Have you ever had the feeling that you want to explain a particular concept to your teacher/facilitator and he/she simply shuts you up by interrupting and asking you a lot of questions?
This is FREAKING IRRITATING...I AM SO PISSED OFF!!!!!!!!!!!
I hate it when people interrupt me when I am talking. They simply don't understand that I am seriously trying to do my best and reason out things...DAMN SHIT!!!!
Does anyone have any advice for me? I want to find justice to those who are innocent...
Originally posted by Darkangellus:
Have you ever had the feeling that you want to explain a particular concept to your teacher/facilitator and he/she simply shuts you up by interrupting and asking you a lot of questions?
I hate it when people interrupt me when I am talking. They simply don't understand that I am seriously trying to do my best and reason out things...DAMN SHIT!!!!
Does anyone have any advice for me? I want to find justice to those who are innocent...
That is the way some teachers are. You throw questions as them, they throw questions back at you. This does not mean that they are lousy, as some teachers do so because they want you to think through about concepts yourself first.
On the otherhand, there are of course some teachers who can't be bothered to answer your questions, hence they keep trying to interrupt you so as to shut your mouth up.
There is nothing much you can do on your part except to listen to them, regardless of which category your teacher comes from. You can try telling your teacher next time to listen to what you have to say first before they talk, but note that you will have to put it in a polite manner. This is when you will figure out which category your teacher comes from.
If it is the former, then good for you, he/she will listen to you, but if it is the latter, oh well, there is nothing much you can do.
I think that most of the facis I knew were the latter type...
I've tried countless times to make them understand...but in the end, was to no avail.
I can't let all these things overwhelm me...or else I will go crazy and rage with anger for a long, long time.
Anyway, Forbidensinner, you are currently studying in school, or working already?
Forbiddensinner seems very old leh. no offense , cos he seems to always give mature advices =/
than don't explain to the teacher lor.
Do you gain anything/lost anything by explaining/not explaining?
Originally posted by xxxxxlamer:Forbiddensinner seems very old leh. no offense , cos he seems to always give mature advices =/
yah very true, hes not old. hes just mature and helpful:)
facis? you in rp ah?
It is like that one lah.
well LIFE is like that, there is also BASTARD like short ninja who crap out with his rubbish words and think he is correct.
You are student no choice, bastard teachers always win.
same thing as son of the bitch boss. they alway spit shit at you.
I have to agree that life is like that... bound to have people who screw things up when you spent time preparing and getting ready to share what you have found out with the rest of the class.
Replying to caleb's post...yes indeed I am a RP student. (3rd year)
and for 8800's post... I gained knowledge by explaining to the class. Preferably, my method of choice is illustrating my ideas on the whiteboard and ensuring it makes complete sense. Don't want to see myself as a complete idiot who doesn't know a single damn thing about what the lesson is all about...
at least your teacher doesn't tell you "you shouldn't be asking me this".he did that to me.i was like..hello.i came here to learn.spare me the condescending tone.
bt anw.the teaqcher's probably trying to make you understand the problem yourself by giving you new insights.don't be too pissed man!
Originally posted by Darkangellus:I have to agree that life is like that... bound to have people who screw things up when you spent time preparing and getting ready to share what you have found out with the rest of the class.
Replying to caleb's post...yes indeed I am a RP student. (3rd year)
and for 8800's post... I gained knowledge by explaining to the class. Preferably, my method of choice is illustrating my ideas on the whiteboard and ensuring it makes complete sense. Don't want to see myself as a complete idiot who doesn't know a single damn thing about what the lesson is all about...
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/12/topics/367256
You are not the only one here who seems to have something against RP.
I am not going to comment on RP since I am not from there, but I can tell you there is nothing much that you can do against a lecturor.
Just be proud of the fact that you are one of the students who bothered to work hard and listen in classes, and since you are going to graduate soon, do continue working hard for the remaining period of time.
"before i begin the presentation, i would like to say that all questions will only be entertained after the presentation. thank you"
Originally posted by Darkangellus:
did you ever consider that you did such a bad job at explaining the concept that your teacher need to question you a lot?
why not email or sms or msn or twitter to your teacher lol
or type your concept and then pass it to her after class lar lol
thanks guys... what you all say is quite true.
you all have been really supportive...:) I am not pissed off anymore...
I will work hard for the remaining period of time and same goes out to all of you.
wish all the best in your studies and go all out to achieve your wildest dreams! Don't let these kind of things overwhelm you or ppl say bad about you.
"People don't control what your life turns out to be...you are in the driver's seat. You CONTROL your life."
how old r u and what school are you from?
replying to PedoBear's post, I did not even consider doing a bad job cause for most of my lessons in class, I put in a lot of effort to understand the concept well and I spend time during my breaks preparing myself on what to say. So that when I explain, it makes complete sense.
and for marcteng's post, I don't normally SMS or email my concept to my faci. Twitter also not an option for me to consider.
Originally posted by marcteng:how old r u and what school are you from?
I believe he already said he is a Republic Poly 3rd year student.
replying to marc's post...I am 19 yrs old.
yeah Forbidensinner is right...I am a 3rd yr RP student.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:I believe he already said he is a Republic Poly 3rd year student.
LOL. I didnt read his subsequent comments.
marcteng and Forbiddensinner, you all from which sch/poly?
interested to know...
Originally posted by Darkangellus:marcteng and Forbiddensinner, you all from which sch/poly?
interested to know...
NIE. I was from YJC.
I see...nice to meet you.
Originally posted by Darkangellus:replying to PedoBear's post, I did not even consider doing a bad job cause for most of my lessons in class, I put in a lot of effort to understand the concept well and I spend time during my breaks preparing myself on what to say. So that when I explain, it makes complete sense.
and for marcteng's post, I don't normally SMS or email my concept to my faci. Twitter also not an option for me to consider.
hey, i am from RP also haha.
just wanna let u know that, what ever you prepare to say during your breaks, doesn't necessarily make sense to the other teams. different ppl, different understanding.
you might have went too deep into the topic and that might make the faci's job harder since they have to clean up the possible confusion caused by you. so they step in.
OR
the way u explained only u understand, so the faci was trying to change the way of your explaination to one where the class can understand. The faci's job is to make sure the class got a general level of understanding.
try explaning to your teams or to your faci first, if they give the green light then go ahead. use that during the 3rd meeting. drawing on board is a bad choice, trust me.
instead use the ppt, circle or box the information, use animation to make it a step by step explaination.
hope that helps. :)
So you're saying that writing on whiteboard doesn't help?
I felt that your idea makes some sense as diff ppl diff understanding...
Maybe the advice you gave me will work... thanks man
Which course/diploma are you from by the way?