, and me and the Chinese girl rushed into the MRT train when we saw it, and turned back looking for her. Couldn't find her, cos there were so many people. It was only after the door closed that we saw her, and she saw us too. I caught that 'microexpression' of annoyance flitting across her face. Then she rearranged her features into a very fake smile and waved us goodbye. Afterwhich, my friend messaged her "sorry we left you behind, we didn't know you were so far away from us. Sorry, we see you tomorrow" or something to that effect. It was an apology!! And the next day my friend also apologised to her.
Gawd, what a childish person (the filipino). This isn't the first time she did something like this.
The first was, she ignored the filipino guy (used to be the 4 of us hanged out together, like talking during our free times, lunching together). And the reason being? "He didn't talk to me so I'm not talking to him." Argh, that day when she decided to start ignoring him, he was very very very busy. This 'cold' war lasted a month. They made up in the end. It was the guy who took the initiative. Not the girl. And, the girl was shouting so loudly "I miss him!! I want to go out with him, I want to sit with him." So fake.
The second? It was me who kena-ed the 'cold' war. Not my fault okay. The 4 of us arranged to go Sentosa on a Sunday. Then, on that day itself, when I reached HarbourFront, I was waiting for them. Then I got a message from my Chinese friend, saying she and the guy couldn't contact the filipino girl. So the trip off. And what, the filipino girl messaged me 30 MINUTES AFTER THE ARRANGED MEETUP TIME saying "outing cancelled. you know?" I replied, "no. what happened." Her message "I duno, they cancelled." She's blaming them! Without a word of sorry. I knew she just woke up. Because the day before (Saturday), she was supposed to entertain her visiting fellow countrymen and take them to Sentosa. No responsibility to message us the night before to at least say, "I'm tired, maybe tml not going with you guys."
Well the next day (Monday) she ignored me. I was pissed off and ignored her as well, cos I can't be bothered to go and por(mollycoddle) someone who's in the wrong. I heard from my Chinese friend that she took 2 days to persuade the filipino to talk to me. And how did the filipino 'apologise'? "Hey! Why you never talk to me for so long ah?" T_T she said it in a 'joking' manner to 'hint' that she's "not in the wrong". WAHHH
And I'm the type of person, when I know of something good, I'll tell my friends about it if I knew they were looking out for that. For eg, I told her about the IT fair cos she was asking around about it. And I told her, "if you know any sales, tell me! I want to buy stuff!" she said 'okay', but she didn't keep that promise. I know. I found out. I hate people like that. I already openly told her what I'm looking for, she had the info, couldn't be bothered to share.
Alot of times also, she 'made appointments' with me to go out, never keep them. And she never take responsibility to tell me, like even on that day itself. I knew she would break the appointment. But I just kept quiet for the whole day to see if she would tell me. She didn't. A whole day working in the SAME PLACE and she can't be bothered to tell me. So at the end of the day I said, 'we going out right?' she said 'no, sorry I going out with my BF'. I asked, 'when did you confirm you going out with him?'. She said 'yesterday'. Never apologised. T_T
Alot, alot of times. I gave her chanceS. (Note the plural) Normally my first impression of a person is right. I got the impression (When I first got to know her) that she wasn't good. There's no reason, just an instinct. But I chose to give her chances. Which she didn't treasure.
So okay, I give up. I'm happier now. I don't have to pretend I like her. It was tiring.
She's the type of person who'll bitch about others when she's in the wrong. I bet (and I have the feeling) she bitched about us to the Manager, saying it's our fault that caused the rift. (the manager noticed the 4 of us have now become 2-2) I know it, because that's how I'm like. Her behaviour and mine are the same, when we are annoyed. (I don't act as fake and as 'friendly' as she is though.) I know I'm annoying when I act like that. I just didn't know how bad. Now that I'v seen, I feel I really gotta change and be more aware of my behaviour.
