hey ppl i dono if i came to the right place for help but here goes..
i m currently 24 yrs old. have been suffering hairloss for close to 2 yrs. throughout this 2 yrs my hair dropped quite severely n now my hairloss is evident.
because of that i became very quiet n depressed. i seldom go out, turn down friends outings n became very paranoid about ppl staring at me (which they actually are). i feel so embarassed even by looking at myself in the mirror. sometimes i would cry at night and ask myself why the hell m i suffering this. in addition i have excema and a very pale lip complexion
to be honest, there are times i just want to end my life cause its so damn depressing and heartaching. why am i suffering so much at such a young age.
till now i have spent 8k on uselss hair trtments n though there is slight improvement, its too costly to continue n its not worth it cause my hair loss is still present.
i did my reserach and there is currently this drug that i can take with risk of side effects. frankly i do not want to waste any more money for hair trtment that are useless
currently i am deciding to shave complete bald cause i do have a relative buff physique from my exercise regime n diet. but i just cant do it cause its such a turn-off.
haiz..i need to do something but wad can i do?
yunnam and all that bullshit is crap la. Try svensons hair implants. My friend did it and he's really happy about it. Just that the washing part can take a little more effort. You will look as handsome as before.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:yunnam and all that bullshit is crap la. Try svensons hair implants. My friend did it and he's really happy about it. Just that the washing part can take a little more effort. You will look as handsome as before.
doing a hair xplant isnt a perm solution. it only cover the area with existing hair u have. hair will still drop.... its not cheap..
still have to go for regular maintainance.
tbh i need money for daily expenses and futher edu that i want to take. i do not think i would want to spent majority of my money on hair leaving so little to use
wah then u choose whether u wanna take care of ur self esteem first or your studies. my friend dropped hair in his early 20s, pretty bad but he looks great with hair implants now. he was one of the spokesman for svensons. they asked him to front their ads and he got free treatment. perhaps u can offer urself to these hair companies.
Try TCM. Eat too much western medicine your liver will get stress. Some needles poking maybe will get better.
Originally posted by xx_dexter_xx:hey ppl i dono if i came to the right place for help but here goes..
i m currently 24 yrs old. have been suffering hairloss for close to 2 yrs. throughout this 2 yrs my hair dropped quite severely n now my hairloss is evident.
because of that i became very quiet n depressed. i seldom go out, turn down friends outings n became very paranoid about ppl staring at me (which they actually are). i feel so embarassed even by looking at myself in the mirror. sometimes i would cry at night and ask myself why the hell m i suffering this. in addition i have excema and a very pale lip complexion
to be honest, there are times i just want to end my life cause its so damn depressing and heartaching. why am i suffering so much at such a young age.
till now i have spent 8k on uselss hair trtments n though there is slight improvement, its too costly to continue n its not worth it cause my hair loss is still present.
i did my reserach and there is currently this drug that i can take with risk of side effects. frankly i do not want to waste any more money for hair trtment that are useless
currently i am deciding to shave complete bald cause i do have a relative buff physique from my exercise regime n diet. but i just cant do it cause its such a turn-off.
u wan to end ur life? oh no pls dun do dat
knn, be a botak like me lah...botak head ish the so handsome....
ezcema try the age old way... it worked for me when i was very young...
get a frog, the type which is eaten at the zhi char stalls... you can get them from the supermarkets now... removed the white bits around the ribcage and spine.. put into double-boiler with some yang sheng ginseng and a pinch of salt...
let it brew for a couple of hours, drink the soup..
do this once a week for a few months.. the ezcema should gradually go away...
your hair.. apart from propecia, there are few other ways to stop the hair from falling.. you should just accept it, turn it into your own look
and frankly, the biggest turn-off is the emo attitude to such things...
stop spending money and shave your head. really.
and its quite a popular look these days!
and since you mention you're buff, look at the tons of guys who maintain this kind of look. jason statham for example.
