I'm currently serving NS in the air force as a technician. I have this sergeant A who is damn f up and idiotic. From the first day I was posted to my current sqandron, he kept tekaning me and my buddies. Together with another sergeant J, we were mentally tortured by them from the day we were posted to this unit. Let me list out a few incidents that happened to us.
1. I was told by sergenat J to remove a component from the aircraft and it requires me to first remove 2 bolts. I prepared the tools required and went over the the aircraft. Sgt A and J were alr there. Then I tried to remove the bolts but both were tightened very tightly. I was suspecting that they were trying to tekan me. I said I don't have the strength to remove it and asked sergeant J tried to removed it for me. I knew he would install back the bolts after he had removed and I want to know how tight are the bolts installed when he install it to confirm what I thought. Then he removed and installed it. Then I tried to remove it but I was tightened very tightly again! Then I knew they are tekaning me and had tightened the bolts before i went there. Then I struggled with the job while they are laughing at me and unlike other sergeants, they just sit back and did not help me. A normally 10minutes job took me 30 minutes to finish it and my hand got bruised in the process.
2. I was told to change the wheel of the aircraft by sgt A. My hand got cut in the process and he offered no help. Only when an encik saw my hand and asked me what happened then he acted as if he is very concerned with me. After that, he asked me with a sinister smile on his face if I think i'm being tekaned by him. I just walked away but how I wished I could shout in his face that he is a bast*** of a b****.
3. Sgt A told me to but kopi for him but everytime he wouldn't pay me back the money. I'm just a private and my allowance is only $400 per month. It's just damn f up.
4. There was 1 period when I was in different shift with sgt A for a while. When he saw me, he asked me very sarcastically if i'm well. I replied ok. Guess waht he said. He said " still not dead yet". I was shocked and scared. I don't know what he'll do to me in the future.
5. Yesterday, I left a google on a table and went to do smth else. Tools accountability is very important in the air force. I forgot about the google but after a while, I went to search for the google at the table but it's not there alr. I thought someone else had kept it for me. After that, sgt A told me that the google is missing and told me to search for it. I searched for it everywhere and guess where I found it. It's in a drawer where all the 3 in 1 kopi packets are placed in. And i'm very sure I did not put the google there as I did not enter the room where the drawer is. I'm just damn f up with him and when the aircraft is launching, I did not go and help because i'm just damn f up. Smth wrong happened to the aircraft and sgt A, who went for the launch came back and shouted at me twice and told me to do work. I am just so angry when I was doing my work. I opened a panel and placed it on the floor. I'm unsure if i slammed it on the floor but another sgt P complaint to my team ic that I'm getting more rebellious. My ic had a talk with me and suggest that I apologise to sgt A in front of other sgts so that other sgt wun think that I'm a rebellious person and will not make my life difficult for me for the rest of my NS life. I apologised to him but when apologising, tears keep rolling in my eyes when i thought of the fact that after what he did to me, I had to apologise to him. Other sgts saw it and keep speculating what happened to me. I'm sure people behind me will say i'm a weakling. My msg wants to talk to me today.
Tell me what should I do to end my agony....
Thanks for reading.
Originally posted by Aurelius:I'm currently serving NS in the air force as a technician. I have this sergeant A who is damn f up and idiotic. From the first day I was posted to my current sqandron, he kept tekaning me and my buddies. Together with another sergeant J, we were mentally tortured by them from the day we were posted to this unit. Let me list out a few incidents that happened to us.
1. I was told by sergenat J to remove a component from the aircraft and it requires me to first remove 2 bolts. I prepared the tools required and went over the the aircraft. Sgt A and J were alr there. Then I tried to remove the bolts but both were tightened very tightly. I was suspecting that they were trying to tekan me. I said I don't have the strength to remove it and asked sergeant J tried to removed it for me. I knew he would install back the bolts after he had removed and I want to know how tight are the bolts installed when he install it to confirm what I thought. Then he removed and installed it. Then I tried to remove it but I was tightened very tightly again! Then I knew they are tekaning me and had tightened the bolts before i went there. Then I struggled with the job while they are laughing at me and unlike other sergeants, they just sit back and did not help me. A normally 10minutes job took me 30 minutes to finish it and my hand got bruised in the process.
2. I was told to change the wheel of the aircraft by sgt A. My hand got cut in the process and he offered no help. Only when an encik saw my hand and asked me what happened then he acted as if he is very concerned with me. After that, he asked me with a sinister smile on his face if I think i'm being tekaned by him. I just walked away but how I wished I could shout in his face that he is a bast*** of a b****.
3. Sgt A told me to but kopi for him but everytime he wouldn't pay me back the money. I'm just a private and my allowance is only $400 per month. It's just damn f up.