I sound like such a bitch. But who wouldn't? If they had a 'friend' like that?And then, the guy joined in. So now we have double trouble. The two of them gang up to do stuffs to annoy the both of us chinese. For me, I really heck care, because I was the one who brought up the matter to manager and complained about them, dun think they also dare to cause too much trouble. In the first 8 mths before this happend, I was with them and amongst us all the two of them always tease me cos I 'let them bully' me. Den now they irritate me i go bite them back.
An MCP and a witch. I'm resigning. The MCP dares to make trouble but dare not face it. He dare not face me when I'm angry. The witch only dares to make trouble when the MCP is around. What weaklings. Want to make trouble, they shouldn't have to wait for 'backing' what... My gawds...
TS, from my perspective, seems like ur oversensitive... u assume far too many things and ur emotion affect ur perception too much...
Eg: how do u know she will 'bitch' abt u in front of the Manager ?
just because u will do it, doesn't mean she will do it... u may say both of u are similar, actually if u r really that 'similar' to her, u would understand why she behaves the way she is and be more understanding...
and what makes you think that she does things purposely to annoy you ? ur making it like its her life purpose to annoy you...
Most people have LIFE, they are not out there planning on how to irritate people just because 'i cant get along with u'
See things in perspective... find out the facts and avoid jumping to conclusion....
Also, it would be bad to mix work and personal feelings all in one... thus ur manager's concern.
Even if at the end of the day u can't be friend with her... so what... u can't be friends with everybody anyway... however for the sake of work... do get along... it's part of maturity to be able to get along with ppl different than u...
anyone knows why filippinos are called "pinoys"?
got any origin or explanation?
blacks are called niggers as a derogatory term, and i see that the word "nigger" originates from Nigeria, thus "Niger" ---> "nigger".
chinese are called "chinks" by some racist whites, and it's from "chinese" ---> "chinks".
pinoys???!!! from "Phillippines" to "pinoy" is a bit far off leh......shouldn't it be "Philey"??
and btw, some filippinas (especially those pale skin ones), are indeed very arrogant and proud. it's a well-known fact that a lot of fillipinas see themselves as white americans, due to their cultural similarities. i really wanna slap these ****es, though.
come on, we're all effing asians, what's there to be looking down on others for???!!!!!
Originally posted by xtreyier:Glad you let it out of your system. I suppose you feel better now.
Time to face up to reality now.
1. Office politics is common and is an everyday occurence. I know it's difficult, but somehow, we must work within our differences and find a common ground to stand on. Working life is no longer the carefree days of school life. You are now earning a living and building up your career.
Anywhere you go will ALWAYS be like this, sad to say. But the solution, once again, is to find a common ground to stand on, live and let live, even if friendships cannot be struck up at the workplace. Be the professional that you are suppose to be, in your profession.
That's why we have after office hours and weekends, to relax and find true friends of our own.
2. Never resign. Not in this financial climate. Unless you have a better job on hand and ready to make that switch, or you will truly yourself in between a falling rock and a hard place of unemployment. Trust me, anywhere you go is the same. It aint school life anymore.
3. Chill out, enjoy some light music, and hope you may consider my suggestions.
Good luck and cheers.
Ya true…But this thing I tahan for nearly half a year liao.. actually 4mths to be exact.. and know what, even when we were ‘friends’ the fili guy used to embarrass me because of my problem. My hearing is bad. And I did mention to them because the guy asked me damn loudly why I “always cannot hear”. I didn’t want to tell him. But he kept bugging me so yea I told him and my Chinese gal pal. And each time the guy would be “hey I called you so many times y u never hear??” and bug me AROUND THE LAB even when I said ‘enough anot?!’ he always says those stuff damn loudly. He always called damn loudly, shouting in the lab "where are you where are you" even though he knows i cannot hear him as the lab is usually noisy. He doesn't bother to come and look for me but keeps shouting. Now that kind of guy decided not to be ‘friend’ liao, guess what’s happening in the lab? Not that I cannot understand that there is office politics, but there’s a limit when it starts on personal attacks on something I already feel so low about.
My first rant was actually something that happened at the beginning of the year before the guy joined in. At that point it was, as you said, tahan-able. But now that the guy joined in, they are doing more serious stuff that warrant my resignation.
