Hi guys, im new here. Just happened to find this forum while browsing around on the internet.
I feel so lonely everyday. I wish I had someone who would love me for who I am and lend me a ear when I need it. But its just so hard to make friends or mix with others when im in a school which is notorious for its "ah bengs" and "ah lians". Its just not the kind of person whom I want to be. Whenever I have problems and try to talk to my parents, they don't listen to me and sometimes I even get scolded.
Im so sick of doing the same thing everyday. Go to school, come back, do some school work, worry about school work and sometimes stay up crying before I finally go to bed. There are so much things I want to do with my life but I do not have time to do it because I do not have the time and money. I want to go skydiving, scuba diving, mountain climbing and so much more. Being an animal lover, I wish I could take some time off to do some volunteer work for SPCA and other animal welfare organisations.
I just don't know what to do with my life now. I feel like im slowly starting to lose interest in everything I do. I don't even feel like going to school anymore but I do not have a choice. I wish I could sleep and never wake up again.
Just wanted to share my problems. Thanks for reading my post.
First, u are still young and should just concentrate on your studies. Do well in your education and u can do the stuffs u want when u are older, wiser and richer.
of course money is going to drop from the sky. ![]()
now is the time to study hard and you will have money in the future... for most people anyway.
i got great listening ears...

Originally posted by jgho83:First, u are still young and should just concentrate on your studies. Do well in your education and u can do the stuffs u want when u are older, wiser and richer.
Yea I do agree with that. But I find it hard to concentrate on all those with so many problems on my mind. Sometimes wish I could just have a day off.
From ur nick I would guess that you're probably still in sec sch ba...
This is a difficult age...try your best to cope ba. Widen your social circle....there are many ways to make frens de. When you've got frens, you've got support. They can help you tide thru the "bad" times.
Of coz...open ur eyes big big and look for decent ppl to be frens wif...dun kena led astray by people who don't mean you well.
Originally posted by littlemissbonkers:
Of coz...open ur eyes big big and look for decent ppl to be frens wif...dun kena led astray by people who don't mean you well.
yeah.. open your eyes as big as...

Originally posted by Libraboy95:Hi guys, im new here. Just happened to find this forum while browsing around on the internet.
I feel so lonely everyday. I wish I had someone who would love me for who I am and lend me a ear when I need it. But its just so hard to make friends or mix with others when im in a school which is notorious for its "ah bengs" and "ah lians". Its just not the kind of person whom I want to be. Whenever I have problems and try to talk to my parents, they don't listen to me and sometimes I even get scolded.
Im so sick of doing the same thing everyday. Go to school, come back, do some school work, worry about school work and sometimes stay up crying before I finally go to bed. There are so much things I want to do with my life but I do not have time to do it because I do not have the time and money. I want to go skydiving, scuba diving, mountain climbing and so much more. Being an animal lover, I wish I could take some time off to do some volunteer work for SPCA and other animal welfare organisations.
I just don't know what to do with my life now. I feel like im slowly starting to lose interest in everything I do. I don't even feel like going to school anymore but I do not have a choice. I wish I could sleep and never wake up again.
This is the stage in life when you would start pondering about the meaning of your life. Nothing wrong with that. This is also when you would realize there's a gap between your ideals and the reality. Nothing wrong with that as well. But instead of simply going through the daily drudgery aimlessly, think about how what you're doing it now could help you achieve what you want in the future.
You said you're interested in skydiving, but are you taking up any sports-related CCA currently to prepare yourself for that? You like animals? How about becoming a veterinarian in the future? That would require a good knowledge of biology and chemistry. Once you know your way, you'll find that life is more than just a walk in the dark.
Last but not least, don't make judgements about your classmates in haste. Get close to them, and you may realize that some of them might not be so different from you after all.
Hey TS,
I was in a similar situation as you when I was young.There are a few things I want to say.
1. Your are your own best friend. There won't be someone who can truly understands how you feel other than yourself. Start to love yourself for who you are and improve yourself one step at a time.
2. Join an interest group in school e.g. band and expand your social circle. Learning to socialise is an essential skill that you will need in your life.
3. Activities like mountain climbing, scuba diving can be learned later when you have the financial capacity to take care of yourself.
4. Set yourself objectives and goals e.g. I want to complete 10km run in 2010 or I want to improve my average score in one subject by 10 marks by year end. Work towards your goals and even if you fail, its ok as long as you know you have done your best and made some improvements.
5. Glad that you have interest in doing volunteering work. Get some friends and visit SPCA, talk to the staff there and explore the possibility of you doing volunteering work. there. Visit their website and send enquiry emails about volunteering to them.
