hi,i have a problem.
im currently working as an intern in a company. so for the first few weeks, my job is doable. doing excel, data entries, researching. quite reasonable and easy to do. then after about 3 weeks of working, my boss confronted me and asked me if wanna try and do telemarketing. she said its just temporary, for exposure, i will also be given extra comission.she said she would respect my decision if i dont want to do telemarketing as it is not the actual job scope that they offered. but then i agreed since it was just for exposure and hey, i get extra comission.
after 2 weeks of doing telemarketing, i realised that i wasnt interested in it as i had to call ppl from japan, korea, india, new zealand. my boss even gave me a target of 80 calls a day to do, that will take about 4 hr plus to do.and i will always get bad results after all the calls.its just wasnt my cup of tea.so i emailed her that i wish to stop, but she said i need to continue doing. she also told my teacher back at school! i was so fed up as it was affecting my grades badly! i dont know what to do, i feel trapped. i really wanna stop this telemarketing bullshit as it affects my grades badly, but i cant. bo pian lor.
how how how how??
Originally posted by danialism:hi,i have a problem.
im currently working as an intern in a company. so for the first few weeks, my job is doable. doing excel, data entries, researching. quite reasonable and easy to do. then after about 3 weeks of working, my boss confronted me and asked me if wanna try and do telemarketing. she said its just temporary, for exposure, i will also be given extra comission.she said she would respect my decision if i dont want to do telemarketing as it is not the actual job scope that they offered. but then i agreed since it was just for exposure and hey, i get extra comission.
after 2 weeks of doing telemarketing, i realised that i wasnt interested in it as i had to call ppl from japan, korea, india, new zealand. my boss even gave me a target of 80 calls a day to do, that will take about 4 hr plus to do.and i will always get bad results after all the calls.its just wasnt my cup of tea.so i emailed her that i wish to stop, but she said i need to continue doing. she also told my teacher back at school! i was so fed up as it was affecting my grades badly! i dont know what to do, i feel trapped. i really wanna stop this telemarketing bullshit as it affects my grades badly, but i cant. bo pian lor.
how how how how??
See that highlighted part? Well, there is no such thing as easy money.
The best thing for you to do now is to ask your techer to step in and help you out. Paint him/her the full picture and beg him/her to help you. If you have offended him/her all the time, the only thing left for you to do now is to suck your thumb.
Your boss probably couldn't find anyone else to hook up, but you shown up, and was thus hooked up with the bait of extra $$. There is another way to save yourself, and that is to replace someone else on that hook. That will be a very wrong thing to do, and I seriously suggest that you do not do it.
And don't bother with speaking with your boss, the more you made her fed-up, the less likely that you are going to get away from telemarketing.
How long is this going to be? Be optimistic.....if you can survive cold calls, you can survive well.
Originally posted by SevenEleven:How long is this going to be? Be optimistic.....if you can survive cold calls, you can survive well.
The problem now is that he is spending so much time on these phone calls that it is affecting his studies and grades.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:The problem now is that he is spending so much time on these phone calls that it is affecting his studies and grades.
yes exactly. telemarketing is affecting my grades badly. and i have to start calling hongkong numbers after lunch! geez! if i knew this would happen, i wouldnt agree on doing it.
i already did talk to my teacher in sch about this problem, he told me to just continue, and if still have any problems let him know. but i doubt he will do anything. haiz. from now on, i hate gg to work, especially after lunch when i have to do telemarketing.
and my boss even compared me to the professional telemarketers, she said that they have good results, why not me. wtf! im just an amateur, how can u compare me to them! zzz
Originally posted by danialism:yes exactly. telemarketing is affecting my grades badly. and i have to start calling hongkong numbers after lunch! geez! if i knew this would happen, i wouldnt agree on doing it.
i already did talk to my teacher in sch about this problem, he told me to just continue, and if still have any problems let him know. but i doubt he will do anything. haiz. from now on, i hate gg to work, especially after lunch when i have to do telemarketing.
and my boss even compared me to the professional telemarketers, she said that they have good results, why not me. wtf! im just an amateur, how can u compare me to them! zzz
But you didn't knew beforehand, hence your boss easily hooked you up with the bait of $$.
As for your teacher, he is probably one of those who looks out for their own interests more than others. I wouldn't say that he is wrong, but I will say that you are not going to get much help from him.
Your boss is just trying to make you stay for as long as she could. I highly doubt she would let you off the hook during your internship period.
Well, you could ask someone to help you do part of the phoning to lessen your load, though I highly doubt anyone will help you out. Even if they do help you out, odds are they will give up soon enough after realising how troublesome and time-consuming it is.
