when u all go job interview den sometimes the interview didn't look promising...how u all feel?
then if you got no money and are only subsisting due to your family's kindness...it's so depressing..makes u think about your family..no 1 else in the world will lift a finger
share your thoughts!
sian lor
fark those employers
-.- just go to Adecco Singapore recruitment for job lor... I just got a call up for my enquiry.
how many ppl get the job right away?
u shd be reflecting why u did not get it
and be better next time
most people wouldn't know wat went wrong... Neither does the person conducting the interview will tell u... Most of the time people dun reflect themselves... first thing is to blame others... as if ownself sure correct...
Can TS share his interview process??? plz hide all info like names, address though...
last month i went to a walk-in interview. but suay suay manager not there. i mean how can manager not around? the interview time is 3-5pm but im there like 4pm? they give me the paper for my details and everything, thought i got hope can get this job. they say they will call me tomorrow. but wait for weeks. also bo reply. knn this type of chibye restaurant kum pui ar?
i saw only like 4-5 waitress/waiter like faking short handed. Its not that i dun wan reflect myself. i mean i got qualification, got abit experience. what more they want? im only asking for waiter position. not like a chef or supervisor.
This days singaporean so choosy, how get business like that?
Originally posted by Sgdevilzz:last month i went to a walk-in interview. but suay suay manager not there. i mean how can manager not around? the interview time is 3-5pm but im there like 4pm? they give me the paper for my details and everything, thought i got hope can get this job. they say they will call me tomorrow. but wait for weeks. also bo reply. knn this type of chibye restaurant kum pui ar?
i saw only like 4-5 waitress/waiter like faking short handed. Its not that i dun wan reflect myself. i mean i got qualification, got abit experience. what more they want? im only asking for waiter position. not like a chef or supervisor.
This days singaporean so choosy, how get business like that?
interview time is at 3-5? meaning walk in anytime from 3pm-5pm ah? or is the slot 3-5 specifically for u de? coz u went at 4pm...
Hmmm... paywise is P&C de... it does play a part but i dunno whether u wanna release here how much were u expecting from them...
Originally posted by FireIce:how many ppl get the job right away?
u shd be reflecting why u did not get it
and be better next time
The incompetency of employers.
Originally posted by Aloozer:when u all go job interview den sometimes the interview didn't look promising...how u all feel?
then if you got no money and are only subsisting due to your family's kindness...it's so depressing..makes u think about your family..no 1 else in the world will lift a finger
share your thoughts!
Don't get too affected.
I've been trapped in this job hunt phase for over a month now, sent more than 100 resume, went for more than 10 interviews across stat boards and private corporations. Like you, I felt a lot of disappointment when it didn't look good.
Day by day, the disappointment got bigger and it just got too disheartening to even try. Eventually, I learned to put things aside - go for an interview with an open heart, take it as a practice and give it your best. And just let it go after the interview, and continue with the hunt.
It's end-of-year and recruitment isn't too active, just keep trying and you'll get it ![]()
If I know the interviewer is not impressed with me and I have no chance of securing the job, then I would heck care and let my guard down and stop pretending that I have a chance of getting the job. my demeanour will obviously tell the interviewers not to waste each other's time to continue. just walk out and adios.
Once I went for an interview many years ago, once I know I dun have a chance, at the end of the interview, I took down my tie in front of the interviewer and walk out. I dun even care how the interviewer perceive me when I took the tie down since I know I am not getting the job.
usually is i also gauge the company, can they afford to pay my salary, not that I asking high amount, even average S$5.00 per hour, I will also need to consider the company I approaching.
many cases encounter by my close friends, did not get salary, companies give stupid excuses.
if you dun get the job, dun blame too much on yourself. its out of our hands as its subjective to the biases of the interviewers. all I can say is that, if they dun click with you the moment they meet you, thats it. or you and the other candidate both matches their expectations, but then they decided to hire the other candidate just because they like the other person more or find that the other candidate is more a leader than you, thats subjective perception on the part of the interviewer. its not the end of the world if you dun get the job. keep trying until you find the right employer to join.
Originally posted by Detached:Don't get too affected.