'You have a choice to walk towards your dreams or sit on it. It's your life. It's your choice.'
Good Luck my friend.
Simple Bear
Hi LibraryBoy,
If you need someone to converse, you can me at [email protected]
Originally posted by Libraboy95:Hi guys, im new here. Just happened to find this forum while browsing around on the internet.
Threadstarter pls go counsuelling.
Originally posted by Libraboy95:Yea I do agree with that. But I find it hard to concentrate on all those with so many problems on my mind. Sometimes wish I could just have a day off.
try this for a day off. skip school. it wont harm. i always tell my friends last time... u need to skip sch (pon) at least once in your short student life, if not, there's no chance to do it next time.
Originally posted by jgho83:try this for a day off. skip school. it wont harm. i always tell my friends last time... u need to skip sch (pon) at least once in your short student life, if not, there's no chance to do it next time.
kinda true though...
well thats what i did, and i was sacked.....only to be reinstated one day later with daddy's pleading. LOL. That's what you pple mean by once in a lifetime?
I know you are still young but let me teach you a secret about life. Life is about "action" not sit down there and complain. You must try then you know. If you fail, somebody reject you, you must not giveup, just think about some other ways that you can be more progressive. Sometimes to enjoy life, you must learn from your failures, don't be shy to fail. Learn from your mistakes and improve yourself. Life is not going to get any better if you continue to laze there and complain, you will be even more miserable. There bound to be people who will give you problems at school because next time when you work, you will meet all kinds of people.
You say you like SPCA, then get up and join SCPA, don;t say you wanna do this but never do. Go to the internet, find the phone number and give them a call and ask them about volunteer work. Don't be shy. I don't think the whole school is full of Ah Beng and Ah Lian, I am very sure got people who you can mix with. Go and get to know them better. Introduce yourself, don't be shy, if it didn't turn out as it is, then move on and see who else you can make friends with.
Please be realistic, you cannot do skydiving, mountain climbing and scuba diving at the same time. You look at your resources and your talents, what you like to do? Anywhere in S'pore that you can do these hobbies at your budget? Any youth camp or association that provides these facilities. Got other hobbies also like sports or dragon boat racing.
Study hard but make sure you also have a stable social life. Have a balanced life. Join religious association or go any NGO. Actually your thought of SPCA is a good idea, try it out. If you get rejected, try again and again until you succeed. You will only be a failure if you give up and complain.
Please have guts to confront your parents. They scold you, you must be brave to confront them how you feel, regardless. You want to be a better person? Then be creative !
Stop this defeatist attitude. Stop your negative thoughts and start growing up. Be positive and be optimistic. It is good that you suddenly realise that you are at the crossroads of your life, and you need to get out from your comfort zone. Make good use of it instead of being so miserable and regrettable.
- duplicate post -
Actually, the root of your problems is due to your lack of self-love, which is a very common problem for both adults and youths. But I think you may be too young and have not enough life experiences to understand that, so I shall not explain it here.
But about your case, it'll help you a lot, if you spend time doing things that you enjoy, and will make you happy. As long as you cannot find time and squeeze some time out every week to do things that truly make you happy, you'll continue to be miserable. That's the way life is. If you choose not to do anything to change your life, your life will very rarely change for the better on its own.
I suggest putting aside expensive hobbies for the time being till you're able to afford them. Your parents are not obligated to spend such money. Besides, frankly, you'll still be lonely and unhappy even if you have the money to take up such hobbies, as that's not the root cause of your current misery.
Volunteering at SPCA is a noble activity, and they definitely will welcome you, provided you genuinely wish to help. And you'll probably get to know more people with similar compassion for animals in need. There is a senior lady in charge there who seems unfriendly at first, but if you can prove your sincerity, she'll reveal her warm side.
Once you start doing things that you enjoy, you'll slowly find your life more meaningful, and good things can then happen in your life, and you'll then look forward to your future. Have fun, my friend! :)
Rainbow Jigsaw of Life
When you want to do many things, you usually end up doing nothing.
Of the many things you want to do, pick one.
Only one.
Do the thing you can do at the moment. And get started on it.
Only one, surely you can manage that. Once done move to the next.
Doing one thing is better than wishing to do many things.
lol so small age talk like an old man, dont worry larh, think for your future, study for your education and work in the future first. you want some1 to talk to then go find one lorh, maybe school library have people who are like you? its almost impossible for a school to have 99% ahbengs and ah lians (excluding you)