I am skinny and tall, so I call my body type.....Mark Lee type.
But this kind of body type is bad for me, it affects my self-confidence.
I feel self-conscious and not confident whenever I go out.
Especially whenever I am standing, I feel exposed and vulnerable / awkward.
Actually, as far as I can remember, I have always been skinny.
Since kindergarten, school, and until now, old man, I have always been underweight.
I never experience normal weight before.
I feel this is a problem because it disturbs my body-image and my self-image.
I remember some comments from friends, relatives, acquaintances....they would always make comments about me......they say I should "eat more".......and stuff like that.
Actually everytime they say I should "eat more"......even though it is a well-meaning advice....but it hurts my feelings....it makes me feel like something is wrong with me.
I still remember one episode, one time my secondary school teacher asked me, whether I had illness or not. She asked me that because I looked so skinny. I just smiled and said no.
But episodes like that throughout my life and my growing up phase, make me feel disappointed, imbalanced, and inadequate.
Even today I still receive such comments. When relatives visit, just before they leave, they would say "dont forget to eat more"
Sometimes they say something nicer, but still bothers me......things such as..."wow, you eat a lot, but you can still maintain a slim body, thats good". But I feel insecure again because I feel that they are pointing to my skinniness.
Friends also make comments.
When I stay in dorms...or hotels.....and when I wear loose clothings....they would make comments "wow, your legs are so skinny"
So...everyone seem to notice it and bring it up.
Needless to say, my family members especially my parents also bring it up.
Actually, my parents even brought me to have some check-up.....to see if something is medically wrong with me or not.
I went through so many check up during my teenage years that the process made me lose self-confidence.....because it made me thinks that maybe I am abnormal.
My parents asked me to do more excercises, in fact, they are treating me as if I am weak or that I have some illness or abnormality.
All these environmental effects have started to seep deep into my heart and my psyche. I start to think that maybe I am indeed abnormal, or at least, something is wrong with me. Or I am lacking compared to other "normal" people.
I wasnt paying much attention to it, but nowadays through a chance encounter, I visitted the library and borrowed a book on Anorexia, just coincidentally, no reason, and it talks a bit about psychology and body-image, then suddenly everything clicks and I realize I have been suffering a serious psychological condition due to my unsatisfactory body-image (but I dont have anorexia). It makes me realize I am imbalanced and I am suffering mentally due to my skinniness issue.
Haixxzz....
Anyways, thanks for listening.
I want to start doing something concrete....maybe I should start a body-building programme? Or what should I do?
thank you,
Wear push up bra.
Your chest will look bigger, look more muscular. =)
drink oil instead of water
Go train muscles.....
eat more veggie bao and you will be very fat
You serve NS already?
Do something about it only when you feel that this has really affected you.
Staying healthy beats those self-percieved image. ![]()
be positive. at least you are not fat and short.
Originally posted by _Da_Dood_:drink oil instead of water
yes....
Originally posted by Veggie Bao:I am skinny and tall, so I call my body type.....Mark Lee type.
Since kindergarten, school, and until now, old man, I have always been underweight.
I remember some comments from friends, relatives, acquaintances....they would always make comments about me......they say I should "eat more".......and stuff like that.
Actually everytime they say I should "eat more"......even though it is a well-meaning advice....but it hurts my feelings....it makes me feel like something is wrong with me.
I still remember one episode, one time my secondary school teacher asked me, whether I had illness or not. She asked me that because I looked so skinny. I just smiled and said no.
But episodes like that throughout my life and my growing up phase, make me feel disappointed, imbalanced, and inadequate.
Even today I still receive such comments. When relatives visit, just before they leave, they would say "dont forget to eat more"
Sometimes they say something nicer, but still bothers me......things such as..."wow, you eat a lot, but you can still maintain a slim body, thats good". But I feel insecure again because I feel that they are pointing to my skinniness.
When I stay in dorms...or hotels.....and when I wear loose clothings....they would make comments "wow, your legs are so skinny"
Actually, my parents even brought me to have some check-up.....to see if something is medically wrong with me or not.
I went through so many check up during my teenage years that the process made me lose self-confidence.....because it made me thinks that maybe I am abnormal.
My parents asked me to do more excercises, in fact, they are treating me as if I am weak or that I have some illness or abnormality.
All these environmental effects have started to seep deep into my heart and my psyche. I start to think that maybe I am indeed abnormal, or at least, something is wrong with me. Or I am lacking compared to other "normal" people.
I wasnt paying much attention to it, but nowadays through a chance encounter, I visitted the library and borrowed a book on Anorexia, just coincidentally, no reason, and it talks a bit about psychology and body-image, then suddenly everything clicks and I realize I have been suffering a serious psychological condition due to my unsatisfactory body-image (but I dont have anorexia). It makes me realize I am imbalanced and I am suffering mentally due to my skinniness issue.
Haixxzz....
I want to start doing something concrete....maybe I should start a body-building programme? Or what should I do?
thank you,
The trouble with you is you think too much, can be seen from the long post.
Then also you think only of yourself. Your gripping is endless.
And then you compare yourself with Mark Lee. This makes you even worse.
And you look towards bodybuilding to cure your woes. Your aunties would ask you to eat even more!
The cure for your self-esteem problem is to look out wards, towards others. Be considerate, be polite, be helpful, exercise courtesy, get involved in some charity work. This way you build up your reputation as someone worthy in the community.
To hear "That skinny fellow, very good one you know, help many people." is worth more than being a muscle head.
at least u only got Mark Lee syndrome wat so be happy lah....... what about those with Jack Neo and Henry Thia syndrome?? worst right?
Originally posted by Veggie Bao:I am skinny and tall, so I call my body type.....Mark Lee type.
Haixxzz....
thank you,
First you are very self-conscientious, which is good, in a sense that you are aware of your situations. My question for you is have been eating enough. You know that you are tall and hence you need to eat more to supply yourself with nutrients.
There is a guy in my dragonboat team, who is tall, 180, muscular, and have clear muscle definition. When I have dinner with him, he usually eat two plates of chicken rice and one bowl of desert. It is not wonder that he is able to maintain his physique. That is what he usually for every meals (3 big and 3 small meal) everyday.
Muscles size is proportional to weight that you can carry, so go the gym and bulk yourself up too.
It is obvious that you have not eat enough and exercise enough.
eat more and exercise more lor
Eh...now mark lee is really buff lei....
-_-"
And if u think u're too skinny den start bulking up la! Shouldn't be too hard ba.....guys are naturally more able to build up muscles rite?
Haixxzz....
thank you,
grats your thread got on a chinese newspaper.
Originally posted by MasterMoogle:grats your thread got on a chinese newspaper.
Realli? Which paper Shinming or Wanbao?
post screenshot.
knn those news reporter
no news to cover issit
Originally posted by BanguIzai:Realli? Which paper Shinming or Wanbao?
lianhewanbao page7
Originally posted by MasterMoogle:lianhewanbao page7
wakau so interesting sad sia today no buy newspaper
Oei.....
Wah....cannot be like that lah...
Why put this topic in the newspaper....
I shy leh.....
Eh you reporter....if you want to quote, ask my permission first lah....
Sian.....I want to hide and you shine the torchlight to me.
Sian....
last time they also quote me when I was still Meat Pao.
Dont do those kinds of things leh.....posting here is intimate.....at most a few hundred people or few thousands people read....and it is only on the internet (informal media)...If you quote to a newspaper....how can I hide my face..???
Oh yah hor...nobody knows my face.
nvm......
but I still dont like....
Ur face gt pimples holes ma.