guys i am sure some of you would have known i am in the financial industry as a consultant.
i am in this line for the chance to help people who really need help with their finances and not for the promises of high pay and stuff.
recently , i met this elderly whose family is in need of financial planning. speaking to him a few times, he showed interest. however out of a sudden, he decided not to accept my help. i told him i am really alright if he does not get anything from me, i just want to be able to help him plan for his retirement, as he has 1 disabled child to look after of. yet he for some unknown reason decided to reject my help. he kept saying he feel bad wasting my time, cause he not going to buy any policies from me. however i am perfectly alright with it. i mean , since i am in this line to help people, and from our past few conversations, i know his family is really in bad financial shape. which is why i decided that even if he does not buy anything from me, i am alright, as long as i can help him plan.
but after his rejection, i feel very demoralized. like i am wasting my time. people do not believe that i just wanna help them and not out to earn their commission. maybe i should just change jobs. i really do not mind planning for others, even if they don give me business. but now, people who needs help, ownself know they need help, but just refuse to accept my help. i see liao, is like feeling so miserable that i am unable to do anything but let them carry on their mistake.
can someone advise me on what i should do, carry on holding the dream of helping others, or just change job? feeling damn miserable cause i cant achieve my goal for being in this industry. haiz
Originally posted by bladez87:guys i am sure some of you would have known i am in the financial industry as a consultant.
i am in this line for the chance to help people who really need help with their finances and not for the promises of high pay and stuff.
recently , i met this elderly whose family is in need of financial planning. speaking to him a few times, he showed interest. however out of a sudden, he decided not to accept my help. i told him i am really alright if he does not get anything from me, i just want to be able to help him plan for his retirement, as he has 1 disabled child to look after of. yet he for some unknown reason decided to reject my help. he kept saying he feel bad wasting my time, cause he not going to buy any policies from me. however i am perfectly alright with it. i mean , since i am in this line to help people, and from our past few conversations, i know his family is really in bad financial shape. which is why i decided that even if he does not buy anything from me, i am alright, as long as i can help him plan.
but after his rejection, i feel very demoralized. like i am wasting my time. people do not believe that i just wanna help them and not out to earn their commission. maybe i should just change jobs. i really do not mind planning for others, even if they don give me business. but now, people who needs help, ownself know they need help, but just refuse to accept my help. i see liao, is like feeling so miserable that i am unable to do anything but let them carry on their mistake.
can someone advise me on what i should do, carry on holding the dream of helping others, or just change job? feeling damn miserable cause i cant achieve my goal for being in this industry. haiz
Hi bladez87,
It is really great of you to think in such a manner, for many others in this sector are here for an entirely different reason.
However, you must understand, the mindset of the majority does represent the mindset of the sector as a whole. Thus, people will always look at you with suspicion, even if you genuinely wish to help them out. They will always be worried about hidden costs and such, especially when you offer your services for free all of a sudden.
Perhaps you will like to volunteer your services to community organisations, and have them act as a "middleman" between you and families which badly needs help. I hope you will not mind me for saying this, the general public will trust these community organisations which help out the needy much more than you as an individual.
As for changing of job, I will advise that you think twice before doing so. The current economic situation isn't at its brightest, thus you shouldn't leave this job for such a reason, and should think of alternative ways to help those who are in need of aid instead.
Cheers.
dude,
even if u want to help this uncle, he must first want to help himself right or not? it's rather surprising to hear of a young person in the finance sector who pursues not monetary fueled gains and dreams, but genuinely wants to apply his knowledge at helping those in financial distress.
why not try volunteering in organizations like CCS etc in ur spare time?
don't get too emotional over this take a step back and get some perspective. even if u do manage to help this uncle and he doesn't buy a single policy from u, that would've defeated the purpose of ur role in the job (sell policies, tio bo?). don't let 1 bad experience affect the 9 other potential good ones.
if ur objective in all 10 cases is to seek this fulfillment of being able to help others, policy or not, i don't think ur boss will be too pleased. ultimately ur profile as a consultant suffers. sometimes to really help others, whether ur job is to educate the masses, reveal information etc, it's best to take a step back n not get too emotionally involved in ur work. could cloud the big picture.
I can understand how you feel. At times it is not about money, espacially when your qoutas are filled, or you are seeing something that stirs the humanity in you to reach out.
