I begin to understand that finding a good friend is as rare as a gem... I am always surrounded by insensitive friends... There are always people who will pull me down... right now i am studying uni... i have a friend who make an idiotic comment that i look horny when i am typing notes while listening to classical music... i was like what the... he told others about it... Isn't it irony that people can make fun of you while they get angry when you make fun of them? Not just one instance but a few already... Now, what i need is to study hard for my uni but i keep on having friends who keep on pulling me down either physically or mentally... they do not need to study during weekends since they only need to work during weekdays... they love to call me out when i am physically at NTU while they are at Pasir ris playing basketball.... sometimes, i really do not know how to fork out time to go out with them.. when i did not go out with them, they make a fuss when i am going out with others... the reason is becos is for my friend's birthday... 22nd birthday for goodness sake... i really dun understand the need or purpose of friends... are they merely acquaintance or normal friends?
Don't be too affected by what your friends say. Good to know that you are aware of your priorities in life right now, ie. study and get a degree. Friendships need lubrication to maintain, so we have to interact with them and be a part of their lives. However that should not be at the expense of your studies. Should you skip classes or go out eve of exams if they call you? A real friend will understand and not disturb you unnecessarily.
Confucious said 三人行,必有我师. Learn their strengths and avoid their weakness. If they can take criticisms, then do them a favour by correcting their weakness since you have benefited immensely from their friendship.
A good skill you must learn.
Ignore
Well, friends? I can understand it is more like peer influence than having friends or instead fear being outcast?
Cause i sometimes also goes through these.
Anyway most friends made are just stepping stones in life, only few are your close friends. ignore those so called friends, join ur true friends.
Just my thoughts man dude. ;D
frens are important (whatever walks of life they from) but your studies are even more so....
same happen when i was in uni....i did make an effort to keep in touch but subject to only spare time and not becos of peer pressure.....
be polite to your frens but dun have to apologise....
if they really cannot understand....too bad....once u r somebody after your degree...they will look out for u one day...
i do not wish to be someone that they will look out for when i am somebody in the society or what... sometimes is like among the group, u r the one of those few who went into uni... then u got this feeling that whatever u do or say, as long as u say sth stupid, they will link it to university... i dunno what i am supposed to do... i got the feeling that i will leave this group of friends... i rather have friends who understand my situation than making me going through this shit... is like now i just reached home without my assignments done... look at the time... i only left a Sunday to do... sian
-.-
If u leave this dumb group of frens u'll die izzit?
I'm sure there are people out there who would make better, more mature frens.
In fact just tell them to go to hell
lol
U be friendly and eschew comparison and judgement, u are free.
Otherwise it is a chase and an infernal one!
TS
When you finish uni and go out to work, you will find ppl in their 50s or 60s, also can be like that; or even worse.
My point is all sorts of ppl will be everywhere and everyplace.
You have to better your skill of assessing ppl, learn to tell ppl off in a nice way (assertive) and choosing your friends wisely.
ts i understand what u are gg thru. i am in uni now too and i struggle to juggle studies and friendship.
although for me, i find it hard to stay close to most of my friends who are also in uni, cos everyone ultimately as a priority wants to strive hard for a good degree. it is with this thought in mind that i rarely meet up with friends even if i wanted to and initiate contact.
face it, this is singapore.
ts i understand what u are gg thru. i am in uni now too and i struggle to juggle studies and friendship.
although for me, i find it hard to stay close to most of my friends who are also in uni, cos everyone ultimately as a priority wants to strive hard for a good degree. it is with this thought in mind that i rarely meet up with friends even if i wanted to and initiate contact.
face it, this is singapore.
Originally posted by blurking123:I begin to understand that finding a good friend is as rare as a gem... I am always surrounded by insensitive friends... There are always people who will pull me down... right now i am studying uni... i have a friend who make an idiotic comment that i look horny when i am typing notes while listening to classical music... i was like what the... he told others about it... Isn't it irony that people can make fun of you while they get angry when you make fun of them? Not just one instance but a few already... Now, what i need is to study hard for my uni but i keep on having friends who keep on pulling me down either physically or mentally... they do not need to study during weekends since they only need to work during weekdays... they love to call me out when i am physically at NTU while they are at Pasir ris playing basketball.... sometimes, i really do not know how to fork out time to go out with them.. when i did not go out with them, they make a fuss when i am going out with others... the reason is becos is for my friend's birthday... 22nd birthday for goodness sake... i really dun understand the need or purpose of friends... are they merely acquaintance or normal friends?