Okay, all in all, time for more thumb-sucking.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:But you didn't knew beforehand, hence your boss easily hooked you up with the bait of $$.
As for your teacher, he is probably one of those who looks out for their own interests more than others. I wouldn't say that he is wrong, but I will say that you are not going to get much help from him.
Your boss is just trying to make you stay for as long as she could. I highly doubt she would let you off the hook during your internship period.
Well, you could ask someone to help you do part of the phoning to lessen your load, though I highly doubt anyone will help you out. Even if they do help you out, odds are they will give up soon enough after realising how troublesome and time-consuming it is.
Okay, all in all, time for more thumb-sucking.
yes i agree that my sch teacher wont do anything and theres noone that is gonna help me. there are 2 other interns here, but they didnt get to do telemarketing. i always talk to them about this problem, and emailing to the boss is their idea.now they also say the same thing u said, just endure, bo pian already. i also feel the same way as in i have no other choice but to just do it. i just regret taking this task badly. haiz.
but if i dont get good results in telemarketing(which is very likely) and it affects my grades in the long run, i will definitely tell my sch teacher. if he doesnt want to do anything, i think i have to speak to the boss. rather than i suffer in silence?
Originally posted by danialism:hi,i have a problem.
how how how how??
hang up that farking phone!!
Originally posted by danialism:yes i agree that my sch teacher wont do anything and theres noone that is gonna help me. there are 2 other interns here, but they didnt get to do telemarketing. i always talk to them about this problem, and emailing to the boss is their idea.now they also say the same thing u said, just endure, bo pian already. i also feel the same way as in i have no other choice but to just do it. i just regret taking this task badly. haiz.
but if i dont get good results in telemarketing(which is very likely) and it affects my grades in the long run, i will definitely tell my sch teacher. if he doesnt want to do anything, i think i have to speak to the boss. rather than i suffer in silence?
Well, whatever your boss says of you will also affect your gradings, so if you are going to complain to her, you will be taking quite a hugh risk.
I don't know about your school teacher, but given that he has faced lots of students, especially some who tried to 'keng', I highly doubt he is going to give you the benefit of doubt.
Sorry, but there isn't anymore advice which I think I can give you to help you out.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
hang up that farking phone!!
haha sometimes i feel like doing that!
forbiddensinner- thanks for all the advices!
i hope the telemarketing will stop soon!! urgh!!!!
remember .
dun eber work for a female boss.
u is so lucky to learn such a valuable life lesson.
since u already say bo bian
just stick to it loh
really there nothing u can do.
endure a while more before you get back to school
buaya your boss
when she become your lover, then you have better time at work
if she pretty then its a bonus but if she ugly also bo pian
How long is your internship? it's not like you need to do while you are studying wat... so how can doing telesales during intern affect your studies?
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:How long is your internship? it's not like you need to do while you are studying wat... so how can doing telesales during intern affect your studies?
hey guys, i just finished my 80 calls. urgh! my internship is 12 weeks, will end at august 14th. telemarketing affect my internship grade, if i get a bad grade for internship, it will affect my overall gpa.. thats why its bothering me.
pedo bear: buaya means what? im a malay, buaya is crocodile! lol
candiz: after this no more sch for me, graduation baby!:D
Originally posted by danialism:hey guys, i just finished my 80 calls. urgh! my internship is 12 weeks, will end at august 14th. telemarketing affect my internship grade, if i get a bad grade for internship, it will affect my overall gpa.. thats why its bothering me.
pedo bear: buaya means what? im a malay, buaya is crocodile! lol
candiz: after this no more sch for me, graduation baby!:D
http://www.talkingcock.com/html/lexec.php?op=LexLink&lexicon=lexicon&keyword=BUAYA
What pedobear means is for you to "pick up" your boss.
And don't let it bother you, because you no longer have a say in anything.
Internships are meant to be valuable working learning experiences which one amasses prior to a career.
While telemarketing sales can be boring as you will be getting the same standard replies after 5 calls, do know that each call is handled differently. You will even be able to anticipate their replies and turn those rejections into communication success with experience.
I do not know what course you are in, but it must have been vital enough for your teacher to want you to continue in it, probably to gain valuable communication experience.
But I do agree that if it is affecting your academic studies, then it should be dropped, unless what you do is critical to your grades, which you must give your best attempt till you failed so miserably that you know for yourself you are not cut out for such future endeavours in communication.
A talk with your parents or your principal oughta do the trick to get you out of the internship programme. But I would suggest that you talk to someone senior or a working adult with the kind of studies you are in for better advice, for if you attempt to drop out of a vital experience enriching programme may actually hinder your comprehension in academic excercises and lead to worse grades later on.