I fully agree with Solechip. You can only help those who wants to be helped. Those that dont, you must respect their decisions.
It is their choice, if at the end of the day you had shown the effectiveness of your plan that could solve their problems. .They may have issues that they dont feel comfortable with you knowing.
Professionalism is one thing. But we are not robots, only human, capable of emotions. Be aware of it, and never extend more than your reach, know your limitations. Walk away with your conscience assured if you had tried your best.
Failing and failed attempts are the best teachers to make us realize and correct our errors, excel and be better the next time round, and should not instead burn you out. Only from too great expectations of yourself and others will you be burned out when things go not your way..
There are still many out there that needs help
Good Luck
cant help the unwilling right.... ![]()
just know that for every 1 u help among the 10.... ur effort aint wasted....
as a side step, those selling mini bonds too felt the same as u too...
Originally posted by bladez87:guys i am sure some of you would have known i am in the financial industry as a consultant.
Since u chose to be in Sales line..
You should be ready to be rejected by so and so
Your boss never shared with u ar?
What help?
You think you are doing charity ar?
You rev comission from ur clients
So it is a strictly a business deal..
all those that i have seen working in the finance sector saying that they are helping others, r just helping themselves to others. lol
not to be sarcastic, if financial institutions r not earning money, why will they want to offer their services.
insurance can be a gd thing but the way they scrutinise when u make a claim makes u wonder whether they r more interested in money or u.
minibonds is another thing, they promise the sky until it comes crashing down. lol
The world is unfair, things dun always go your way.
Take it in your stride, close the case and on to the next!!
Originally posted by Kenashi:all those that i have seen working in the finance sector saying that they are helping others, r just helping themselves to others. lol
not to be sarcastic, if financial institutions r not earning money, why will they want to offer their services.
insurance can be a gd thing but the way they scrutinise when u make a claim makes u wonder whether they r more interested in money or u.
minibonds is another thing, they promise the sky until it comes crashing down. lol
x 2!
Those in MLM really wants to help people too! ![]()
Originally posted by soleachip:dude,
even if u want to help this uncle, he must first want to help himself right or not? it's rather surprising to hear of a young person in the finance sector who pursues not monetary fueled gains and dreams, but genuinely wants to apply his knowledge at helping those in financial distress.
why not try volunteering in organizations like CCS etc in ur spare time?
don't get too emotional over this take a step back and get some perspective. even if u do manage to help this uncle and he doesn't buy a single policy from u, that would've defeated the purpose of ur role in the job (sell policies, tio bo?). don't let 1 bad experience affect the 9 other potential good ones.
if ur objective in all 10 cases is to seek this fulfillment of being able to help others, policy or not, i don't think ur boss will be too pleased. ultimately ur profile as a consultant suffers. sometimes to really help others, whether ur job is to educate the masses, reveal information etc, it's best to take a step back n not get too emotionally involved in ur work. could cloud the big picture.
thats not the case, cause from what the uncle told me, i think he has multiple policies that are subjected to limitation of claims. meaning he has 2 or more hospital and surgical policies, but thing is the hospital bill can only claim from 1. so if he has 2 or more, he is essentially wasting his money on the 2nd policy. and since he using cash to pay for both, it is really a big mistake. i do not mind if he does not buy from me, i just wanna make sure he is getting his money worth and properly covered or at least know his coverage. he intends to cancel both his H&S policies against my advice.
he has a disabled child to look after, and that is not an easy task. if something untoward were to happen to the elderly and he is hospitalized, how is his family going to cope with the financial burden if he cancels both his policies.
just cause i am in this industry and that is my only source of income means i must sell policies. if i really want money that bad, i would just take an office job and draw a salary.
Originally posted by TrueHeart:Hi bladez87,
It is really great of you to think in such a manner, for many others in this sector are here for an entirely different reason.
However, you must understand, the mindset of the majority does represent the mindset of the sector as a whole. Thus, people will always look at you with suspicion, even if you genuinely wish to help them out. They will always be worried about hidden costs and such, especially when you offer your services for free all of a sudden.
Perhaps you will like to volunteer your services to community organisations, and have them act as a "middleman" between you and families which badly needs help. I hope you will not mind me for saying this, the general public will trust these community organisations which help out the needy much more than you as an individual.