Agree :) shave it off your head, and you shave it off your heart!
Try to think of it like you are DECIDING to do it for style reasons, instead of feeling like you had no choice.
Grow a goatee!
Originally posted by av98m:stop spending money and shave your head. really.
and its quite a popular look these days!
and since you mention you're buff, look at the tons of guys who maintain this kind of look. jason statham for example.

Jason Statham:

Bruce Willis:

Samuel L Jackson:

There. Problem solved.
just remember, a buzz cut looks way cooler than a combover any day.:D
just remember: "Yes, you can!"

Originally posted by the Bear:ezcema try the age old way... it worked for me when i was very young...
get a frog, the type which is eaten at the zhi char stalls... you can get them from the supermarkets now... removed the white bits around the ribcage and spine.. put into double-boiler with some yang sheng ginseng and a pinch of salt...
let it brew for a couple of hours, drink the soup..
do this once a week for a few months.. the ezcema should gradually go away...
your hair.. apart from propecia, there are few other ways to stop the hair from falling.. you should just accept it, turn it into your own look
and frankly, the biggest turn-off is the emo attitude to such things...
U serious or not......thats the first time i ever heard such tradition remedy.....
TS,
If you really want to spend money and do something you can try rogaine minoxidil. Minoxidil will help hair growth. But the point you should attack is not so much of hair growth but hair loss.
1) Cut down on Vitamin A.... Excessive Vitamin A result in Hair Loss. what cover vitamin A == Liver, Red meat.
2) Use Shampoo that strengthen hair roots to prevent loss. No conditional.
if you are a guy then go botak.
its ok.
In men and women, the male hormone dihydrotestosterone causes certain hair follicles on the scalp to shrink. This leads to short and fine hairs growing instead of long, thick hair. In severe cases, this thinning of the hair can leave the crown and front of the head bald.
Dr Joyce Lee, consultant dermatologist and consultant-in-charge of the Hair and Nail Clinic at the National Skin Centre, said: 'Common pattern hair loss will become permanent if left untreated. So the earlier one starts treatment, the more hair one is likely to maintain.'
In men with male pattern hair loss, two treatments are available, namely a form of oral medication known as finasteride and a topical therapy known as minoxidil lotion. Both halt or slow the progression of male pattern hair loss.
However, for women with female pattern hair loss, the only treatment approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration is minoxidil lotion. Wigs, hair weaving and hair transplants are also treatment options in severe cases.
Besides common pattern hair loss, other common hair loss conditions are alopecia areata, acute telogen effluvium and chronic illness.
While the latter two are reactive hair loss conditions caused by underlying health problems like anaemia or thyroid problems, the former is characterised by coin-shaped or patchy hair loss and is an auto-immune condition triggered by stress.
If those bald truths about the stresses your tresses face have got you scratching your head, you should stop. Keeping your scalp clean and healthy can help prevent hair loss.
Dr Eileen Tan, consultant dermatologist at Eileen Tan Skin, Laser and Hair Transplant Clinic at Mount Elizabeth Hospital, said: 'It's important to maintain good hygiene for your scalp. A diseased scalp or improper care may lead to hair loss.'
Mr Lim added: 'Like good soil that begets a strong healthy plant, a healthy scalp means less chance of scalp problems and infections and contributes to healthy hair growth.'
Common scalp problems include seborrheic dermatitis (dandruff) and psoriasis, which is characterised by an itchy and sensitive scalp with thick scales.
Both conditions can be treated with medicated shampoo containing coal tar, zinc pyrithione or selenium sulphide.
Although hair fibres are essentially dead, each follicle - from which hair grows - has its own blood, nerve and muscle supply. The blood capillaries around the follicle carry the nourishment needed for hair cell reproduction and growth.
In recent years, haircare and beauty companies have focused on scalp care as a means of cultivating healthy, shiny hair.
