Hi, recently I took up martial arts and need to train to jump and kick.
The problem is, I am scared of falling down or twist my ankle.
Despite this, I really have the interest to learn and hope to do a nice jump and kick. But I just am too timid and also scared of embarressment.
I am afraid my this condition is 'want to learn but scared to learn syndrome'. Then if I give up just because I am 'scared to do it', I know I will regret why I didn't go for it when I am still young and start regretting when I am old liow.
How can I be courageous?
Originally posted by Zhangjf7768:Hi, recently I took up martial arts and need to train to jump and kick.
Despite this, I really have the interest to learn and hope to do a nice jump and kick. But I just am too timid and also scared of embarressment.
I am afraid my this condition is 'want to learn but scared to learn syndrome'. Then if I give up just because I am 'scared to do it', I know I will regret why I didn't go for it when I am still young and start regretting when I am old liow.
How can I be courageous?
heck care and do...muz gan gan one...sure will fall down and get injured first few times..there can only be success when theres failure...at most hit head kena hospitalised nia..
courage is not the lack of fear but the strength of will to overcome the fear...
so what you can do is to train more, have more confidence in your ability and then try...
"To not know fear is the height of foolishness. To know fear is necessary. It is essential."
However, the WILL to carry out/perform ur duty is another seperate issue...
U wan to learn martial arts, but is afraid of injuries... That is normal... However, U lack the strength of will and determination to complete ur task (aka learning martial arts)...
They are 2 seperate issues actually... Wat ah bear said has a point... If ur willpower and determination can only bring u so far, then it will...
???u want to fight but cant take punishment from hits,kicks,punches and heavy round house swing??afraid you would fall?????
what kinda panties are u wearing???maybe its too tight!
fighting is meant for guys.
how to be courageous?
u need to kill a few people............
>Terminator: HAHAHA, u are so funny!
>Acid and Bear and Dood: thanks for your replies. Need to psycho myself to be more determined.
of course....i would rather kill fer fun than fer werk.
perhaps martial arts isnt for u......even if u learnt it................it would take a longer time for u to be a warrior.most girls dont get frightened when they kick .
anyway if u cant kick well or jump well...u could also benefit like having a slimmer female body which is often in the case of girls in martial arts.
just dont go sparring around....which involves beating up people.
> Terminator: If I need to compromise in anyways, then I better don't waste money and time to learn. I am posting this to find out what ways I can encourage myself to be more brave since this is something noone can do for me except myself - either I do it or I quit.
Originally posted by Zhangjf7768:Hi, recently I took up martial arts and need to train to jump and kick.
How can I be courageous?
take another martial art that dont require you to jump and kick loh.that is an easy way out.
it is a fact that you will get injured if you dont land well. I know.
Your coach should lay mattress to prevent you from hurting urself.
TS..ASK POOLMAN..HE TEACH U ONE MARTIAL ARTS,SURE SHIOK.U NEED TO BEND DOWN A LITTLE THO
zhang,
u want to be brave???u dont want to get hurt or scratched while fighting??what ever for do u need to take up martial arts???try going for aerobics classes....ithink they have jumps and kicks too.
but if u are learning self defence to avoid getting robbed etc,,,there are short prevention self defence courses a few days or so classes specifically for that.u don t really need to jump and kick someones balls like u see in the movies or what u are doin now.....
>Lokey: HAHAHA.... the thing is, they put matteress I also scared fall down.... see? That is what I am trying to say.. how to be courageous?
Originally posted by Zhangjf7768:>Lokey: HAHAHA.... the thing is, they put matteress I also scared fall down.... see? That is what I am trying to say.. how to be courageous?
you just jump and kick only. think it in this way, if your classmates can do it, you can do it too. You are not weak, in fact better them, just do it.
if you do martial art, to get twist ankle, broken bones, aching... is normal.
I have taken a 100% a full round house kick from some1 recently, and now it still hurts. So if I scare, then I should play chess instead loh.