4. There was 1 period when I was in different shift with sgt A for a while. When he saw me, he asked me very sarcastically if i'm well. I replied ok. Guess waht he said. He said " still not dead yet". I was shocked and scared. I don't know what he'll do to me in the future.
5. Yesterday, I left a google on a table and went to do smth else. Tools accountability is very important in the air force. I forgot about the google but after a while, I went to search for the google at the table but it's not there alr. I thought someone else had kept it for me. After that, sgt A told me that the google is missing and told me to search for it. I searched for it everywhere and guess where I found it. It's in a drawer where all the 3 in 1 kopi packets are placed in. And i'm very sure I did not put the google there as I did not enter the room where the drawer is. I'm just damn f up with him and when the aircraft is launching, I did not go and help because i'm just damn f up. Smth wrong happened to the aircraft and sgt A, who went for the launch came back and shouted at me twice and told me to do work. I am just so angry when I was doing my work. I opened a panel and placed it on the floor. I'm unsure if i slammed it on the floor but another sgt P complaint to my team ic that I'm getting more rebellious. My ic had a talk with me and suggest that I apologise to sgt A in front of other sgts so that other sgt wun think that I'm a rebellious person and will not make my life difficult for me for the rest of my NS life. I apologised to him but when apologising, tears keep rolling in my eyes when i thought of the fact that after what he did to me, I had to apologise to him. Other sgts saw it and keep speculating what happened to me. I'm sure people behind me will say i'm a weakling. My msg wants to talk to me today.
Thanks for reading.
Hi Aurelius,
Have a talk with your encik and tell him about what happen to you. Seek help from him, and if he is unable to do anything, call the SAF hotline and see if they are able to provide you with any assistance. If they are unwilling/unable to do anything, work your way up the chain of command and see if anyone along that chain is willing to help you out. Asking your parents to send a letter to RSAF or your MP should only be used as a last resort.
Cheers.
Are your sergeants those hokkien brainless kind? Those without much education and those type that only wants to play, and see people suffer kind.?? those are the bastard kind... ass holes..
Yeah consult your encik and tell him your stories, and see what happens. If your encik is good, he will investigate, if not he will tell the others and more shit will fall on to you..
SAF is getting more and more corrupt. We can depend on this fuck up sergeants. They really need to have a revised scheme in how they select the leaders, not just by the field camp and sit test... those are dump and anyone wayang enough can simply do it... damn it.
SAF is going down... haiz...
now u know who to shoot first when war breaks out lol. SAF has been supporting bums like this for many many years. Seems like days are really dark for you but just bear with it.....you will get used to it and be out soon.
air force air force KNN!
i feel pity for u TS
Originally posted by Aurelius:I'm currently serving NS in the air force as a technician. I have this sergeant A who is damn f up and idiotic. From the first day I was posted to my current sqandron, he kept tekaning me and my buddies. Together with another sergeant J, we were mentally tortured by them from the day we were posted to this unit. Let me list out a few incidents that happened to us.
Thanks for reading.
1) As a former army technician myself, i will say that alot of bolts for anything we repair have a very specific torque requirement and most of them have to be really tight. Half the time i have to break the torque using 2 spanners together to increase the dist of my effort from the load (primary sch science) to loosen a bolt. A loose bolt can cause serious damage if it comes loose etc so considering land vehicles we are already very particular about it much less an aircraft that is in the air.
However a technician cannot over tighten a bolt too much as well since overtightening bolts will damage the bolts as well. Knowing the torque requirement and roughly gauge it comes with experience.
5) Tools are very important and should never be misplaced. I've sign a number of 1206 in my time for lost tools so its always a lesson learnt to be careful about ur tools. They just hide it is already good cos we sometimes have ppl who see extra tools etc who just put it in their own toolbox for spare in case they lose theirs and thats worse.
I know i sound like i'm defending ur spec etc but i just wanna state some facts as a former technician who been through all of it. I won't deny that ur spec might be trying to takan u but some of the things that u feel are whats one on purpose to torture u are not really that bad in my opinion.
To dkcx: The 2 bolts that are to be installed do not have a specific torque value. If it required a specific torque value, a precision tool would be used instead of a spanner. Anw, I am very sure that the bolts were over tightened. I also know the importance of tools accountability in the air force. I know I am wrong for not placing back the google immediately but he should not tekan me by hiding the google. He could have talk to me instead.
Anw, sgt A is quite a senior guy in my camp but he is only a 1sg due to the fact that he is from ITE and unable to get his senoir tech qualification. He also told me before that I must tekan all the new guys coming into my camp so that those new guys will respect us. But I think that it's bull****. He always believe that junior must respect senoir. sgt A even badmouth some of the enciks who were posted to my camp later than him, calling my enciks "stupid" etc. When he is late for work, he would even say sorry to other sgt and would act as if he has done nothing wrong and sit down without helping out.
