I've been in the army for 7 months already. So far so good and life is a breeze as I've got nice superiors and friends. Recently a lot has changed. The RSM and CSM has changed to people who're real f@rkers.. Now we have more duties to perform to cover these regular's ass.. We have our weekends burnt at an average of once every fortnight. No welfare at all anymore and they dont give a damn if we book out or not as long as they can go home asap while we're working so damn hard in camp. The duties come so suddenly too. For example, last week, we are about to book out on a friday evening only being told them some of us have to stay back to do duties on friday night and saturday, hence we only booked out this morning. Looking ahead, I still have got 1 year 3 months left. Any way I can do to serve as happily as before? Booking in is drealful now as compared to being a recuit now :(
Do you need to go outfield for exercise?
Originally posted by coldzero:I've been in the army for 7 months already. So far so good and life is a breeze as I've got nice superiors and friends. Recently a lot has changed. The RSM and CSM has changed to people who're real f@rkers.. Now we have more duties to perform to cover these regular's ass.. We have our weekends burnt at an average of once every fortnight. No welfare at all anymore and they dont give a damn if we book out or not as long as they can go home asap while we're working so damn hard in camp. The duties come so suddenly too. For example, last week, we are about to book out on a friday evening only being told them some of us have to stay back to do duties on friday night and saturday, hence we only booked out this morning. Looking ahead, I still have got 1 year 3 months left. Any way I can do to serve as happily as before? Booking in is drealful now as compared to months ago :(
You must learn the ultimate technique of llst.
No matter what happens, you can't do anything to change it, so just bear with it.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:Do you need to go outfield for exercise?
Yep..
Originally posted by coldzero:I've been in the army for 7 months already. So far so good and life is a breeze as I've got nice superiors and friends. Recently a lot has changed. The RSM and CSM has changed to people who're real f@rkers.. Now we have more duties to perform to cover these regular's ass.. We have our weekends burnt at an average of once every fortnight. No welfare at all anymore and they dont give a damn if we book out or not as long as they can go home asap while we're working so damn hard in camp. The duties come so suddenly too. For example, last week, we are about to book out on a friday evening only being told them some of us have to stay back to do duties on friday night and saturday, hence we only booked out this morning. Looking ahead, I still have got 1 year 3 months left. Any way I can do to serve as happily as before? Booking in is drealful now as compared to being a recuit now :(
Ai yo... average only once evry month burn one weekend then kpkb... People out there burn weekends almost every week.
Let me share my experience - i was an infantry NCO in 2nd guards - gruelling and somewhat unnerving.
My attitude was NO attitude - just do and be done with it for the day n let the next come as it comes.
I understand (and emphatize) that it is tough but wishing and wanting - nothing but misery and suffering.
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:
Ai yo... average only once evry month burn one weekend then kpkb... People out there burn weekends almost every week.
read properly, it's once every fortnight..
TS should learn how to chao keng mc
I want to too. But if I were to do so, my friends will be suffering more as they have to cover my duties as well. All of us are suffering together, I dont wanna make it worse for them by getting mc..
Now this is the army I knew.![]()
its the ARMY for god's sake.
Originally posted by coldzero:I want to too. But if I were to do so, my friends will be suffering more as they have to cover my duties as well. All of us are suffering together, I dont wanna make it worse for them by getting mc..
everybody take turn to take mc lah.
does something happened that prompt the CSM/RSM to change their stand towards u guys?
Everyone burned their fair share of weekends, my time I did duties on 14 saturdays back to back. Screwed up it might be, but just get it done and over with... At the end of day, at least you never owe anyone anything..
Changes occur for reasons. They dont come out of the blue or at the whim and fancy of anyone, let alone our heirachy ordered organisation called the SAF.
Were there elements of slackness that compromised the readiness and operational status of your company or battalion recently? Was there a greatly reduced manpower strength or natural attrition rate to rationalise the efficiency of the organisation? Were the changes only temporary to cope with the current national security requirements?