Haircare lines like System Professional have a slew of products targeted at treating scalp problems while professional haircare range Kerastase is introducing scalp-care treatments which incorporate a micro-organism called bioflorine that is said to strengthen the scalp's natural defences.
Of course it takes more than pampering one's scalp and hair to achieve a full head of lustrous locks. Good nutrition and a healthy lifestyle are important for supplying the scalp with the necessary nutrients and protecting hair against external stress like pollution.
Mrs Marina Tan, 38, a marketing manager who suffered from hair loss after giving birth to her third child, said: 'It's not just about hair treatment. I've also changed my lifestyle as I think healthy living helps my hair to a certain extent.
'I now exercise two to three times a week and am more conscious of what I eat.'
FAQs on medically-proven treatments for hair loss
By Dr Vanessa Phua
Q: There are various types of hair rejuvenation methods such as pills, lasers, transplants, etc. Can you briefly explain what these treatments are supposed to do?
Dr Phua: Hair rejuvenation is divided into medical and surgical.
Medical hair rejuvenation includes tonics and oral medication for hair restoration. All these are evidence-based medicine and have been approved by the dermatological associations from around the world.
After excluding any medical causes of hair loss, the commonest cause of hair loss is actually male pattern baldness or androgenetic hair loss, which has a genetic preponderance, but affects men and women.
Men manifest hair loss via a grading system called the Norwood scale. This grading system outlines the different stages and extent of hair loss in men. In women, the Lockwood scale is used.
The standard treatment of hair loss for men with androgenetic hair loss is oral Propecia tablets - 1 mg once a day. This acts to suppress the male hormone, testosterone. Testosterone is usually converted to Di-Hydrotestosterone, which is the culprit hormone for attacking the hair follicles on the head, causing a shrinking of the hair follicle, regression, and a cessation of hair growth, eventually leading to hair loss in genetically susceptible individuals.
The tablet suppresses the production of the hormones, and hair loss is suppressed. Propecia can only be taken by men, not by women.
A topical application of hair growth/hair loss suppression is Minoxidil 5% hair tonic, which is medically-proven to halt hair loss by opening up ion channels in the scalp and encouraging hair growth. It is a twice-a-day application, and is a lifelong treatment.
Laser hair rejuvenation uses diode laser - a medium wavelength laser - as an adjunct with other methods of hair rejuvenation. It works poorly on its own. Its results are extremely variable and inconsistent.
Oral supplements for hair growth are available freely over the counter and in clinics. These include Pantogar, which contain potent anti-oxidants, vitamin B complex, biotin, etc to encourage hair and nail keratin development.
Q: I understand that there are some machines for hair transplant. Can you tell us a bit more about them and who can operate them?
Dr Phua: Surgical hair transplant is the foolproof way of hair restoration. Its success rate is 95-97%.
It uses a donor graft from the patient's scalp, which is usually the area at the back of the head. This area is surgically excised, and hairs from this strip graft are planted into the area of hair thinning or hair deficiency. These areas are genetically programmed to lose hair but when they receive the hairs from the back of the scalp, the hairs there will retain their characteristics and continue to grow on the transplanted recipient sites.
This is known as the strip graft method and is my preferred method.
Another way is the Follicular Unit Extraction method, which uses a machine to extract hairs from the scalp and plant them to other areas. This is done without removing a strip of skin of the scalp.
This has a disadvantage of causing multiple pitted scars - salt and pepper or a moth-eaten appearance - of the donor area, and hence may be unsightly and uneven in appearance. This method is suitable only for small areas such as eyebrow transplant, but is not my preferred choice.
High transection rates are prevalent with the machine - hairs are broken and divided during extraction - and only trained aesthetic physicians/dermatologists/plastic surgeons can use the machine. No nursing staff or beauticians or the like can operate the machine.
Q: I understand that demand for hair transplant surgery is on the rise. Has there been an increase in the number of people seeking treatment at your centre?