As for changing of job, I will advise that you think twice before doing so. The current economic situation isn't at its brightest, thus you shouldn't leave this job for such a reason, and should think of alternative ways to help those who are in need of aid instead.
Cheers.
which organizations are you talking about? would appreciate it if you can shed more info thanks.
Originally posted by noahnoah:Since u chose to be in Sales line..
You should be ready to be rejected by so and so
Your boss never shared with u ar?
What help?
You think you are doing charity ar?
You rev comission from ur clients
So it is a strictly a business deal..
haha. commission big deal? $20 a lot to you ah? the commission i would get if he gets the policy from me, is $20. and he can save $300 a year. but i not asking for his commission. how far can $20 go? if he thinks i am after a pathetic $20, i can give him back the stupid commission.
boss not happy so what? when i joined, i told him already. i am in this line to do financial planning, not insurance selling, not investment selling. sales is not what i am after.
Originally posted by Kenashi:all those that i have seen working in the finance sector saying that they are helping others, r just helping themselves to others. lol
i know how the financial institutions are in singapore. which is why i had plans to go overseas to continue being in this line. as they have different business model to those financial agencies in singapore. some companies in australia and us charge the client a fixed amount for consultation and planning and recommendation. and do not take a single cent of commission from the insurers. that way there is little conflict of interest between the client and planner, as the planner gets his fee regardless of whether the client takes up his proposal.
if you view service sector as such, a doctor only wanna earns money from people who needs his help. a lawyer only fights for those who can pay him. is that it? just cause people in the service sector wanna help others, doesnt mean they no need money to survive. if the doctor treats everyone for free, then who going to give him food?
it is a sad thing. people can understand the presence of volunteer doctors, and not volunteer financial planners.
anyway thanks to those who gave me proper advice. the rest, know that if u r not helping, means u r most likely hindering. and i believe in karma, do you?
Originally posted by bladez87:thats not the case, cause from what the uncle told me, i think he has multiple policies that are subjected to limitation of claims. meaning he has 2 or more hospital and surgical policies, but thing is the hospital bill can only claim from 1. so if he has 2 or more, he is essentially wasting his money on the 2nd policy. and since he using cash to pay for both, it is really a big mistake. i do not mind if he does not buy from me, i just wanna make sure he is getting his money worth and properly covered or at least know his coverage. he intends to cancel both his H&S policies against my advice.
he has a disabled child to look after, and that is not an easy task. if something untoward were to happen to the elderly and he is hospitalized, how is his family going to cope with the financial burden if he cancels both his policies.
just cause i am in this industry and that is my only source of income means i must sell policies. if i really want money that bad, i would just take an office job and draw a salary.
i find it rather admirable that u’re driven by a genuine thirst to help those in need. it does sound like u’re applying the right skill set in the right job n moving towards the right direction at this point.
why let one failed case dampen your spirit? since you’ve explored all his options, shared with him what u could offer, there really is nothing more u can possibly do apart from leaving a card n the option of a phone call when he needs financial advice again further down the road. not buying ur point of view here n now is not a be-all-end-all armageddon for this uncle, his family n for u.
i walk into a shop n see a foot massager. i really like it. the price tag is attractive n affordable. It will save me the agony of foot ache, even years of medical problems down the road. no logical reasons for me not to buy it. but I walk out anyway without buying.
maybe because I will pop back in before heading home – don’t like to carry a foot massager while I window shop.
maybe because I’m waiting for my paycheck to arrive before buying.
maybe because my wife at home will start nagging at me for being a spendthrift.
why is this chap so upset? I’m not buying not because he failed to convince me. neither is it because I have no trust in his service. i’ve got other reasons, y would he take it personally?
things don’t always fall into place the way we envision they would – at first glance anyway. it’s part and parcel of life.
move along and continue pursuing your ideals dude. as long as your conscience is clear and u know what u’re doing, why bother who has severe prejudice against ur chosen field?
don’t doubt ur own ability and direction. n never give up so easily. jia you.
First of all, you must understand that you are currently working in a job for a company and you are a employee of one or many employers. If you really want to help people, why get a job to help people when you can be a volunteer? Go and be a volunteer and help people as much as you desire!
