Originally posted by Chew Bakar:I was selling 2nd hand stuff and play hide and seek with the police.
I never get to to that!
it must be so fun then, to be playing policeman and 'thief'.
Though I hope you didnt mean the 2nd hand stuff as stolen goods.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:
I never get to to that!it must be so fun then, to be playing policeman and 'thief'.
Though I hope you didnt mean the 2nd hand stuff as stolen goods.
No, they were stuff bought from those ang moh army boys. Very easy to sell.
Damn.. I had alot of troubles peddling porn VCDs behind coffeeshops.. which I thought would be easy to sell....
Originally posted by HeartHunter:Damn.. I had alot of troubles peddling porn VCDs behind coffeeshops.. which I thought would be easy to sell....
Damn.. if those were available then, I'll be rich.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Damn.. if those were available then, I'll be rich.
LOL...this reminded me that we never mentioned the LDs during the heydays of pirated video tapes/LDs........in the thread about 'remembering the days...'
Fact
1. Saving $2,080 will not be $29,120. If you put it in insurance fix-d 4% interest return type instruments, after 15 years, it will be $36,074
2. By the time you reach 25 years old and started working, you should be able to increase your savings per month from $160 to $320 per month, based on a starting salary of $2k with 5% increments yearly. Your total savings will be $45,674.
3. Your CPF savings will be est $37,891 at the age of 30. Should you need a house, go for HDB to take advantage of 1st timer grant as a citizen - $40,000. When combined with your wife, if her salary is same as yours, you will have a total of $115,782 to purchase your flat, avg at $250,000 and above. No need to touch your savings.
4. A simple wedding dinner may cost at $100 per head. 10 tables in a restaurant would be $10,000, but usually recovered back by well-wishers who gives ang pow around the same amount. Your savings won't be touched.
5. The suit, gown, ring, photo, dowries, etc, can be budgeted at $3000, leaving your savings at $42, 674. But....your simple renovation of your flat will wipe you out. It cost that much, and in 14 years time..may be more.
Reality
1. It is good you have goals and plans, but understand that NO plan ever goes smooth once flagged off, none. It is rather, your ADAPTABILIY to changes in a running plan that will see you focused to reach your goals.
Many make U turns once they hit rocks, some even when faced with pebbles, instead of making DETOURS, and give up, thus they fail to realize their dreams.
2. The facts are clear - at the rate of your savings, by 30 years, settling down will see your savings wiped out. At least you don't need to borrow. But it is good to have some savings. Study hard, look at what the market requires, align your interests to specific future jobs, and you may be earning more a year than what you could save for 14 years.
Good Luck.
(PS: Why the shit are you smoking at 14 years old????!!!!! C'mon, quit it. It isn't going to do you any good, seriously. Chew gums if you need to, for your health sake, or else for all the hard work you do and earn, will only pay for your doctor's clubmembership fees in SICC)
Originally posted by bl1995cy:Thanks for all your advice and criticism.
I would say that i was one of those “paikia” in sec 1, at the end of sec 1, i was expelled and transfered to this private school, which i detest, so till middle of this year, i was extremely “desiao”(playful). but luckily i got a wake up call, and since, i’ve been trying to find out where i went wrong and am trying to make amendments. So now that i have got a hang of this school, i want to know what to expect in the time to come.
i do not think that this is the point where i am still is working out whether i should be ‘grown up’ or ‘childish’ about my future, but the fact that i have wasted enough time already and i should buck up in my studies. Yes, i could play more as well as study at time same time, but what if i were to get mixed with the wrong people again, i would be back to square one. Hence i do not want to get carried away but finish my studies as soon as possible and at least get my dip.
I get my money from allowance as well as working part-time.
Hey, it's always heartening to hear someone turning away from gangsterism. Most joined out of 'presumed brotherhood' - more likely out of boredom and loneliness, but end up being used by others.
I am glad you had wizend up to such facts. Stay focus on your studies. Find out what interest you the most, and if possible, try to develope interest in academic subjects. This is the only way you can grow, expand your mind and do well in it.
