Hi All,
Will appreciate if anyone can share some insight with regards to workplace relationship.
I'm currently in a great company. Colleagues are generally okay. It just that i'm quite quiet and prefer to focus on my job. I'm also not good at small talk so i don't know how to start small talk with my colleagues sitting beside me. Anyway I'm also not always in the main office and thus did not nuture relationship with my colleagues. However, lately i have this werid feeling with few of my colleagues. They walk past also look in a different direction. Haiz.. i don't know what wrong?
Is there anything i can do to improve the situation. Lately, i'm really stress up in work and become more withdrawn but i'm now trying to open up and talk to more people. It is not very healthy and good if i keep to myself in my workplace. It may be hard to change this wrong impression of me if there is any?
Don't ever get into one. It's just trouble trouble trouble.
at workplace...the essence is your contribution....
of course....being aloof will drain your efforts...never be proud...be humble....friendly and yet down to earth...easy going....even though u r not used to engaging in small or "bitchy talks"....u will be well respected by your bosses
It's difficult to know why your colleagues walk past and look in a different direction. Maybe something made them feel shy or awkward.
Anyway, just be nice and polite to everyone. ![]()
1 - are you male or female?
2 - are your colleagues male or female?
people are free to feel whatever they feel.
Don't let your mind jump to conclusion and get to you.
Aiya just go for it only la. If not in the workplace then where else do you meet other girls. You're not in school also. It just trouble for you if you screw up. Nothing wrong if you go out for dates what. Both alone then go for movies and dinner. It like friends except there is this air of tension because you're both accessing each other seeing if the person is interested in you or do i want her as my girlfriend that kind of thing. You can flirt with each other but at the end of the day you just kinda know each other better whether as friends if you decide she not your type or as a potential girlfriend if you want to take it a step further. There are so many relationship happening in the workplace. It just like saying should i speed anot, if i speed i might get into trouble easier like getting a ticket or getting into an accident. Don't be a scary cat. Just think carefully about the consequences before you do anything.
Originally posted by BlueCoral:Hi All,
Will appreciate if anyone can share some insight with regards to workplace relationship.
I'm currently in a great company. Colleagues are generally okay. It just that i'm quite quiet and prefer to focus on my job. I'm also not good at small talk so i don't know how to start small talk with my colleagues sitting beside me. Anyway I'm also not always in the main office and thus did not nuture relationship with my colleagues. However, lately i have this werid feeling with few of my colleagues. They walk past also look in a different direction. Haiz.. i don't know what wrong?
Is there anything i can do to improve the situation. Lately, i'm really stress up in work and become more withdrawn but i'm now trying to open up and talk to more people. It is not very healthy and good if i keep to myself in my workplace. It may be hard to change this wrong impression of me if there is any?
Hi Coral...my present job sound like the one you are in now. (many common issues) I dont engage in small talks when I work. And when I work, I really dont like to talk much, work, lunch, toilet, go home.
Of course I do talk to my section colleagues (where I work with everyday), the rest of the colleagues, onces in a while you do need to talk (job related issue).
Yes of course I ever got this feeling of colleagues look at me as if I turned into a monster. And guess what? One of the manager in fact 'everyday print newspaper' to all the colleagues.
Anyway, I agreed with 'fcukpap' : the essence is your contribution
Your manager will be able to see how you perform at work.
Dont worry about what other say behind you or look at you.
relax, dont so stress.
how e way you dress is weird? haha. jus a joke.
perhaps talk to ppl whom you may be slightly close and see what's going on. thats e only way to know whats wrong. might just be some crap rumours circulating around.
jus interact more with your colleagues, they will naturally know whom you are. therefore why bother about the wrong impression given? just improve your social relationship gradually.
like those earlier replies. i do agree that essence is your contribution, but not totally. well cause i believe maintaining good relationship is better. contribution to company can bring you higher. but then again, everyone wants to have a better working environment instead of just giving a contribution to the company. i believe most of us want to be part of a clique and work together, and not a stand alone worker.
just my 2cents worth of thoughts. ;D
Just go for it! What's better than having hot sex in the pantry?