Secondly, you may have a heart to help people because you're kind hearted, but you must know that there are many ways to go about doing it even though you are in a job. For example, being clear, honest and transparent about presenting your policies to your potential clients can be a great help to them. Make sure you DO NOT leave out any backlash in your policies and do your homework to cover all the potential difficulties that you think your potential clients might faced at any timeline into the policies.
Thirdly, you must be prepared to accept failures and rejections. I'm NOT going to comfort you and soothe your wounded spirit. You need to stand up on your own like a real man.
Lastly, you must listen to my advice because I said so. ![]()
One point to help you through your most difficult times, don't imagine your potential clients might die or suffer terrible fate just because they declined your help and assistance. You will be surprised to find out that many people out there can actually live out their lives perfectly well or even better than you without your participation in their lives. Take care of yourself first before you want others to believe in you.
Originally posted by parn:
First of all, you must understand that you are currently working in a job for a company and you are a employee of one or many employers. If you really want to help people, why get a job to help people when you can be a volunteer? Go and be a volunteer and help people as much as you desire!Secondly, you may have a heart to help people because you're kind hearted, but you must know that there are many ways to go about doing it even though you are in a job. For example, being clear, honest and transparent about presenting your policies to your potential clients can be a great help to them. Make sure you DO NOT leave out any backlash in your policies and do your homework to cover all the potential difficulties that you think your potential clients might faced at any timeline into the policies.
Thirdly, you must be prepared to accept failures and rejections. I'm NOT going to comfort you and soothe your wounded spirit. You need to stand up on your own like a real man.
Lastly, you must listen to my advice because I said so.
One point to help you through your most difficult times, don't imagine your potential clients might die or suffer terrible fate just because they declined your help and assistance. You will be surprised to find out that many people out there can actually live out their lives perfectly well or even better than you without your participation in their lives. Take care of yourself first before you want others to believe in you.
he might live without any mishaps, and he may also encounter multiple mishaps. if everything we plan for the best, then when the worst happens, we will not be able to react or prepared. everyone buy stocks, planning for their investment to soar. what happens after they lose money? bankrupcy is 1, suicide is another. such situations i have seen, and do not wish for others to have to go thru this.
i want to be a volunteer. i had plans to join a community group that i can help people plan but i do not know where to find.
i wanna help people to the best of my ability with the best of my abilities, which is why i wanna do financial planning for people. i do not ask for them to buy policies from me, all i want is just to help them plan. i believe in karma, doing good will get good returns.
anyway, is there any volunteer groups that i can join to provide the service of financial planning for people? plan for free , no affliations to my company. only if they want me to implement the plan, then i will give them my namecard. if not i will just do planning and recommendations as an advisor licenced by MAS.
financial planning is not just about selling policies, is making sure people are properly covered, and money is well spent. if they get multiple policies subjected to limitations of claim but cause they got it from different agents and did not realised the limitation, would it be wrong to help them terminate 1 to save money?
the service i wish to provide is to clarify their doubts on their policies. check if they have overlapping coverage. if they are missing out on an important coverage like H&S for elderly. not just sales on new products. everyone has policies , but not many know the coverage each policy provides. many insurance agents are sales driven, for me, i am not. i can take time out to just set up a booth for people to come to me for help. which is what i intend to do. setting up a place once a week, where people can come to me for help on their policies.
if people have their own advisors or tied agent, and want a second opinion, i can recommend it for them and let them go buy it on their own. does not cost me a cent to advise, so why should it cost others to seek advise? 2 hours a week, not a lot to me, play less 2 dota games only.
so if any of you know of anywhere i can provide volunteer financial planning, please share with me. thanks.
Don't give your advices, make your customers want your services.
If you truly meant to help, you'd be doing more and saying less.
You can purchase the kind of "comprehensive" policy on his behalf and pay for the first 3 years premiums.
Subsequently, it is up to him to decide if he wants to continue your policy and pay the premiums himself or cancel it and stick with their current ones.
Remember , TALK IS CHEAP.
Originally posted by jojobeach:If you truly meant to help, you'd be doing more and saying less.
You can purchase the kind of "comprehensive" policy on his behalf and pay for the first 3 years premiums.
Subsequently, it is up to him to decide if he wants to continue your policy and pay the premiums himself or cancel it and stick with their current ones.