Originally posted by xtreyier:Internships are meant to be valuable working learning experiences which one amasses prior to a career.
While telemarketing sales can be boring as you will be getting the same standard replies after 5 calls, do know that each call is handled differently. You will even be able to anticipate their replies and turn those rejections into communication success with experience.
I do not know what course you are in, but it must have been vital enough for your teacher to want you to continue in it, probably to gain valuable communication experience.
But I do agree that if it is affecting your academic studies, then it should be dropped, unless what you do is critical to your grades, which you must give your best attempt till you failed so miserably that you know for yourself you are not cut out for such future endeavours in communication.
A talk with your parents or your principal oughta do the trick to get you out of the internship programme. But I would suggest that you talk to someone senior or a working adult with the kind of studies you are in for better advice, for if you attempt to drop out of a vital experience enriching programme may actually hinder your comprehension in academic excercises and lead to worse grades later on.
hey thanks for the advice. my course is in IT and obviously it has nothing to do with telemarketing.thats why im not ver pleased.
for now i will just continue doing for the sake of doing it until i cannot tahan then i will take the necessary actions. i just hope that this will benefit me in some way.
forbiddensinner: ahh, now i understand. hahah, i didnt know a buaya means that. sounds very weird if i say it out loud! lol
hey stupid idiot fools.
you don't like then u don't do? these life is REAL. everything is not you say NO mean NO.
you are given shit task to do jolly well do it well.
it's not forever.
i remember my friend, who is poor and losed everything, even his wife run away. because he is LAZY like you, refused to do the things he don't want.
P/S:Hey short ninja, lick your mum's ass and don't quote what i say. u son of the bitch
Originally posted by Fire Cracker:hey stupid idiot fools.
you don't like then u don't do? these life is REAL. everything is not you say NO mean NO.
it's not forever.
i remember my friend, who is poor and losed everything, even his wife run away. because he is LAZY like you, refused to do the things he don't want.
P/S:Hey short ninja, lick your mum's ass and don't quote what i say. u son of the bitch
You still alive ar!
'refused to do things he don't want'
What kind of England is that?
You talk about your friend behind his back some more
I would rather have a Commodo Dragon as my pet than to have
a back stabber like you who doesnt know how to type in English.
it's not forever.
u are those typical ppl who doesnt care for your own interest. u still do stuff even if u dont like it. no offence, but im the other kind of person. i take pride in what i do. i would rather have a job that i have interest or passion in than having a crappy job where u need to force urself to go everyday. i think its mentally unhealthy. no disrespect to u cuz i know a lot of ppl like u. i see them struggle their way to go to work.if everyone thinks like u, i think our lives would be borinng and rather plain. think about it, just my opinion.
cheers
it's not forever.
Hey, define LAZY properly. Doesn't mean that someone who refused to do things he don't want to means he's lazy. TS has stated he suddenly do not have the interest to complete it.
Imagine yourself being asked to wash the toilet when you should be doing office work. Will you be happy about doing it?
Yes, this world is too real. But, as a human, we have the rights to reject something. When you say "given shit task to do jolly well do it well", i can confirm your life is too dull, just like a big plains with black grass, flowers and sky, trapped in the plains forever without ever finding the right path.Come on, life should be as colorful as the rainbow, doing things that would make you believe in making a better day. If everyone got the same mindset as you, then this should not be the 21st century. It should be the ancient dinosaur era.
Next time, please. Put yourself in someone's shoes. Life ain't the army commands.
Originally posted by Ah@Quan:Hey, define LAZY properly. Doesn't mean that someone who refused to do things he don't want to means he's lazy. TS has stated he suddenly do not have the interest to complete it.
Imagine yourself being asked to wash the toilet when you should be doing office work. Will you be happy about doing it?Yes, this world is too real. But, as a human, we have the rights to reject something. When you say "given shit task to do jolly well do it well", i can confirm your life is too dull, just like a big plains with black grass, flowers and sky, trapped in the plains forever without ever finding the right path.Come on, life should be as colorful as the rainbow, doing things that would make you believe in making a better day. If everyone got the same mindset as you, then this should not be the 21st century. It should be the ancient dinosaur era.
Next time, please. Put yourself in someone's shoes. Life ain't the army commands.
+1 :)
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
You still alive ar!'refused to do things he don't want'
What kind of England is that?
You talk about your friend behind his back some more
I would rather have a Commodo Dragon as my pet than to have
a back stabber like you who doesnt know how to type in English.
hey foreigner dog. never get strike by lightning yet. cheebye. u eat shit fark you.