I’m now a working adult…but only have diploma…I grad 2 year le…and work 2year le…but 1st year I work in field related to my dip…but I don’t like…thinking to switch field…so I take 6mth off go study another course…in private sch…ACCA…den now working as acct assist. but dun like…from start dun like ACCA sia. But hor…nothing else to do. I no money also…duno what I want. Doing ACCA made me so stress until I just keep crying…I try, but cannot…and I perfectionist, to be unable to do sth kills me. I seriously thinking to quit ACCA from start….i dun hv any certification/paper to show for what I started in ACCA…sad sia..
I feeling v sad and hopeless, cos I dun like what I’m doing, but hor…no choice, right? In sg diploma like worth nuts lei. But I dun want continue my original dip to do the degree. Cos my original dip is science. Science need phd den worth. Dip or degree will stuck doing beginner stuff. How how? Can someone advise me, or share w/ me ur story? Like how u get ur current job, happy w/ it anot? Or whether you still looking?
I now at work…although duno what I’m doing…I doing my best…my memory not bad..so it seem like I know what I’m doing..but actually I don’t…so just trying my best, but v tiring and I don’t like not understanding…duno why…but accounting I cmi lei..
i always believe u should pursue what u enjoy doing, especially when indulging in long term things such as studies which is easily from a few months to a few years, assuming u intend to further studies later on... since u believe in having certs...
secondly, there's nothing cannot-make-it as long as u put your heart and soul into learning something assuming you enjoy the topic if not very jia lak, machiam like suffering...
same stituation as u...cept im doing IT stuff..well my plan is, work, gain experience, knowledge, in 2 yrs time, go do a degree in another field that can earn shitloads...imo..IT specialist now fall under the category as plumbers, repairman, serviceman...sian...
Originally posted by _Da_Dood_:same stituation as u...cept im doing IT stuff..well my plan is, work, gain experience, knowledge, in 2 yrs time, go do a degree in another field that can earn shitloads...imo..IT specialist now fall under the category as plumbers, repairman, serviceman...sian...
but do you hate what you'r doing now?? hate as in...look at IT stuff, cuss silently in ur mind, repeat what you rote-learned?
I am not sure how old you are, if you are still in your early 20s, you should decide to change your field. No point doing something you don't like. Don't do accounting just because you don't know what you want to do. There are people who succeed in other fields without needing a degree. I have a friend who is a wedding photographer. He was like you, he was working as a QC manager until one day he found something interesting to do because he liked cameras so he decided to become a wedding photographer. He makes lots of money more than he did when he worked as a QC manager.
Probably not easy to change field, maybe you should continue your accounting while you find out what you really want to do.
Before you find anything you like. Maybe you can take a good look at your attitude. Are you the sort who's not able to complete what you have started? Are you the kind who lack the determination and perseverance? In your own personal standard, where is the ending point for you? What are your targets? What kind of money you want to earn?
If you lack the discipline, no matter what field you think that your interest is in, your attitude would kill you before you could even start on the real business.
I have friends who thought accountants earn big bucks. So they went to pursue CPA, ACCA, LCCI all the accounting stuff. When they are out in the working world, they realise, they didn't like it at all, everything was routine and they were earning $2k plus and minus. So they decided to switch career. One went into tutoring, citing that the tuition industry in Singapore in booming. Another went into the F&B industry, saying F&B is a confirm plus chop money machine, and added that she herself love to eat, so she knows whats good food.
Well, a few months later, the tutor is searching for a job so that she can have a stable income as she doesn't have enough student. She refuse to sign up with agency because she didn't want to give away her 50% commission. She didn't want to print leaflets as she didn't want to waste that money.
The F&B fellow is earning a few hundred in profit. The food she is selling is not very nice, her overheads are very high because she didn't bother to keep track. Both wants to give up. Let me tell you, a few years later, they will experience the same thing, because both do not want to put in the effort in making things work.
Everyone has to start small and learn through experience. If they had gritted their teeth and work hard to excel whatever little task they were in, I believe they would have been earning a considerable good sum now. Same goes for you. Think over, is it your attitude or really it just isn't your flair? ![]()
one should develop a storng mind,. with a storng mind comes will, more steady in making decision for oneslef. i see most start thread in AA need to cultivat eon this .
Originally posted by Phantomnite:Before you find anything you like. Maybe you can take a good look at your attitude. Are you the sort who's not able to complete what you have started? Are you the kind who lack the determination and perseverance? In your own personal standard, where is the ending point for you? What are your targets? What kind of money you want to earn?
If you lack the discipline, no matter what field you think that your interest is in, your attitude would kill you before you could even start on the real business.
I have friends who thought accountants earn big bucks. So they went to pursue CPA, ACCA, LCCI all the accounting stuff. When they are out in the working world, they realise, they didn't like it at all, everything was routine and they were earning $2k plus and minus. So they decided to switch career. One went into tutoring, citing that the tuition industry in Singapore in booming. Another went into the F&B industry, saying F&B is a confirm plus chop money machine, and added that she herself love to eat, so she knows whats good food.