Stay humble, don't let pride or anger make you do irrational things again. Working part time is a good thing, but your priority is your studies. Knowledge is your passport to the world and appreciated talent - uncommon capabilities developed while young in the formative years - will be the generation of your wealth.
Cheers.
You seem like a level headed guy for your age. You are doing the right thing. Keep it up.
Just remember success isnt gonna be easy. It never is and only for the few. But with resilience and perseverance, I am sure with what you had gone thru and woke up, you may just be that few to make it.
And also never, ever to look down on yourself should you fall or fail. Others can look down on you or laugh at you, its ok, for they are nobodies and don't matter to you in life, as we each live our own lives and am fully alone responsible for how it turns out.
The day you look down on yourself is the day you lose your self-esteem and self worth, spiralling you down the road to the begining of the end, and may even make you turn to your 'brotherhood' to regain your pride, which is an error, for such pride are only to use and abuse you for their own selfish aims and objectives.
Keep cool, analyze where you went wrong, correct them and with steely eyes and teeth gritted, face forward and reach for you goals.
All the best!
All the best.
A goal without a plan is just a wish, good job and keep it up!
Originally posted by bl1995cy:Exactly, i don’t know why i am so worried. Since you say the whole world is like that, probably thats why i want to know where they went wrong, so i won’t follow their steps. I know that the first step is to work hard in my studies, but what if in another 10 years time, the world changes, i am afraid my efforts would be wasted. Sure there will be more foreigners coming, and more graduates to compete with.
As for savings, i get about $80 a week, inclusive of meals and whatever i want to buy. Im planning to save at least 30k by the age of 30. So i will have to save $6 a day, minimum 40 a week. I don’t spend money on clothes, computer games.ect but the problem is i spend about $50 a week on cigarettes. i have tried to quit twice but failed. regardless of that, saving $40 a week is a must, and i can do what i like with the remaining.
Also what is the average salary need to live comfortably?
Thanks for all the your replies.
Stop thinking too much, wrong of this world is too complex and sometime cannot be solve by just thinking about it.
Knowledge is never wasted, just depend how you use it. Things alway changes, you just have to face the changes. Don't you find it stupid to be trying to be clever to think so much and worry so much ? Because by trying to be clever you are actually super stupid, wasting all you time and energy on useless thinking, when the time for action, you too tired out.
Stop thinking of things beyond your control, think of how to achieve things that is right infront of you instead - be a man of action and not "think cock' !!!
How much is comfortable ? that is a good question. It is all a matter of perspective, if you chose to be contented and happy - even small pay also will. If you chose to be not contented and unhappy, keep giving you bigger salary also you will want more.
Just do whatever you have to do, and give it your best.
Because if you fail due to unforseen circumstances, you would know that you have done everything you could.
Hmmm....most people that does juggling, balloon sculpting and even clowning activities are people that chap with gangs????
How come I didnt know that!
What they do? Create a balloon pistol and rob people?
Or erm....juggled ciggarettes boxes to make the policemen stop chasing?
or clown old people to laugh to their death and rob their valuables?
TS has a really 'matured' thinking......I am too 'childish' then.
Good luck TS.
Read as many business books as possible. Start a business, sell things... learn to sell, when you're at the right age, join a sales team sell car, sell house, sell sell sell.... after that trade. Start a trading business. or learn to cook and start a food business. The richest people in SG all are business owners. Never workers. Try and try till you suceed. The paper chase is futile.... it can only get you somewhere, but not where you hope to be, especially with any stained educational records - take it from me, I'm a straight A student, but I wish I had gone down the other path instead, learning the road meets rubber way. "Pai kias" who have brains are usually the ones who succeed well in life, especially the ones who have a wake up call and continue to be woken.
"Do not waste time thinking of a better future" - Sir Chinmoy
The only constant from now till then will be you - namely your character, your hard work, and yourself. But it is only part of the entire equation, as you have to meet the right people, get the right job, meet the love of your life, etc. So just do whatever is expected of you well in the present, and fret not about the future.
You're thinking too much .
Study first , and get a part time job in the hols .