Hi People, I hope to seek advice. I am a diploma graduate, just ORD-ed last year. I am feeling lost after ORD regarding what to do after NS. Base on my result, I don't think I am able to get into local University. Therefore, my only option would be degree from overseas. I am thinking if I should go for SIM Information System and Management Course or I should consider SMa Sport Science. Frankly speaking, I do have interest in sport science. However, I was quite worry about the career prospect. SIM seems to be more popular with poly students and I think those who studied business should have better career prospect. Should I go for my interest or for better career prospect? or maybe I should sign on RSAF, as I think I might be interested in aircrew specialist?
???
Originally posted by kungbushmen:Hi People, I hope to seek advice. I am a diploma graduate, just ORD-ed last year. I am feeling lost after ORD regarding what to do after NS. Base on my result, I don't think I am able to get into local University. Therefore, my only option would be degree from overseas. I am thinking if I should go for SIM Information System and Management Course or I should consider SMa Sport Science. Frankly speaking, I do have interest in sport science. However, I was quite worry about the career prospect. SIM seems to be more popular with poly students and I think those who studied business should have better career prospect. Should I go for my interest or for better career prospect? or maybe I should sign on RSAF, as I think I might be interested in aircrew specialist?
If you have interest in Sports Science, try entering NIE's diploma program to be a PE teacher. After 3 years, if you do well, you can cross over to the degree program in NTU.
Originally posted by kungbushmen:Hi People, I hope to seek advice. I am a diploma graduate, just ORD-ed last year. I am feeling lost after ORD regarding what to do after NS. Base on my result, I don't think I am able to get into local University. Therefore, my only option would be degree from overseas. I am thinking if I should go for SIM Information System and Management Course or I should consider SMa Sport Science. Frankly speaking, I do have interest in sport science. However, I was quite worry about the career prospect. SIM seems to be more popular with poly students and I think those who studied business should have better career prospect. Should I go for my interest or for better career prospect? or maybe I should sign on RSAF, as I think I might be interested in aircrew specialist?
you should have started thinking about your future way before ORD mate .......
waiting till you're out of uniform is way too late ....
Originally posted by Fatum:you should have started thinking about your future way before ORD mate .......
waiting till you're out of uniform is way too late ....
X2
if you want to sign on you should have done it during ns and not after ord. You wasted 2 years of your time when you could be drawing a Regular good salary during these 2 years
seems a little late to think of your career after you ORD mate. shd have done so 1 yr or 6 mths before you ORD.
Anyway, my advice is to go seek a degree overseas if you can. much more marketable.
simple.
since you got ur diploma find a job that requires ur diploma, compare to other job, u are pay more for ur profession.
meanwhile, apply for SIM, NTU, NUS, see whether they wan u or not. Anyway, there is at least a 1/2 year lag phase before they confirmed and enrolled u. Whack everything. It is they choose u, not ur choice, unless, u have really good result.
if u r interested in whatever, just whack also. No need to think so hard. After they say you are wanted, then you pick apples that is already in your hands.
Going overseas, is good idea, but you need $$$. So u also need to work FIRST to save enough. And they took like 1 years lag phase before you get enrolled. And Whack every Uni. because they may not wan u.
The options you named from SIM and SMa are not degree from overseas, in that you are not going to have an overseas education. They are distance learning.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:If you have interest in Sports Science, try entering NIE's diploma program to be a PE teacher. After 3 years, if you do well, you can cross over to the degree program in NTU.
Seems like a waste of time to do a 3 yr dip in NIE when he already has a dip. I'm assuming TS's dip is from a poly and therefore took 3 yrs as well. TS can consider signing on as PE teacher and so can enrol in NIE for degree programme at NTU, but then again NTU is really rubbish and crap university whose degree is only fit for wiping the ass...tough choice..
another choice is to enrol in SIM degree course or UniSim, which is definitely better than NTU. UniSim is endorsed by the government isn't it?