Originally posted by xtreyier:Re-reading my post, I realize i may not had been more clear in defining the difference between school days and work life.
It is largely individual effort during school days, and it would not matter 'dont friend, dont friend loh' kind of attitude. No one else can help you gain an A in your Science except your own hard work in the exams.
But at work, it is largely a team effort. You are only part of the system whereby a company survives or profit. The chain is only as strong as its weakest link.
Therefore if there are any problem at work, it is the role of the manager to ensure the system of team effort function efficiently by building rapport among qualified members of the team.
Failure to do so will only ensure the company collapse. Thus your manager will have to take responsibility for his failure should you resign, that is, if you are indeed the problem and not the other girl. If not, it would be the company's loss.
Rather than to lay blame on the manager, you could at your level see if you can draw a line and maintain a professional distance, to help your career and the company you work for.
You will be admired and go far for it if your manager is competent or his 'rational' door is open to discuss and find solutions.
See the difference?
Yea I see the diff. I spoke to both qc manager and lab manager and hr manager about this, but they’r like ‘small matter la, just tahan’. But hey, I kept stressing to them that they are DISRUPTING OUR WORK by snatching machines and stuff, but the managers wouldn’t listen. Ok lor, since my friend and I already tahan and didn’t do anything back to them, we’re not at fault.
I already have a backup plan, because I wouldn’t ever resign from anything w/o another job/study plan. Im already onto the backup plan I have, just waiting for a chance to see GM about this. Im not letting this go.
Originally posted by Stimulatedfib:Depends on whose "last day" comes first ba. Haha =D
Eh but, seriously boss (TS =P), like Mr. xtreyier mentioned, "Anywhere you go will ALWAYS be like this". In school also got (can say cos I just got out with diploma).
If you be ninja (zabo ninja hot woo~~ =X) or some form of solo-ranger then nothing to say. So, don't bother resigning. Wait next workplace 2 fili girl + 2 fili guy or more ah, how sia like that? =\
My strategy in school was: as much as possible, just siam the people you don't like, like say lunchtime or what. Employment contract also never say must eat with them ba. But then again, I never wore a skirt to school, so could run and jump around as I wished. XPFind ways to deal with them lo (for now at least), especially by discussing with your Chinese girl khaki (chio ma? =D). Methods don't need be direct ones, if you know what I mean. =)
About the "go Sentosa" thing ah, if tio pang seh then can try call other good friend go gaigai with you lo. After all, goodness knows how much time you spent on makeup...
And I strongly suggest against listening to emo music (at least till "they" gone), only makes you more emo & angry & ready to explode. Confirm more effective than naked gunpowder. (Then again, gunpowder got wear clothes de meh? Underwear also bo. =\)
Best of luck. =)
And best of colleagues (in future)
siam liao wor. i siam from ppl who dont like me/ppl i dont like/ppl who try to create trouble. but still those two idiots come after me try to make me angry. when my friend and i tell them off, they dont even deign to look at us (or issit dun dare, i duno)
me arh, that sentosa thing, i was damn pissed off and went walking around vivo myself. no, nv put makeup la siao. sentosa nia. put makeup for what sia ^^
Originally posted by p228:TS,
Understand why you so angry.. It's common to meet such people at work.. I also used to it..
Seems like its always better to keep a distance from your colleagues..
What i mean is: Normal working days lunch together ok lar.. But non-working days keep as it is.
Don't be too close to them.
You'll never know when they will stab you.
I know's saying this is harsh.. but none of the colleagues can be trusted.
I don't trust my colleagues too much either.. Yes, we chat and fool around during work and lunch time.. but non-work days means my own life.. I won't meet my colleagues to go out or anything.