Small talk is good but not good when you have work to do. If you have dateline, your boss will not happy to see you talk when you suppose to finish your work. Best time to mix is during lunch time, join your colleagues for lunch. Of course can do small talk lah but don't over do. Good start is to talk to those you work closely with, at least got something in common to talk about.
Small talks can lead to rumours. That is dangerous especially if one of your colleagues love to put words into your mouth. You will get into trouble. Bear this in mind. You MUST know who love to bad mouth pple. Very easy to see when that person tend to know many things and will tell you about this colleagues so and so.
Be wary of him/her if your dept have one.
Originally posted by ditzy:Don't ever get into one. It's just trouble trouble trouble.
Originally posted by ditzy:Just go for it! What's better than having hot sex in the pantry?
Are you Ditzy you contradict yourself. ![]()
Aiya this topic no big deal la. Just do only lor, this kind of thing also scare. I bestow you the courage medal NOT!
Originally posted by Icygecko84:Are you Ditzy you contradict yourself.
Aiya this topic no big deal la. Just do only lor, this kind of thing also scare. I bestow you the courage medal NOT!
After seeing the rest of the replies, I decided to go with the flow.
with almost 1/3 of our lives spent at work, it makes good sense to get along well with co workers.
we all have unique ways of conducting ourselves in a new environment. extroverts make up 70% of the population, they are outgoing and it's their nature to warm to people quickly. while introverts are mellow and want more time to feel things out before approaching others. which describes you more?
do you smile and greet others in the mornings? which co worker do you find disarming and approachable? perhaps you can observe the office culture before deciding how you want to 'open up.'
as for small talk, discussing personal problems, sex and orientation, race and religion are taboos. office gossip too! if you find it awkward to suddenly start a conversation, people are generally more receptive when paid a small compliment or maybe... offered some tidbits before being eased into conversation. don't think of it as being superficial, think of it as a harmless little experiment on what makes people tick.
good luck.
Dont get too involved in relationship in working place.
Suface will do.
it starts with you...
when eye contact is made, smile...
approach rather than wait to be approached...
be cheerful..
Originally posted by the Bear:it starts with you...
when eye contact is made, smile...
approach rather than wait to be approached...
be cheerful..
And make sure your hand put inside your pocket.....
eh.. you guys...
the TS is talking about just talking and interacting with his colleagues lah..
you all simi keep hands in pocket and all that.. ![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:eh.. you guys...
you all simi keep hands in pocket and all that..
Hey...what am I talking...sorry bro!
Originally posted by the Bear:eh.. you guys...
you all simi keep hands in pocket and all that..
Nowadays hard to find serious replies in here eh? ![]()
Originally posted by ditzy:Just go for it! What's better than having hot sex in the pantry?
:lol:
I think TS should learn not to bother..... just be yourself and most importantly learn to not care about how others think of you. Like some others has said... you are there to get paid for your contributions thats it. So long as you're polite I feel its fine to be quiet.
At work I'm also quiet... then my workplace the angmohs all like to chitchat de... dun chitchat they think you antisocial... so they start to avoid me... got 1 time my boss even ask me its better if you go for social outing... I told him in the face I dun enjoy the outing, I'm not in sales and the reason I chose this job is because there is no networking needed. How is my work?
He never bother me again and I very happy lol.... he happy with my work and I dun need to go boliao social outing.... I rather meet my own frens go lim kopi haha.
Colleagues attitude to you... bo chap. Put it this way if they are so insensitive/childish and not understand that some people just wanna do the job and go home.... then in da face :)
IM JUST A QUIET PERSON. GET IT? lol
Kind Regards
Genie
I hate working in an office environment, too many farking eyes, its worse when the farking eyes have farking big mouths attached to them.
quietness at the workplace is often misconstrued as arrogance and aloofness.