I know a lot of SIM and UniSim grads who found jobs in back office of banks. So there is really no difference between going to SIM or going anywhere else. You can safely go there.
never too late to sign on SAF. but do note that it is no longer iron ricebowl. ppl sign on contract for a no. of years. then depend on performance can carry on or have to leave SAF.
a uni degree will carry you further for job search in private sector. just make sure you go uni that has SG recognition.
sports science is becoming more popular, but there are limited jobs in that restricted field. you will most likely end up being PE teacher.
IT is always a safe bet. all companies need IT staff (whether outsourced or insource). however, do note that SG is also outsourcing more of its basic IT needs to cheaper IT labour in other countries. so to remain employable, you will have to keep on upgrading your IT skills every year and not just get a IT degree and stop learning.
Originally posted by kungbushmen:Hi all! thanks for all the advices. I was just wondering if SMa sport science degree awarded by Edith Cowan University is recognise in Singapore. Mention about IT industry, I have no interest and no intention of working in IT industry, not my cup of tea. That’s why I was thinking of signing on, and hopefully after serving for maybe 3 years then I can save up enough money and take up this part time degree while still in the service. Not sure if RSAF allow or not.
It should be recognised..check with MOE, which will be the main hirer of PE teachers. Since you are interested in being a PE teacher with that qualification, you should check with the employers of most PE teachers in Singapore, which is the MOE. I remember helping one of my men out and enquiring for him, and I think it's recognised in fact one of the SMa sport science grads is a sports lecturer at Republic Poly, but he was already a PE teacher in sec school for some years thats why he can be a sports lecturer after he finish his SMa.
However, you should bear in mind that if you go to SIM business, you will have wider choice of jobs and sectors to apply to when you finish compared to sports science which is far more specialised, because business degrees are generic degrees.
think twice before sign on. 6-8 contracts wor.
if you wana sign on, why dont you do it during your NS. coz if u decided to ORD after 6 years. you will be 27-28 years old at the minimum. to start again a new career after that is consider late liao lor.
think twice.
hi 'insidestory', i went down to the campus to get the brochure, it says 'MOE registered'. haha...i guess it is recognised. I do agree with you that business is a more general route, with better career prospect =).Well, still gonna think abt it.
ya 'reyes', minimum 6 yrs i guess, I was thinking if i can save up $$ to further studies next time. But 6 yrs is really a long period, and i hear negative comment regarding aircrew spec vocation. HAiz...getting old..
u r still young to make an academic mistake...no worries...since u have emphasized an interest for sports science - go for the passion first....even if u regret that choice after 2 or 3 years...u r still young to switch to another choice..but u should only err only once and not too many times...u must have decided on your future course before 26 ideally...
again - dun let sluts waver or even ruin your career choice...even if they maybe right...u shd be your own decider...love and relationships is one thing...but a man's career must always reign FIRST ..
no joke bro...
thanks Fcukpap. you sounded rather serious. haha...ya, still got some time to 'trial and error'. But got to settle down in a few yrs' time. This stage is difficult, got to be decisive and 'risky'. I like this sentence "but a man's career must always reign FIRST ..". hahaha...=)
SIM is the most recognised private uni, if i am correct. My advice to you is study first before working. That of course is when you have the money
Hi TTFU! ya, now trying to look for perm job, save up first.
go holiday first.
then be free lance photographer
Originally posted by Not4rent:go holiday first.
then be free lance photographer

hahaha..Not4rent, are you a free lance photographer as well?
Originally posted by kungbushmen:hahaha..Not4rent, are you a free lance photographer as well?
nope
u sure u want to sign on...many ppl are leaving the regular force...my advise to u is to find out more from the regulars first b4 u sign...
Originally posted by devils_advocate82:u sure u want to sign on...many ppl are leaving the regular force...my advise to u is to find out more from the regulars first b4 u sign...
i heard from my friends that sign on is easy money and easy job career.