Or can stay home forum :D
Its all ur mentality....If you think u can do it means u can....(Dun think of ridiculous things though).Give yourself an excuse.Or boast to yourself.Like ''fall down and sprain my ankle?Lol joke only stupid fools will sprain their ankles''.And if unfortunately,you sprain your ankle,bear with the pain and continue with the jump and kicks.I know it isn't easy bearing with the pain but for me when im in pain,ill get very angry and continue doing the things im do with brute force lol
The brute force way im using is kinda good for the martial art course you're doing XD
So to sum it up?Its all about what you think
Try it once, try it again, try it the third time. The rest becomes natural. Or you can drink some beer, and develop a new set of kong fu called the zhui quan.
Just Do It.
Most people is scared and just do it.
Some people is scared and don't do it.
Chose which one you want to be.
don't fall and injure yourself...ensure that safety precautions are always adhered to ![]()
do u know why u fear ?
generally, fear can either be real or baseless. if the fear is real, try to pinpoint what could be the cause of the fear. take precaution or manage it to eliminate the cause so that the fear will be removed.
if the fear is baseless, this is mostly due to our imagination or lack of knowledge. in this case, talk to your coach or seniors and let them help you understand. find out how best you can do to protect yourself. take small steps in conquering your fear.
just to give an example - before jumping off 10 storeys, jump off 1st storey first, then 2nd storey, ... progressively. build up your confidence and gauge how far you can go and how much your body can take.
seek out martial arts community (forum) where there will be more people who can give you advice.
hope it helps.
Keep practicing. If you fall down, you think what had gone wrong, issit your footwork issue? They should also got teach how to breakfall.
I dunno if courages and bravery is the same meaning> Some of this gotta come with age, and experiance with life..
If you fall, no need scare embarressment, keep doing until you get it right, everytime do it better, good timing to kick is essential, practise make perfect.Adjust ur timing, angle, distance, speed.
Maybe the type of martial arts you learn> to you fall down is no good, but to some,is a false move in order to go for the kill.
Most martial arts teach "stand-up" fighting, they dun really teach "ground" fighting and are for "points system" during tornement.In real life, do you think one will not fall down?
Example: Muay thai teach you knee the ribs due to many restrictions. If me, i knee my opponent's private parts. Aikido tell you go in, twist the hand, make ur emeny fall, if me, i grap the hand (do 180 degree turn), put his elbow above my shouder, i break his arm.
I have friends that are instructors in martial arts, but what they teach during class are not what they use in real life, reason being> In real pratical world, is use the easiest,fastest,most lethal way to KO ur opponent.
Many will teach how to excute a technic, but never show/teach how or what to do in order for you to let you opponent to give you the chance to use that technic.
During tornement or real fight is timing issue, reaction, practice & practice.
An example: Last year, got a competition, is Muay Thai VS TKD in singapore.
TKD is black belt 4 Dan(iirc),36 yrs old instructor, 76kg.
Muay thai opponent only learn 6 months, age 27, 72kg.
TKD guy use double turn back thrust of right leg, Muay thai guy avoid.(Timing)
TKD guy jump up, come down, fast 180 degrees turn to left leg kick, Muay thai guy avoid.(Reaction)
TKD guy again jump up, mid air turn right leg kick, Muay Thai guy bend down then do a high sweep kick.TKD guy fall flat on face(Timing, Reaction + practice).
Another SG chinese guy (heard he learn 5 years shang shou).
Facing a TKD brown belt guy (Indian).(Tis guy practice hard, good conditioning)
This TKD guy is a clever guy, use brain to fight.Chinese guy charge in> Indian guy act fall down, but he back thrust using heel kick the chines guy chin, Chines guy KO.
(Timing, practice)
Learn martial arts is only learn the style, to really use it is HAVE to practice.
In real world, is using brain & how to use the fastest leathal way to KO opponent.
Read up books on variouse martial arts, you will notice some technic from martial arts A is use to counter martial arts B.