I've been trapped in this job hunt phase for over a month now, sent more than 100 resume, went for more than 10 interviews across stat boards and private corporations. Like you, I felt a lot of disappointment when it didn't look good.
Day by day, the disappointment got bigger and it just got too disheartening to even try. Eventually, I learned to put things aside - go for an interview with an open heart, take it as a practice and give it your best. And just let it go after the interview, and continue with the hunt.
It's end-of-year and recruitment isn't too active, just keep trying and you'll get it
So have you already found a job?
I think the job market is still very bad despite all the recent recovery stories.
If you are unemployed, you are fighting with people from all levels of whichever industry you want to work in from fresh school leavers to experienced middle and senior management personnel that got retrenched over the past year.
Maybe things will get better by the first quarter of next year, assuming no more shocks like the recent Dubai default. ![]()
Originally posted by keeptouch:So have you already found a job?
Nope, still trying. Why would you ask?
Originally posted by charlize:I think the job market is still very bad despite all the recent recovery stories.
If you are unemployed, you are fighting with people from all levels of whichever industry you want to work in from fresh school leavers to experienced middle and senior management personnel that got retrenched over the past year.
Maybe things will get better by the first quarter of next year, assuming no more shocks like the recent Dubai default.
Recently, I went for an interview at one of the bigger IT companies and it was only for a junior position. But guess what, together with me were mid to senior level executives who had lost their jobs or had been unemployed for sometime.
Even worse, a couple of them only asked for entry level fresh grad pay.
How to fight? ![]()
Originally posted by Aloozer:when u all go job interview den sometimes the interview didn't look promising...how u all feel?
share your thoughts!
I say count your blessings if you have loved ones who care enough to show you kindness and lend you the emotional support you need even when the whole world is trying to screw you over.
Keep applying and take up mediocre jobs in the mean time to keep your mind active. Never give up.
When interviewers don't get back to you with their decision, drop them a thank you note or make a friendly call to their HR department. Until you're in the position to be headhunted, show some sincerity and be more pro active.
After all, no one owes anybody a living.
Originally posted by Detached:Recently, I went for an interview at one of the bigger IT companies and it was only for a junior position. But guess what, together with me were mid to senior level executives who had lost their jobs or had been unemployed for sometime.
Even worse, a couple of them only asked for entry level fresh grad pay.
How to fight?
How you know they asked for entry level salary?
Anyway, that's sums out how bad the situation is right now despite all you read in the media.
Up to you to believe your million dollar salary minister who tells you there are good well paying jobs for everyone. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:How you know they asked for entry level salary?
Anyway, that's sums out how bad the situation is right now despite all you read in the media.
Up to you to believe your million dollar salary minister who tells you there are good well paying jobs for everyone.
Well, there were only 4 of us in the room (the rest had already went in for the interview), and we started talking.
To top it all up, it doesn't help when you have unscrupulous employers exploiting the current situation. I've met employers who were seeking diploma grads, and yet only offered them 1.2k - 1.3k....
Standard salary negotiation routine for the common jobless man on the streets:
"As you know, the market is bad. And there are quite a number of fresh graduates actively searching for work in this field. What can you bring to the company?"
"What's your expected salary?"
"What's your last drawn salary?"
"Oh I see, but that was before the recession."
"What's the lowest you can go?"
"We're really interested but as you know, the market is bad. You'll hear from us if you make the mark for a second interview."
"For your asking salary, we can hire 2 workers from *insert country name* instead of you to do the same job. What to do, we need to be cheaper, better and faster " ![]()
Originally posted by Detached:
Nope, still trying. Why would you ask?
So you have enough savings to last you during this unemployment period?
You went for so many interviews already must have spend alot on travelling expenses
Originally posted by keeptouch:
So you have enough savings to last you during this unemployment period?You went for so many interviews already must have spend alot on travelling expenses
So interested in me ah?
Yes, I've got sufficient savings to last a good while, thanks for your concern ![]()
Originally posted by Detached:
So interested in me ah?
Yes, I've got sufficient savings to last a good while, thanks for your concern
Not interested in you lah.
Just that I was once in the same situation as you. I went for around 10 interviews in 2 weeks. Got very demoralised and felt its a waste of money than I finally got a job after 2 weeks ![]()