Looking at the post title, what kind of issues do you think I have? Overweight issues?
At 175cm, I weigh just 48.8kg. I thought I was at least 50kg, but a more sensitive machine revealed otherwise. I’m severely underweight, more than I thought I am.
Let’s say you’ve just met a new friend/person, he/she is obese. Will you make comments such as: ‘are you a glutton?’, ‘omg you’re so damn fat you should go on diet’, ‘you so fat already still eat so much’.
I think most (thoughtful) people wouldn’t, because such comments obviously provide no help except hurting someone’s feelings. So why the reverse comments should be constantly made against skinny people?
‘Are you anorexic?’, ‘you’re so thin, must eat more lah’, ‘you so skinny already still eat so little/go for runs’.
I think people who make such comments mean no harm, and I kept telling myself I should not be overly affected by such comments. Outwardly, I appear so, even going to the extent of joking about myself (‘oh yes, I eat only one meal per day. I’m so fat so I must diet ya?’). I kept reminding myself that if I have a inferior complex or have no confident about myself, how can I expect others to look at me otherwise?
But…I’m only human.
‘You should eat more’. Seriously, if you put yourself in my shoe, that is a very very very obvious thing that I should do, even to myself. You may mean no harm making such remarks but it serves to remind me that I’m not doing things right, that somehow I’m not ‘making enough efforts’ to improve on my weight.
Imagine sitting with your friends during lunch, with almost all of them having completed their food (some with ‘more rice’) while you still have 1/3 to go on normal serving. There’s enough pressure having everyone wait for me. The last thing I need is for people to tell me to ‘eat more, eat more’.
Just like how no fat people want to be fat, not all skinny people want to be skinny…especially when everyone around complains of being too fat.
I’ve just started to go to gym on a regular basis with the intention to bulk up. If that sounds easy to you then you’ve probably never tried being the only extremely skinny person in a place full of muscular guys (or at least, mildly obese) working out with 100kg dumb-bells (not joking, I saw one ang-moh do >160kg, but he's ang moh). You see all the commercials on TV with those skinny guys in the gym trying to do weights with a 5kg dumb-bells…ya, they’re making fun of people like me.
But still, I go to gym. I try to ‘be blind’ inside. At the same time I’m researching on ways to increase weight in the most efficient manner. And the last thing I need is for people to emphasis or remind me of the fact that I am indeed very light-weight.
Recently, I revealed that I go for runs. Well, what I didn’t expect is that people actually ‘advise’ me not to go running, because it’ll make me loose even more weight, as if the fact that I go for run ‘confirms’ the fact that I’m indeed anorexic.
But after attending the AHMs during my army days, I did develop a liking for running long distance. No, wait, I don’t really like running after all, but I like the feeling of pushing my limits and being able to complete what’s difficult to do. It’s not so much about making me fitter or losing weight, it’s about pushing myself to the limits. So I’ll stubbornly insist on continuing my runs (not as if I run that regularly, it’s less than two times a week)…at the most I’ll focus harder in other areas of gaining back the weights.
Lastly, I’m just trying to let of steam by posting in here (yes, it’s a long post). Hopefully, I’m not acting like some emo teenagers whining about some petty issue. If my friends read this I think they’ll be able to deduce who I am (after all, there aren’t a lot of extremely skinny guys in Singapore), but I’m gambling on the fact that they wouldn’t anything to anyone else. I guess I will not be able to make the world revolve around me by asking every single person around me to stop commenting about my weight. What I can do is to instead change myself.
TS, at 175cm weighing 48.8kg is quite jialat u koe. gt c doc ar nt? better take action
take weight gainers, hit the gym and chiong heavy weights ( those u can still lift up a few times i mean ) small repetitions, increase slowly, 3 times a wk. make sure ur muscles ache after every workout. give urself 3-6 mths. if ur disclipline is der, u will definitely bulk up. fck care the rest of the gym go-ers.
i used to be 180cm 60kg. not so jialat as u but aso quite skinny. everytime tio kb by gals. now gain to 68kg alrdy. 3 mths is all i took.
TS age 20+ ah ..quite jialat leh...
im a teenager 17 174cm 48k.. but im happy im not fat la..but i very skinny too ..but i eat quite alot leh jus cant grow fat...maybe we shld consider ourselves lucky u know..some ppl don eat oso fat.so don be so sad la:D
Well, you should just comment that I am contented about what I am now... unless you ain't...