Lesson learnt for you to be more wary of all these "small minded" people..
yup.. admittedly I didn't really keep a distance from them, still made friends with the pinoys but I felt they were like that.. in my heart.. when we were friends. Kinda prepared for this kind of stuff. So I didn’t feel any sense of loss when this happened, just anger that I was treated as less than what I am. Im not a nationalist or anything, I do have good pinoy friends..(but they were the older ones like 50+)
stayed away liao but they’r doing stuff to us now. U know, like sabotaging my sample, throwing away my chemicals?? Everytime I tell those managers this, they just said, aiya, where’s ur evidence? Small matter la, just prepare again lor! *%(^&#)# [need time to prepare sia; disrupt my work]
Originally posted by parn:
Usually I would alight at the next station and wait for the next train and board my friend's train and travel together.It's called friendship, not like you....abandonship.
Dear parn, I waited for my friend. Don't get me wrong, I did have a plan earlier on and was thinking to resign but didn't want to leave her behind. But now she’s resigning too. That's why we are BOTH resigning together. Anyways, I tolerated more, cos on the 4th last day my backup plan will start up. Might as well keep the money coming in until the last minute.
Originally posted by p228:It all depends..
Doing that is certainly fine.. But you must see whether the other party is worth your time and effort or not.. Why wait for somebody who does not appreciate it at all?
It all boils down to how you wanna deal with the person..
I agree with TS that if the person does not appreciate it, forget it..
i gave her too many f-ing chances liao.. im too nice..for ppl to step on...
Originally posted by L.lawliett79:siam liao wor. i siam from ppl who dont like me/ppl i dont like/ppl who try to create trouble. but still those two idiots come after me try to make me angry. when my friend and i tell them off, they dont even deign to look at us (or issit dun dare, i duno)
me arh, that sentosa thing, i was damn pissed off and went walking around vivo myself. no, nv put makeup la siao. sentosa nia. put makeup for what sia ^^
Then must train running, so can siam better. hehe ^^
Even if is Sentosa... dunno leh... some girl pretty vain de... or just weird... =X
Next time kena pang seh call me out lo. Go vivo walk with you.
If you don't mind xdd that is... XP
Originally posted by VL:
Wall of TEXT
Damage x 1 000 000 000 000 000
TS must be a girl ...
LOL
Originally posted by Stimulatedfib:Then must train running, so can siam better. hehe ^^
Even if is Sentosa... dunno leh... some girl pretty vain de... or just weird... =X
Next time kena pang seh call me out lo. Go vivo walk with you.
If you don't mind xdd that is... XP
HAHAHAA u live near vivo ah.
Originally posted by L.lawliett79:HAHAHAA u live near vivo ah.
No. But I live pretty close to the NEL. =P
And I thought this thread had dieded. XP
Originally posted by Stimulatedfib:No. But I live pretty close to the NEL. =P
hahaa. talk cock la. everyone in sg gg to be living near mrt line liao. so many lines liao.
Originally posted by L.lawliett79:hahaa. talk cock la. everyone in sg gg to be living near mrt line liao. so many lines liao.
Better than someone live close to Pasir Ris then want go Vivo right.... I'm saying if got such persons la...
Originally posted by Stimulatedfib:Better than someone live close to Pasir Ris then want go Vivo right.... I'm saying if got such persons la...
i go from one end of the line to the other for work everyday =XXXXXX
Originally posted by L.lawliett79:i go from one end of the line to the other for work everyday =XXXXXX
Oooo... ok la, a lot of time can take nap. XD
Originally posted by Stimulatedfib:Oooo... ok la, a lot of time can take nap. XD
sleep mouth open big-big. haha!
Originally posted by L.lawliett79:sleep mouth open big-big. haha!
Skarly wait someone take then post in Stomp then you know. =X
And Uncle Lawlie you better not drool...
Originally posted by Stimulatedfib:Skarly wait someone take then post in Stomp then you know. =X
And Uncle Lawlie you better not drool...
hahaa. v common lar. and nobody (on here) knows how i look like anywaz. so okay mah ^^
Originally posted by L.lawliett79:hahaa. v common lar. and nobody (on here) knows how i look like anywaz. so okay mah ^^
Is not for us to see de. But if have then all the better. XD
Originally posted by Stimulatedfib:Is not for us to see de. But if have then all the better. XD
omg i drooled today man. heng nobardi see ![]()