What I cannot tahan most is that always give me a black face when everytime I see him, as if I caused his parents' death.
One of my trusted sgt told me that other sgts are mistaken that I'm a rebellious person and are trying to tekan me, making my life difficult for me. Tell me what should I do to end all these crap.
Thank you for reading.
Originally posted by Aurelius:To dkcx: The 2 bolts that are to be installed do not have a specific torque value. If it required a specific torque value, a precision tool would be used instead of a spanner. Anw, I am very sure that the bolts were over tightened. I also know the importance of tools accountability in the air force. I know I am wrong for not placing back the google immediately but he should not tekan me by hiding the google. He could have talk to me instead.
Anw, sgt A is quite a senior guy in my camp but he is only a 1sg due to the fact that he is from ITE and unable to get his senoir tech qualification. He also told me before that I must tekan all the new guys coming into my camp so that those new guys will respect us. But I think that it's bull****. He always believe that junior must respect senoir. sgt A even badmouth some of the enciks who were posted to my camp later than him, calling my enciks "stupid" etc. When he is late for work, he would even say sorry to other sgt and would act as if he has done nothing wrong and sit down without helping out.
What I cannot tahan most is that always give me a black face when everytime I see him, as if I caused his parents' death.
One of my trusted sgt told me that other sgts are mistaken that I'm a rebellious person and are trying to tekan me, making my life difficult for me. Tell me what should I do to end all these crap.
Thank you for reading.
For those with experience, we don't really use precision tools for certain torque because we have a rough feel of how tight we must make it. Personally after a yr or so, i do not use the required torque wrenches for certain torques since i roughly have a good idea how tight i must make them.
There are always fucked up specs everywhere. I used to have a condemn SSG who always find trouble for me cos i totally cannot work with him and he hates me as well to the point i once wrote a complain letter to my workshop IC about him.
U are unlikely to change sgt A's impression of u but the other sgts are only mistaken about you so you can still do ur best to show them that u are not really the type of person that they think u are.
What is impt is ur attitude, no matter how much u hate a person, u cannot let that affect ur work, responsibilities nor ur attitude. If u show bad behavior, its obvious others would look on u badly and that will make things worse for u. Its hard to control sometimes but u have to before everyone gets the impression that u are rebellious etc then it would be abit too late and hard to change their attitudes towards u.
To dkcx: In the air force, it is a MUST to use precision tools when it is stated in the manual that a certain torque value is required. So I do not agree with u that experience is enough to determine how tight the bolts should be tightened.
Anw, others sgts alr have the impression that I'm a rebellious person. How to change their opinion of me? But I really couldn't work with sgt A anymore, I had enough of him. I'll go insane if I continue to work with him. Others might say just suck thumb and bear with him for the rest of my NS life. But how to do so? I still have 1year plus of NS to go. Everytime he tekan me or show me a black face, I just can't do my job well.
you may have to talk to him and tell him about your working style and preference , tell him that by doing so , you'll be able to perform better
Originally posted by Aurelius:To dkcx: In the air force, it is a MUST to use precision tools when it is stated in the manual that a certain torque value is required. So I do not agree with u that experience is enough to determine how tight the bolts should be tightened.
Anw, others sgts alr have the impression that I'm a rebellious person. How to change their opinion of me? But I really couldn't work with sgt A anymore, I had enough of him. I'll go insane if I continue to work with him. Others might say just suck thumb and bear with him for the rest of my NS life. But how to do so? I still have 1year plus of NS to go. Everytime he tekan me or show me a black face, I just can't do my job well.
Hi Aurelius,
Have you spoken to your Encik and seek help from him already?
Cheers
Originally posted by Aurelius:To dkcx: In the air force, it is a MUST to use precision tools when it is stated in the manual that a certain torque value is required. So I do not agree with u that experience is enough to determine how tight the bolts should be tightened.
What makes u think the ary no need :p We just lazy for certain components but there are surely some we die die must be precised. If we follow rules for everything, our efficiency would be alot lower. Always just learn from the seniors what things die die need follow, wat can close 1 eye abit ;)
The impression of the other sgts can be change if u change ur attitude and start to do ur best to perform well when u are working with them etc.
What made u think the SSG give me a good time at all? All i did was try my best to fight for chances to work with anyone else but him and ignore him as best as i can. Why do u even care how he looks at u, just ignore him and focus on the task at hand. U will be facing many diff type of difficult ppl in the future so do u plan to quit ur job everytime someone gives u a hard time?