Anyway, if you really want to put on some weigh, you can try weigh gaining solutions like supplements and such... cos they help you to put on weight and size. Anyway, eating fast is one of method so that you do not feel full before finishing your food.Cos if you eat slow.... you might find that you are full before finishing the food as it had reached your stomach... =)
Originally posted by annoy-you-must:Looking at the post title, what kind of issues do you think I have? Overweight issues?
At 175cm, I weigh just 48.8kg. I thought I was at least 50kg, but a more sensitive machine revealed otherwise. I’m severely underweight, more than I thought I am.
Let’s say you’ve just met a new friend/person, he/she is obese. Will you make comments such as: ‘are you a glutton?’, ‘omg you’re so damn fat you should go on diet’, ‘you so fat already still eat so much’.
I think most (thoughtful) people wouldn’t, because such comments obviously provide no help except hurting someone’s feelings. So why the reverse comments should be constantly made against skinny people?
‘Are you anorexic?’, ‘you’re so thin, must eat more lah’, ‘you so skinny already still eat so little/go for runs’.
I think people who make such comments mean no harm, and I kept telling myself I should not be overly affected by such comments. Outwardly, I appear so, even going to the extent of joking about myself (‘oh yes, I eat only one meal per day. I’m so fat so I must diet ya?’). I kept reminding myself that if I have a inferior complex or have no confident about myself, how can I expect others to look at me otherwise?
But…I’m only human.
‘You should eat more’. Seriously, if you put yourself in my shoe, that is a very very very obvious thing that I should do, even to myself. You may mean no harm making such remarks but it serves to remind me that I’m not doing things right, that somehow I’m not ‘making enough efforts’ to improve on my weight.
Imagine sitting with your friends during lunch, with almost all of them having completed their food (some with ‘more rice’) while you still have 1/3 to go on normal serving. There’s enough pressure having everyone wait for me. The last thing I need is for people to tell me to ‘eat more, eat more’.
Just like how no fat people want to be fat, not all skinny people want to be skinny…especially when everyone around complains of being too fat.
I’ve just started to go to gym on a regular basis with the intention to bulk up. If that sounds easy to you then you’ve probably never tried being the only extremely skinny person in a place full of muscular guys (or at least, mildly obese) working out with 100kg dumb-bells (not joking, I saw one ang-moh do >160kg, but he's ang moh). You see all the commercials on TV with those skinny guys in the gym trying to do weights with a 5kg dumb-bells…ya, they’re making fun of people like me.
But still, I go to gym. I try to ‘be blind’ inside. At the same time I’m researching on ways to increase weight in the most efficient manner. And the last thing I need is for people to emphasis or remind me of the fact that I am indeed very light-weight.
Recently, I revealed that I go for runs. Well, what I didn’t expect is that people actually ‘advise’ me not to go running, because it’ll make me loose even more weight, as if the fact that I go for run ‘confirms’ the fact that I’m indeed anorexic.
But after attending the AHMs during my army days, I did develop a liking for running long distance. No, wait, I don’t really like running after all, but I like the feeling of pushing my limits and being able to complete what’s difficult to do. It’s not so much about making me fitter or losing weight, it’s about pushing myself to the limits. So I’ll stubbornly insist on continuing my runs (not as if I run that regularly, it’s less than two times a week)…at the most I’ll focus harder in other areas of gaining back the weights.
Lastly, I’m just trying to let of steam by posting in here (yes, it’s a long post). Hopefully, I’m not acting like some emo teenagers whining about some petty issue. If my friends read this I think they’ll be able to deduce who I am (after all, there aren’t a lot of extremely skinny guys in Singapore), but I’m gambling on the fact that they wouldn’t anything to anyone else. I guess I will not be able to make the world revolve around me by asking every single person around me to stop commenting about my weight. What I can do is to instead change myself.
Hi annoy-you-must,
You are severely underweight! I can understand what you mean when you express your unhappiness about the people who keep asking you to eat more or put on more weight. As you have mentioned, most of them do not mean harm, and truly mean well for you. However, it is not easy to see from the perspectives of others, especially when it is likely that none of those who commented about you have ever been severly underweight before.
On your part, it will be good for you to read up on weight-gaining strategies and create a workout plan for yourself, instead of going to the gym in hope that you will start to gain more weight. Without a good plan, you may just find yourself losing even more weight with random workouts.
Cheers.