Dr Vanessa Phua: The demand for hair transplant surgery is rising, as people are more aware of its presence in the aesthetics industry. Moreover, hair loss is a prevalent problem which is on the rise.
Since we started our hair restoration centre here, we have seen a three-fold increase in the number of cases, and our success rates have remained consistently high at 95-97%. We have a trained team comprising two doctors and six nurses, and have a specialised centre set aside for this at our clinic.
Q: There have been reports about doctors making the news for the wrong reasons. What kind of advice would you give to someone who is seeking a reputable doctor for hair loss treatments? Are there any tell tale signs that a patient should leave as soon as possible if he/she sees/feels or senses something amiss?
Dr Vanessa Phua: My advice to them would be:
- Avoid anything that sounds like a hard sell.
- Avoid any centre that does not underscore the premise of evidence-based medicine
- Avoid any centre that does not have trained staff
- Avoid any centre which subscribes to alternative theories of thought that are manned by non-medical personnel
Do seek professional help for hairloss from a qualified and reputable medical practitioner.
Dr Vanessa Phua is a Physician with an interest in Aesthetic Medicine & Beauty. She practices at Asia HealthPartners at 304 Orchard Road, Lucky Plaza, #05-06. Tel: 6235 7888
hair loss is caused by the body having too much testosterone which then transforms into DHT... that causes thinning of hair and hair loss...
so.. if you are so emo about it, why don't you tell the women around you that you have a super high levels of testosterone.. and.. ahahaha.. you should try to tell them about how souped up your libido is and all that shit ![]()
What is causing your hair loss? You've spent so much on all those hair treatments...I'm sure you should have some inkling about what's causing it.
And wth are u talking about. There are people out there younger than you who are suffering from worse things. How dare you even think about suicide over a few strands of hair. Tell this to your mom and ask her to give you a few tight slaps.
If you're gonna stress yourself out over this...I can guarantee you...you'll go bald faster than expected. Genes may play a part in this...but there are ways to prevent it.
Taking drugs that alter your hormones WILL have side effects. In fact, they might just end up giving you "moobs" instead of doing anything helpful for your hair.
Instead of emo-ing over how "sucky" your life is, why don't you do something more constructive like researching on organic/natural ways of getting your hair back?
You've tried the chemical/medical treatments and obviously they don't really work. So no harm trying out some organic treatments.
Diet and Life style are big factors. Try looking into that. No point hoping for a pill or some fast way of solving your problem. Get working on it.
PS: I'll give you a tip, coconut hair oil is really good for the hair. Not only will it nourish your scalp, it'll help you hang on to whatever hair you have left. And if you're lucky....you might even get some growth. But you'll have to use it long term. One giant advantage is it's damn cheap and you can get it anywhere. Do your product research before you decide to commit to it.
go skinhead. it's really easy to pull it off, all u need is a toned body. so hit the gym!
n btw there r worse problems in life than this.
like what larry david would say, anyone can be confident with a full head of hair but a confident bald man? there's your diamond in the rough!
U suffer not because of your hair loss lah - it is cos u compare, have an idea (conceptualized models) of what .... should be and ought to be, if u can be rid of both of these aspects and live and u would be surprised that u really live.
If u can, unlearn the conditioning accept warts and all - that u are and just be. Without a mirror one still exists.
Otherwise, it is going to be agony and misery - a mainstay!
Originally posted by xx_dexter_xx:hey ppl i dono if i came to the right place for help but here goes..
Bald men are sexy. If you want to hide your baldness then shave your whole head. Why are you so shy? My friend's mother at her late 40s is losing hair and balding but she stand tall and have very outward personality. Go see a specialist, I don't know what kind of doctor treat hair loss but go see a GP first and ask for recommendation.
There is hair implant treatment but its painful and the hair looks a bit fake, people can spot it far away. So you mind as well shave your whole head, it is more sexier.
wear a wig la......