Well, a few months later, the tutor is searching for a job so that she can have a stable income as she doesn't have enough student. She refuse to sign up with agency because she didn't want to give away her 50% commission. She didn't want to print leaflets as she didn't want to waste that money.
The F&B fellow is earning a few hundred in profit. The food she is selling is not very nice, her overheads are very high because she didn't bother to keep track. Both wants to give up. Let me tell you, a few years later, they will experience the same thing, because both do not want to put in the effort in making things work.
Everyone has to start small and learn through experience. If they had gritted their teeth and work hard to excel whatever little task they were in, I believe they would have been earning a considerable good sum now. Same goes for you. Think over, is it your attitude or really it just isn't your flair?
Very true
I think it all boils down to attitude.
And right now I think TS is just looking for an easy way out, without making the effort to plan properly.
if you are female and young enough, i can be your sugar daddy
i also only have dip but currently earning about 6k a month
grad about 6 years ago with dip in mechatronics but got a job in IT field earning 1.4k a mth in the first year with about $100 annual increment
dont really like the job but stick with it until now. big jump in income came about 2 years ago when the security companies switch from using analog to digital security systems
the security companies existing staff really suck at the IT stuff
the company i am with dont even bother to look for customers anymore, they just rent out our expertise to security companies
Originally posted by L.lawliett79:but do you hate what you'r doing now?? hate as in...look at IT stuff, cuss silently in ur mind, repeat what you rote-learned?
You need to sit down, and think seriously what you really want to do. What type of job you love and what direction you want to pursue (taking up courses).
Right now, you seem to be lost in direction, yr ambition and vision.
Think carefully and maybe you need to write down what you want work as. Diploma or degree or whatever, doesnt matter, it boils down on your attitude, your behviour and your liking of works.
i'm curious as to how many of u actually love your job? most people i know work to earn a living, and have already given up looking for a job they really enjoy... so dont give yourself too much stress.
better to do what you love than attempt to love what you do. Salary can only sustain that energy for so long. The key is interest in the job and of course, haha good $$. Once the interest is there, many things fall in place.
Just switch field la. You may want to consider sales. Try those banks or insurance companies for a start.
Originally posted by _Da_Dood_:same stituation as u...cept im doing IT stuff..well my plan is, work, gain experience, knowledge, in 2 yrs time, go do a degree in another field that can earn shitloads...imo..IT specialist now fall under the category as plumbers, repairman, serviceman...sian...
New info. Gud Gud.
join the spartan below. u will love it

Originally posted by Fire Cracker:join the spartan below. u will love it
LOL
Originally posted by Phantomnite:Before you find anything you like. Maybe you can take a good look at your attitude. Are you the sort who's not able to complete what you have started? Are you the kind who lack the determination and perseverance? In your own personal standard, where is the ending point for you? What are your targets? What kind of money you want to earn?
Everyone has to start small and learn through experience. If they had gritted their teeth and work hard to excel whatever little task they were in, I believe they would have been earning a considerable good sum now. Same goes for you. Think over, is it your attitude or really it just isn't your flair?
Thank you for that wake up call. It depends...like if I like, I'll do well...but don't like, will try, but cannot, den dont do le. That may be good or bad depending on what you guys (those with more experience in life :D) think...advice?
Idk de. Went ACCA at mum advice. Don't like. So I tell her, she say try working first. So I ok lor, just go try-try, no harm right? But end up, I hate the working life too. Even though the starting pay is not good, and I bet the pay when/if I climb ladder will be good too. Theory no like, working life no like...The reason I chose my science dip is cos, I love science. But when I graduate from Poly. I realise, my passion stop at Poly level. Cos I think of what my friends (the perm staff at my attachment place) earn, what they do, and what they are doing to go up (they doing masters and pHd), I see what it's liek in real life, then I realise I "don't like" science liao.
Are you the sort who's not able to complete what you have started? Are you the kind who lack the determination and perseverance? In your own personal standard, where is the ending point for you? What are your targets? What kind of money you want to earn?
Somewhat...but it depend on what I uptake...there's many things I feel like quitting..but I ren until I get the certification. Such as, driving, swimming, Poly etc...and piano. Which is hard actually cos I have a hearing prob tt affects my normal life. So anything that is hard for normal-hearing people, is doubly hard for me. I do lack determination and perseverance. But possibly it depend on situation too. In my personal standard, I am perfectionist. I always want to be the best...but sometimes the best I can get is 'good/average' cos of my prob. The kind of money I want? Enough to go holidays and have normal living. I don't lust for branded stuff. But that kind of money is also alot.
Hope I answered your questions..
Originally posted by Rock^Star:better to do what you love than attempt to love what you do. Salary can only sustain that energy for so long. The key is interest in the job and of course, haha good $$. Once the interest is there, many things fall in place.
Just switch field la. You may want to consider sales. Try those banks or insurance companies for a start.
