Does anyone knows if marrying a woman gives her the full right of ownership to flat n other wealth to her if anything happens midway ,i mean a divorce .I am a widower goin to marry again but ive got three kids n i wonder how do i keep her from getting my wealth in case anything happens n would like my children to inherit them of course ,i know a "will"-, will help but but does it changes the will's status after marriage or maybe a prenuptial agreement but i dont think she will agree to sign it changes our relation ship n she might get angry , just need ur xpert advise if any that is worth considering thks.
Originally posted by Ssirajjj:Does anyone knows if marrying a woman gives her the full right of ownership to flat n other wealth to her if anything happens midway ,i mean a divorce .I am a widower goin to marry again but ive got three kids n i wonder how do i keep her from getting my wealth in case anything happens n would like my children to inherit them of course ,i know a "will"-, will help but but does it changes the will's status after marriage or maybe a prenuptial agreement but i dont think she will agree to sign it changes our relation ship n she might get angry , just need ur xpert advise if any that is worth considering thks.
You should go and see a family lawyer.
A will only takes effect AFTER you are dead. And NO, you can't exclude her totally either.
If you get divorced half way through " till death do us part", then yes she is entitled to some of your assets.
C'mon dude.. wat are you afraid of.. you want her to take care of YOUR family right ? Don't you think you should compensate her some too ?
Surely you are not expecting to f her, make her take care of your family and do good stuff for you all for nothing ? How cheap can you be ?
If you don't want her to touch your money, then don't marry her lah.
you don't need her to sign the will in the first place and she need not know about it though it's best that she is aware...with a will, you can exclude her but since you care enough to marry her why can't you leave something for her...why don't you open accounts for your kids without their knowledge or at least those that they can't make withdrawal on their own....and upon your demise, it goes to them automatically, but leave it written so that it can't be disputed..
You can visit www.lawsociety.org.sg and select inheritance for details.
A prenuptial agreement is useless in Singapore even if she agrees to sign it. It's not recognized here.
What you need is a will. Just get a lawyer to draft up a will and let him/her know how you intend to allocate your property to who. You can definitely exclude her from getting a single cent of your property. Similarly, she can contest the validity of your will.
The thing is, and others also mention already, why would you love a woman until you want to marry her and yet don't love her enough to care for her well-being after you are gone? Like that, the marriage got meaning meh??
I'm not a lawyer and other than the part about prenuptial agreement being not recognized in Singapore (this I am very sure of), the rest are just my opinions based on watching too much Hong Kong serial drama. For as long as Singapore has existed, there's only 1 case where prenuptial agreement is recognized in a court here and this involved 2 foreigners who had their pre-nuptial agreement drafted in their home country.
See a lawyer lah... You have too much property to risk taking the advice of some monkeys hiding behind a keyboard (myself included).
Set up a will. Property goes to next kin which is your wife and kids
when it comes to his HDB flat, not neccessarily.
there are two forms of HDB ownerships.
joint tenancy and tenancy-in-common.
In joint tenancy's case, say between a husband and wife, the share of the flat automatically goes to the other party upon one party's demise, regardless of any will.
for tenancy-in-common, you can specify the share of the flat, and specify who you'd want to leave it to in a will.
In this case I think the TS should go check up his ownership status and his options from the HDB.
The TS just wants a free sex slave plus free maid to serve him lah
Ahem... you can't will away what is marital asset, or "shared" assets.
Go talk to the lawyer and he/she will explain to you wat you can or cannot simply will away.
Originally posted by Fatum:when it comes to his HDB flat, not neccessarily.
there are two forms of HDB ownerships.
joint tenancy and tenancy-in-common.
In joint tenancy's case, say between a husband and wife, the share of the flat automatically goes to the other party upon one party's demise, regardless of any will.
for tenancy-in-common, you can specify the share of the flat, and specify who you'd want to leave it to in a will.
In this case I think the TS should go check up his ownership status and his options from the HDB.
Dude, you're talking about right of survivorship only hor.
And tenancy in common only means you get to choose wat to do with your half/ portion of the property. It does NOT exclude the property to become a marital asset leh.
Originally posted by dechang:The TS just wants a free sex slave plus free maid to serve him lah
Well, hopefully her free pussy is really worth all these trouble.
if you're worrying over so much stuffs, don't marry.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Well, hopefully her free pussy is really worth all these trouble.
Maybe she is a hot babe with a virgin pussy.
looks like TS is trying to keng something. He dun want the house and his $$$ go to her should the relationship goes sour...![]()