Hah ! You don't know what you're missing ! If a friend is calling you, you should be a YES MAN. Not a NO MAN. You shouldn't be passing such an opportunity to socialise. They're asking you for a basketball game for goodness sake, it is good for the physical health. If your friends is asking you to go pub, disco or take drugs, then you should stay away from them lah.
You shouldn't be studying all the time, you shuold balance your social and study life. You wait lah, when you start working life will change and you will regret not spending time with your friends. Once you work and your friends get married, everybody will be busy about their lifes and nobody bothers to call you after that. You should cherish your youth and appreciate your friends while you still can.
Me? Although I am attached with my girlfriend, I really miss the time I spend with my guy friends. Going shopping, bowling, basketball, soccer, outdoor cycling and collecting comics. Now all of them are married and some migrated to overseas. I miss my friends. Bcause i work overseas, its hard to gain new friends. In the office, people are too sucked into work, nobody cares, its politics and people do nasty things atr you.
Also you are very sensitive man, people say things at you, you should take it as a joke. You wait till you go to the office, people can be even more nasty than calling you horny. Your car tire can get punctured also you don't know. Or your car get scratched.
Originally posted by Pacman_73:Don't be too affected by what your friends say. Good to know that you are aware of your priorities in life right now, ie. study and get a degree. Friendships need lubrication to maintain, so we have to interact with them and be a part of their lives. However that should not be at the expense of your studies. Should you skip classes or go out eve of exams if they call you? A real friend will understand and not disturb you unnecessarily.
Confucious said 三人行,必有我师. Learn their strengths and avoid their weakness. If they can take criticisms, then do them a favour by correcting their weakness since you have benefited immensely from their friendship.
No Confucianism allowed.No New Age Philosophies allowed.Please qoute from the bible(King James Version).
acquaintance
you got a choice to go with them or not.
So you cannot really blame them.
and, just ignore what your friends said about the horny part.
Originally posted by Teenagemag:No Confucianism allowed.No New Age Philosophies allowed.Please qoute from the bible(King James Version).
Originally posted by blurking123:I begin to understand that finding a good friend is as rare as a gem... I am always surrounded by insensitive friends... There are always people who will pull me down... right now i am studying uni... i have a friend who make an idiotic comment that i look horny when i am typing notes while listening to classical music... i was like what the... he told others about it... Isn't it irony that people can make fun of you while they get angry when you make fun of them? Not just one instance but a few already... Now, what i need is to study hard for my uni but i keep on having friends who keep on pulling me down either physically or mentally... they do not need to study during weekends since they only need to work during weekdays... they love to call me out when i am physically at NTU while they are at Pasir ris playing basketball.... sometimes, i really do not know how to fork out time to go out with them.. when i did not go out with them, they make a fuss when i am going out with others... the reason is becos is for my friend's birthday... 22nd birthday for goodness sake... i really dun understand the need or purpose of friends... are they merely acquaintance or normal friends?
Choose your friends wisely as they reflect who you are in the eyes of others...
Originally posted by Hugh Hefner:Hah ! You don't know what you're missing ! If a friend is calling you, you should be a YES MAN. Not a NO MAN. You shouldn't be passing such an opportunity to socialise. They're asking you for a basketball game for goodness sake, it is good for the physical health. If your friends is asking you to go pub, disco or take drugs, then you should stay away from them lah.
You shouldn't be studying all the time, you shuold balance your social and study life. You wait lah, when you start working life will change and you will regret not spending time with your friends. Once you work and your friends get married, everybody will be busy about their lifes and nobody bothers to call you after that. You should cherish your youth and appreciate your friends while you still can.
Me? Although I am attached with my girlfriend, I really miss the time I spend with my guy friends. Going shopping, bowling, basketball, soccer, outdoor cycling and collecting comics. Now all of them are married and some migrated to overseas. I miss my friends. Bcause i work overseas, its hard to gain new friends. In the office, people are too sucked into work, nobody cares, its politics and people do nasty things atr you.
Also you are very sensitive man, people say things at you, you should take it as a joke. You wait till you go to the office, people can be even more nasty than calling you horny. Your car tire can get punctured also you don't know. Or your car get scratched.
I suppose you're a fan of Yes Man.