Like KatieLin said, it's hard to find what one likes. Not all of us are lucky that way. My worry is that I want to change field. But change to what? I am still thinking. That's why I asked for some of your stories... Cos the more I think of how I will 'turn out' if I continue accounting, it scares me. Cos I see myself losing my soul to work.
Originally posted by L.lawliett79:Thank you for that wake up call. It depends...like if I like, I'll do well...but don't like, will try, but cannot, den dont do le. That may be good or bad depending on what you guys (those with more experience in life :D) think...advice?
Idk de. Went ACCA at mum advice. Don't like. So I tell her, she say try working first. So I ok lor, just go try-try, no harm right? But end up, I hate the working life too. Even though the starting pay is not good, and I bet the pay when/if I climb ladder will be good too. Theory no like, working life no like...The reason I chose my science dip is cos, I love science. But when I graduate from Poly. I realise, my passion stop at Poly level. Cos I think of what my friends (the perm staff at my attachment place) earn, what they do, and what they are doing to go up (they doing masters and pHd), I see what it's liek in real life, then I realise I "don't like" science liao.
Somewhat...but it depend on what I uptake...there's many things I feel like quitting..but I ren until I get the certification. Such as, driving, swimming, Poly etc...and piano. Which is hard actually cos I have a hearing prob tt affects my normal life. So anything that is hard for normal-hearing people, is doubly hard for me. I do lack determination and perseverance. But possibly it depend on situation too. In my personal standard, I am perfectionist. I always want to be the best...but sometimes the best I can get is 'good/average' cos of my prob. The kind of money I want? Enough to go holidays and have normal living. I don't lust for branded stuff. But that kind of money is also alot.
Hope I answered your questions..
Base on your reply, I kind of think that you get very dejected easily. When you hit the rough road, you would tend to give up, rather than move on and find the beauty that lies ahead. You must always remember that all these obstacles are there to help you learn and mould you into a better individual.
From what you mention, "if cannot then don't do le", it means then that whenever there's a good opportunity to learn, you run away from that lesson instead. Its through these adversities that you can rise through the top, don't take it as if they are there to pull you down and make you lose interest. Stay positive and do not go out of track. You won't want to end up to be a jack of all trades, a master of none.
Be focus on your end target and not the harsh journey!
Originally posted by Phantomnite:Base on your reply, I kind of think that you get very dejected easily. When you hit the rough road, you would tend to give up, rather than move on and find the beauty that lies ahead. You must always remember that all these obstacles are there to help you learn and mould you into a better individual.
From what you mention, "if cannot then don't do le", it means then that whenever there's a good opportunity to learn, you run away from that lesson instead. Its through these adversities that you can rise through the top, don't take it as if they are there to pull you down and make you lose interest. Stay positive and do not go out of track. You won't want to end up to be a jack of all trades, a master of none.
It's true the obstacles mould us. I always tell myself not to give up as well, but it is so easy to not heed that advice! For those who give up easily...you will understand..but those who don't, will not.. I don't know if there is a way to stop myself from giving up easily. I can force myself to complete something if I really want to, although the moment I feel 'sian' my work/efforts will not be as great. I did manage to get my piano grade5 (beyond that getting too hard cos hearing is super impt), my swimming my poly my license.. at least sth to be proud of...but need more.
Cos I don't have the faith that I will be able to do it..
I am still thinking what my end target will/should be.
really, just believe in yourself, and just stick in there. bear it out and things will slot themselves into place sooner or later. just do things one step at a time i guess.
i'll admit that we arn't in your situation, so we wouldn't know exactly all the trials and tribulations that you have and are faced with. but you know what, as much as things suck now, they can't stay this "bad" forever.
age/experience-wise, i'm in no position to start spewing out advice, but i just wanted to share this crazy decision/journey that my mom took on round 7+ years ago.
Her "dream career" was to work as a geographer, she even had a job with ä¸å›½çŸ³åŒ–, but left halfway for further studies, which landed her down the path of IT. so in the end, she spent most of her time working in NCS, doing IT stuff. in around 2003, she made a radical decision to swap and study ACCA (accounting) because she was genuinely interested in it. most people thought she was mad, going into a completely alien field at her age.
it was pretty bad, it was like for ever 2 subjects you take, you end up failing 1. And even fro the ones that you pass, they're bordering along 60s and 70s. and that was the common occurrence.
in between taking care of us, and embarking on some weird schemes trying to set up her own online curtain shop, and everything else, she pulled through and completed the whole course :D
but now she's into the stock market, and is avidly reading up on stocks/econs.
so all i'm trying to say is, life is what you make it out to be. she's nearing her 50s, and you are just starting out in life. there's so many possibilities. you might feel like giving up,but just hang in there.
Originally posted by KatieLin:i'm curious as to how many of u actually love your job? most people i know work to earn a living, and have already given up looking for a job they really enjoy... so dont give yourself too much stress.
I agreed with you.
When I was young, 20s+, I will hop if the salary is higher than the present one. When you reach a certain age, you have to think of settling down. Older less value. Younger more value. I mean tender resignation.