EDITED: I dunno how to teach you to be couragous, but if you want to do it, you can do it, Its in your mind, you have to overcome yourself first. If then you can do it, keep on practicing. You will be a gem in no time.
To be good in martial arts is just hard work & practice. If learn liao but dun practice, in your mind you know all technic, but when using it , it will not be swift & effective.
Maybe, you can try jump lower + kick, slowely higher+kick.
Just like a forumer had said, progressively...slowely slowely. Dun rush yourself.Tell yourself you can do it.
Keep practicing. If you fall down, you think what had gone wrong, issit your footwork issue? They should also got teach how to breakfall.
I dunno if courages and bravery is the same meaning> Some of this gotta come with age, and experiance with life..
If you fall, no need scare embarressment, keep doing until you get it right, everytime do it better, good timing to kick is essential, practise make perfect.Adjust ur timing, angle, distance, speed.
Maybe the type of martial arts you learn> to you fall down is no good, but to some,is a false move in order to go for the kill.
Most martial arts teach "stand-up" fighting, they dun really teach "ground" fighting and are for "points system" during tornement.In real life, do you think one will not fall down?
Example: Muay thai teach you knee the ribs due to many restrictions. If me, i knee my opponent's private parts. Aikido tell you go in, twist the hand, make ur emeny fall, if me, i grap the hand (do 180 degree turn), put his elbow above my shouder, i break his arm.
I have friends that are instructors in martial arts, but what they teach during class are not what they use in real life, reason being> In real pratical world, is use the easiest,fastest,most lethal way to KO ur opponent.
Many will teach how to excute a technic, but never show/teach how or what to do in order for you to let you opponent to give you the chance to use that technic.
Muay thai opponent only learn 6 months, age 27, 72kg.
TKD guy use double turn back thrust of right leg, Muay thai guy avoid.(Timing)
TKD guy jump up, come down, fast 180 degrees turn to left leg kick, Muay thai guy avoid.(Reaction)
TKD guy again jump up, mid air turn right leg kick, Muay Thai guy bend down then do a high sweep kick.TKD guy fall flat on face(Timing, Reaction + practice).
Another SG chinese guy (heard he learn 5 years shang shou).
This TKD guy is a clever guy, use brain to fight.Chinese guy charge in> Indian guy act fall down, but he back thrust using heel kick the chines guy chin, Chines guy KO.
(Timing, practice)
Learn martial arts is only learn the style, to really use it is HAVE to practice.
In real world, is using brain & how to use the fastest leathal way to KO opponent.
Read up books on variouse martial arts, you will notice some technic from martial arts A is use to counter martial arts B.
How can I be courageous?
simi courage
knn, no pain no gain u know
practice martial art sure kana hurt one lah
balls kana kick also got
face dont know kana whack how many time liao
u scare pain go join other game lor
go play bowling no need to jump one
Originally posted by bo liao:Keep practicing. If you fall down, you think what had gone wrong, issit your footwork issue? They should also got teach how to breakfall.
I have friends that are instructors in martial arts, but what they teach during class are not what they use in real life, reason being> In real pratical world, is use the easiest,fastest,most lethal way to KO ur opponent.Many will teach how to excute a technic, but never show/teach how or what to do in order for you to let you opponent to give you the chance to use that technic.
Muay thai opponent only learn 6 months, age 27, 72kg.TKD guy use double turn back thrust of right leg, Muay thai guy avoid.(Timing)
TKD guy again jump up, mid air turn right leg kick, Muay Thai guy bend down then do a high sweep kick.TKD guy fall flat on face(Timing, Reaction + practice).Another SG chinese guy (heard he learn 5 years shang shou).
(Timing, practice)Learn martial arts is only learn the style, to really use it is HAVE to practice.
In real world, is using brain & how to use the fastest leathal way to KO opponent.Read up books on variouse martial arts, you will notice some technic from martial arts A is use to counter martial arts B.
wa lau, u so violent one
during martial art practice all my punch and kick got compassion one
in real fight i will run away liao, no need to ko pple lah
my running wont lose to anyone