Remember , TALK IS CHEAP.
waa. can ah, u give me the money, i pay their premiums for them lor. since u r offering this solution by talk only, why not issue me a blank check to support your idea of less talk and do more.
Originally posted by bladez87:waa. can ah, u give me the money, i pay their premiums for them lor. since u r offering this solution by talk only, why not issue me a blank check to support your idea of less talk and do more.
hey dude, I'm just trying to help you, help them. Get it ?
So ah, cut your bullshit lah. I can see through you like a cheap piece of single ply toilet paper.
And that unker you trying to help is right about not trusting guys like you.
haha. help me help them? by helping me, u mean giving such ideas by talking, and not taking action, while telling me to take action and do something? ya great help. but why so sore? did i offend you? or do you get pleasure from rubbing salt on others?
if your idea of me helping others is to pay for their policies, wow, then i am pretty sure you can help me too, cause i cant afford to pay for their policies. since u can come up with this idea, i am sure u can do it. why not i plan, you pay. we both do good deeds. i can give my time, and you can give your money.
i thank you for your sincerity of helping with your great idea. really. to help others at the expense of your own time and money. i wonder how many people have you actually helped using your own time and money?
ya is alright if he does not trust me. i don think u will actually give to someone who approaches u on the street asking for money. cause some people are just here to diss and not to help.
and for your info, to get a policy on someone else's life , 1 will need insurable interest. he is just a stranger who i want to help, does not mean i can get a policy on his life.
REMEMBER TALK IS CHEAP. help me with your support of their premium payment, so i can help them plan.
edit, your idea is really great. but not feasible. if i were to help 100 people, and pay 3 years of premium for 100 policies, where do i get the money to help them all? you provide?
Dude, take a chill pill ya ? You're ranting.. not a good sign.
Originally posted by bladez87:i know how the financial institutions are in singapore. which is why i had plans to go overseas to continue being in this line. as they have different business model to those financial agencies in singapore. some companies in australia and us charge the client a fixed amount for consultation and planning and recommendation. and do not take a single cent of commission from the insurers. that way there is little conflict of interest between the client and planner, as the planner gets his fee regardless of whether the client takes up his proposal.
if you view service sector as such, a doctor only wanna earns money from people who needs his help. a lawyer only fights for those who can pay him. is that it? just cause people in the service sector wanna help others, doesnt mean they no need money to survive. if the doctor treats everyone for free, then who going to give him food?
it is a sad thing. people can understand the presence of volunteer doctors, and not volunteer financial planners.
anyway thanks to those who gave me proper advice. the rest, know that if u r not helping, means u r most likely hindering. and i believe in karma, do you?
financial planner - plan to separate u from your finance. lol
everyone has to eat, it just depend on what u feed on. i have seen plenty of the so called financial planner getting out of this world commission, they just keep pushing their services whether u want or not. getting $1m commission is nothing to them.
volunteer financial planners - i havent seen one as to date yet, i have seen plenty of blood suckers though lol
furthermore, some of these financial planner dont even buy their own products. lol
btw: i dont believe in karma. lol
Originally posted by jojobeach:Dude, take a chill pill ya ? You're ranting.. not a good sign.
hey i am human, u mean i cant rant? ranting relieves my tension. how is that not a good sign?
Originally posted by Kenashi:
financial planner - plan to separate u from your finance. loleveryone has to eat, it just depend on what u feed on. i have seen plenty of the so called financial planner getting out of this world commission, they just keep pushing their services whether u want or not. getting $1m commission is nothing to them.
volunteer financial planners - i havent seen one as to date yet, i have seen plenty of blood suckers though lol
furthermore, some of these financial planner dont even buy their own products. lol
btw: i dont believe in karma. lol
to each his own. financial planners do not need to buy if they do not need it. u cant expect him to buy every policy that comes out. blood suckers anot, i leave it up to you. i know i am not 1, and at the end of the day, i know i have done my best.
people dont see the need, and when they do see the need for insurance, normally too late for them. is alright, i do not intend to debate nor change any of your mindsets. my belief and confidence has returned, i know what i am doing and will continue doing it.
if any of you knows of any groups , or places where i can offer my services without any doing any sales, just purely financial planning, just drop me a pm or reply here. for the rest who have their own opinions, flaming, or dissing, this is not a chit chat topic, save your negative comments for chit chat.