Each will have to do their share in their allocated time, and none must shirk their obligations, for what we do, we do it for loved ones and those we care about. Some become clerks and need not sweat like horses or touch a weapon after BMT. Some become the infantry and stink so bad after weeks under the sun and rain that their camps are mistaken as rubbish dump or a waste treatment plant.
What was ordered, was for a purpose, which you must reconcile with, for higher ideals that you will respect within your heart. Serve All Families - your job is to defend and protect, regardless if you are a clerk or elite soldier - and it starts with simple mundane starts such as orderly duties.
Originally posted by coldzero:I want to too. But if I were to do so, my friends will be suffering more as they have to cover my duties as well. All of us are suffering together, I dont wanna make it worse for them by getting mc..
good thinking...
try talking to your immediate superior about this and see what solution he/she might offer first...
Actually it could be nothing wrong, maybe because the whole unit/batallion do not have enough manpower (due to some going to ORD, taking block leave, etc) for shift rotation of duties.
This happens very often for Units that have 1/2 lao chiaos, 1/2 newbies. The transition is the worst, but cannot avoid.
Or if new men, havent come in yet, i.e. the unit has mostly commanders, so its purely commander's BMT, ACT, SISPEC, etc. The RSM & CSM bo bian has to regulate their commanders for duties, maybe some commanders even went for infantry weapons course, intel course, pioneer course, 84/MG course. Then when they come back, they will boost up manpower, so there will be more people to go before next round of duties.
Also, you can discuss with your friends or CSM to rotate people on weekend duties. Cuz alot of CSM thick skull ones, they sometimes unilaterally think that some one or some guy prefers to do duties on weekend, and then will schedule him on weekends. You can also discuss with your friends to swap duties. We do it often when we were in 1SIR, they flexibility is good, as long as both parties agree then remember to inform CSM can already.
Also, ensure you dont kena extras, else will have more duties.
u go to my previous unit lor, see whether u kpkb
alternate days 24hrs duty.
then back to shift work
then duty
then shift work
just SAF (serve and f*ck off)
at least you'll be gone in little more than a year.
Ah...if you suddenly get orders for duties as what you said in TS 1st thread, then your CSM has poor organizational skills. All duties MUST be planned out at least 2 weeks before actual duties and be put on the BIG BOOK.
As specs, or PS, you can ask PC or PS to go to CSM office, then check his BIG BOOK to get ready for duties, cuz sometimes CSM just can forget about reminding you all on duties.
And cannot be last minute ask your friends for duties, why? Cuz all duty personnels, COS, Guard Comds with Guards, etc will be put on the day's BRO already mah. If listed, then although comanders didnt remind men, they themselves are supposed to check the BRO everyday and also check with their comdrs on any duties.
As a good reference, last time, my standard Guard Comdr/G2/G3 duties are on average 1.5 times a month. Normally, if I heng heng, then I will get 1 weekend duty every 2.5 months. And at your 2nd year, COS duties will be done all by Lance Corporals & Corporals, Private First Class also will do, if they have excused themselves on exercises.
As i see you ppl talkin, i feel u guy's don no wat to do? there's a sayin, wat ever u want to do,do it right. Like my former camp mate does, just drop and let ppl carry u to the medical centre, that's it!!!!
you still will be counted as on duty, and futher more u get 1-2 days mc, watever u do"Never Let The Right Hand No Wat The Left Hand Is Doing" k.
Hey guy's just joined in.New office n new computer.![]()
Originally posted by kopiosatu:u go to my previous unit lor, see whether u kpkb
alternate days 24hrs duty.
then back to shift work
then duty
then shift work
just SAF (serve and f*ck off)
at least you'll be gone in little more than a year.
nowadays got people who got involved in alternate perm 24hrs duty. exempted from shift but then ended up getting work spilled over from shift. i had that for 2 months while awaiting to be thrown overseas once again. and i do always lose a day every weekend.
and i am just bearing a few more cycles before i ORD. so TS shouldnt complain especially when others are burning every weekend. also bear in mind that some people are being posted overseas unwillingly for a year at least.
ask for transfer lor
go and join commando lor