It's true that we shouldn't close ourselves up to all the possibilities that lie in front of us. Yes, they lead to results that are simply out of our expectations.
However, TS do have his own life to get on with. I'm sure he does want to go out with his friends to play basketball, to have lunch or for whatever other reasons. He has to prioritise his options.
Well, he isnt being too sensitive too. It's much to my distaste at times when some of my friends are unhappy when you gang up on them (well, you know. all the usual guy stuff, the wrestling, grappling etc) when they are perfectly fine doing the same to you. If you're willing to do something to others, expect the same from others.
TS, friends are very important people. Do treasure them, especially those who are in your inner circle.
Well, have you spoken to your friends about these?
Talk to them about it and see what can you guys come up with. Shed some light upon them regarding your schedule too. Then, they'll have a better idea of when you're free.
And regarding taht particular friend of yours, don't mind him too much. Some people are just like that.
You don't need friends to go to heaven.You just need Jesus Christ to go to heaven.Have you accepted Jesus as your saviour?
Originally posted by Hugh Hefner:Hah ! You don't know what you're missing ! If a friend is calling you, you should be a YES MAN. Not a NO MAN. You shouldn't be passing such an opportunity to socialise. They're asking you for a basketball game for goodness sake, it is good for the physical health. If your friends is asking you to go pub, disco or take drugs, then you should stay away from them lah.
First, consider the travelling time before u say anything... from Jurong all the way to the east... how long will u take? To and Fro will take at least how long? It is not that i do not want to accompany them... it is like i have to travel all the way down to play then travel all the way back to hostel... can u imagine how ridiculous it sound?
Regarding office politics, i have my share too... i have to acknowledge that office politics are just too much... however, the things friends ( or ppl who we think are friends) say are just too much isn't it? not just one instance for goodness sake... if you really treat someone as friend, then you shld not pull the person down for no particular reason...
Right now, i have to prioritize my studies first... of cos there is always a balance in social life and studies... to me, you can always socialize around and true friends will understand yr situation as much as they would like you to understand theirs... For studies, it is a now or never thing... yes u can say work while study part time... tt is for the sake of just getting a degree isn't it? what i want is to further my studies as my course cannot just stop at just a degree...
Originally posted by Teenagemag:You don't need friends to go to heaven.You just need Jesus Christ to go to heaven.Have you accepted Jesus as your saviour?
I don't think TS need to go to heaven now, he wants to live his life.
Originally posted by Teenagemag:You don't need friends to go to heaven.You just need Jesus Christ to go to heaven.Have you accepted Jesus as your saviour?
Regarding this, sorry i will not like to discuss religion in this topic... it is out of topic... Thank you... Please respect me as I have already respected u...
Originally posted by blurking123:First, consider the travelling time before u say anything... from Jurong all the way to the east... how long will u take? To and Fro will take at least how long? It is not that i do not want to accompany them... it is like i have to travel all the way down to play then travel all the way back to hostel... can u imagine how ridiculous it sound?
Regarding office politics, i have my share too... i have to acknowledge that office politics are just too much... however, the things friends ( or ppl who we think are friends) say are just too much isn't it? not just one instance for goodness sake... if you really treat someone as friend, then you shld not pull the person down for no particular reason...
Right now, i have to prioritize my studies first... of cos there is always a balance in social life and studies... to me, you can always socialize around and true friends will understand yr situation as much as they would like you to understand theirs... For studies, it is a now or never thing... yes u can say work while study part time... tt is for the sake of just getting a degree isn't it? what i want is to further my studies as my course cannot just stop at just a degree...
I used to think like you too until I got job transfer to Thailand and then Malaysia, I realised how small Sg actually is. The place where I work and the place my company provided for me to stay is about 25km away. Distance is not a factor. I sometimes travel to the customer place which is 60 km away or even 400km away.
Yes by all means prioritize your studies. There's no such thing as true friends, friends are human beings, they are not perfect, they also can't hurt or disappoint you. You must learn how to heed things and not take what they say into an offence. If you feel hurt then confront them in an honest way about it.
Don't let your life pass like this, when you start working, you will start missing your youth. It is more difficult to find new friends once you start working. In the course of my life, I have had various reunions with my ex classmates which brings a lot of good memories back to me.
your friend's a joker .
Your friends are clowns.
I believe people are born traitors anyway. Better not to have friends than to have one because they are born to be (traitors), and they would not hesitate to sacrifice themselves for $.